We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would deserve a 5-Star rating. Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Makati
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Would deserve a 5-Star rating. Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very clean hotel, modern, great location. Staff is very professional, attentive and friendly. We had room on top floor overlooking Makati Avenue, panorama windows from floor to ceiling. The room is decorated modern and attractive, very clean. The bathroom is modern and clean, hot water, everything works. Very good mattresses on bed, nice and firm as I like it.
The Hotel has a fantastic rooftop restaurant/bar with stunning view all over Makati. There is a nice large rooftop pool aswell.
Breakfasts are on second floor in restaurant, very good quality of food, plenty of choices and again, the staff is very attentive and professional.
Special thank you to the Restaurant manager who made me my extra hot chili omelet every morning!
Hotel has spacious, well equipped gym which I used daily.
Location is very good, 5 minutes with taxi to Greenbelt, 25 min walking. Next to Hotel are Shakeys Pizza 24/7, and the A/Venue mall with plenty of coffee places, bars and restaurants. Red light are is around the corner, behind hotel but is well separated from Hotel.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough, its way better than many 5-star hotels i have stayed before to a reasonable price but still makes you feel you are in a 5-Star hotel!
See you next year!

Room Tip: We had the EXECUTIVE DELUXE TWIN, facing SW, very spacious, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alphacentauri74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well but to hear that you were excellent is definitely something special. I am certainly glad to know that our Associates were able to deliver service beyond your expectations.

Your valuable comments will also be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    268
    106
    28
    15
See reviews for
131
169
182
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A very nice hotel. The rooms are a little dated, but very well maintained and very clean. My room had 2 beds and was spacious. Breakfast was very good but they did run out of some of the fruit both times. Very handy to night life in P.Burgos. Good security, and a nice reception area. No customers in rooftop bar. Very polite efficient staff. Lifts were fine. Not 'great' value, but nothing decent in Manila is. Quiet aircond is rarely found in Asia, but I found it here. I would be happy to pay extra just for that!!

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room away from the lift, and they gave me exactly that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Privateyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the excellent feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. I am happy to hear that our Associates exceeded your expectations.

Your valuable comments will also be shared with the rest of the Team.

We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dombivli, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I had gone for a business trip and stayed at this hotel in July 2013. The hotel is centrally located and near to the business district. The room was good and had nice buffet breakfasts. The only problem in the hotel is their lifts, they have only 2 lifts for the complete building and it results in some delays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. We took note of your comment about our slow lifts which we can only improve by managing its usage in order to avoid inconvenience to our guests.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Overall, our stay at City Garden was a nice respite from the grime and chaos of the nearby red light district in Makati. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was accommodating, the gym had everything we needed for a good workout, and the breakfast was delicious. A few drawbacks: food ran out too soon at breakfast; too many "red light district"-couples were staying at City Garden, which felt sleazy; there were mosquitoes in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristelkranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Definitly the best value in Makati district in this huge city of Manila...

I ve been there in walk-in and a superior room costs me 3000 PHP (55€).
I was really surprised by the room even if it was inner room - no view... the room was great with beautiful bathroom with pleasant bathtub... Absolutely clean with minibar fast free wifi, safetybox and large screen TV LCD, big wardrobe including dressing gown, slippers, hanging rail... The best point of the room was probably the quality of bedding...such comfortable mattress...

Lets talk now about the rooftop... quite amazing and stunning view on manila... with bar/restaurant, swimminpool and jacuzzi... under the rooftop u can also appreciate the gym area with view on Manila and when u done u may also appreciate a sweet massage spa just beside the gym... Perfect...

Restaurant and breakfast was correct... Don't except yummy food.. but thats all right...

Special mention to the front desk staff always kind and helpuf... very friendly, funny but quite professional...

If i have one negative comment would be about the lifts... so slow ... but thats all ...

Located in the main street of Makati, close to everything as u need in Manila... ll come back ... again and again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RemidelCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split,Croatia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Relatively cheap hotel. Located on the very busy Makati Avenue. I stayed on 11th floor but the noise from the street was strong day and night.
The room was fairly large but poorly maintained. Air con unit was smelly and noisy. There was housekeeping locker next to my room and I heard it's door banging even after midnight! There are only two very slow elevators. Food in the restaurant was not good at all. Quantities and choice offered were really poor. It is amazing to see all those waiters moving around doing nothing.
Hotel's neighborhood is not among safest.
If you don't have to stay in this venue I suggest you to try some other place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank openseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback you have given us during your recent stay in our Hotel. We certainly always welcome such as it allows us to hear from guests and it gives us the opportunity to improve on our services and facilities.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I had two different stays, separated by a few days in between. The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff is top notch. Breakfast buffet is good, above average for the Philippines. Stayed for 4 days, departed for 3, and returned for 4 more. The hotel kept my luggage for me while I was gone for no extra fee. Security at the hotel is very good. I will not hesitate to stay here again when I return to Manila/Makati. If you book 30 days in advance you can get a really great rate. Try the restaurant on the roof at night - great view! I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllenLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the excellent feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team and we also look forward to your next visit in to Manila.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.0 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#32 of 82 in Makati
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#20 of 82 in Makati
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#14 of 82 in Makati
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#18 of 82 in Makati
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Makati

Property: City Garden Hotel Makati
Address: 7870 Makati Avenue | corner Durban Street, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Hotel Makati 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for expats, short or long term stay.Facilities includes swimming pool & gym plus full security surveillance camera. Nearby establishments: BDO bank, Century Mall, Mercury drug, 7-11, Gasoline station, Powerplant and Ayala Malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Garden Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Makati
Makati City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing