We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Value...a GREAT gym...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Hotel Makati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Makati
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Value...a GREAT gym...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

OK to start with I am travelling as a single businessman. Having been in Asia 15 years locations close to where I do business trump the fact that the location may boarder on a rather eclectic red-light district. However that is me...

This hotel is older. Room size is very comfortable. Good size prep and storage area for kitchenette...no stove though.

Beds are comfortable. Clean. Bathrooms a tad musty. Security on the main doors is good...but saying that there is a fair flow in and out of "masseurs". However they leave you alone.

Breakfast pretty average...fruits, sausages, eggs etc. I would like to see a better breakfast.

One highlight is the gym which as a daily gym goer i really need to be good. Fine selection of weights... cross over cable machine...smith machine etc.

I would rate the hotel as a good solid value choice for business guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JavaJiveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. We have noted your comments on breakfast and the bathrooms.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    239
    97
    26
    14
See reviews for
115
151
172
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this place via online and phone, Ms Rona of reservations was very helpful, the place is right on makati ave, taxi's all over as well as jeeps to get to the metro stations or the malls. The room was wonderful, clean and very true to their advertisement. Wifi was fast and no hassle. Staff had no issues with english. Buffet breakfast was awesome, the folks making the omelet station very professional and kind. Traffic noise from room....what traffic noise hehehe.

Room Tip: book early, ask for promos, checkout the roof top where the pool isat, in morning or evening aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at City Garden Makati for a romantic vacation in the Philippines. It didn't disappoint us and given the rate we paid, it was excellent value. It stands out among similar standard hotels in Makati.

All the staff are so helpful, friendly and attention to details are extraordinary. They remember your name and really do make you feel welcome.

We checked in hassle free. Our room was extremely appointed. We managed to get a high floor facing the view of Makati city. The bathroom was classy and the Queen-sized bed very comfortable.

While my wife was swimming, I had a blast working out at the gym followed by a dip in the jacuzzi.

I can't ask for more about the hotel's buffet breakfast coz it has everything. You would rather call it brunch.

Had our dinner at the rooftop restaurant. Outstanding view with a band playing nice songs.

This hotel has an excellent service and a very helpful staff who will go above and beyond to represent the City Gardens.

I've been to some hotels in PI., Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam and so far this is the most prestigious one in terms of service. Our personal favorite.

We look forward to visit again City Garden Makati!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALXDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on.

I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stay in this hotel each time we come to visit the Philippines. Everytime it was a pleasure, an oasis in the middle of Makati. From the time we enter the lobby, you would immediately feel the welcoming attitude of receptionists. Location is easy walking reach of Greenbelt and Glorietta. They offer a wide selection for breakfast. Clean room. Most of all, we were impressed by the service of staff.

Everybody would smile and greet you. Wonderful view from the rooftop bar. My kids enjoyed the pool which is open until 8:00pm.

On the few downsides, I can count two: The first one -WIFI was not working very well which is a bit annoying. The other one would be the slow elevators.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crooner00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I decided to give this hotel a 2nd chance and stayed there again for what was meant to be 7 nights but I ended up checking out after my first night.

The reception staff are robots and cannot think on their feet, and despite having booked my room 2 weeks in advance it was not ready when I arrived at the prescribed time. I witnessed other people with this same problem as I was checking out, they had just been flying/traveling for around 30 hours and needed to sleep but of course their room was not ready.

The view from the top floor and the set up in the pool bar area is very good in this hotel and that is one plus for them, but it is the only one really.

However the worst and biggest problem this hotel has, and cannot fix is that there is 24 floors, 160 rooms and probably around 50 or so staff during peak times and there is only 2 LIFTS!!

200 plus people, 24 floors, 2 small lifts, staff getting off and on at various floors, how often do you think you are stopping or waiting for a lift?

Staff are constantly using the lifts to hop on and off from floor to floor and the small cramped lifts can see you inside them for many minutes while traveling from top to bottom or vice versa. Or you can find yourself sweating it up in the non air-conditioned hallway waiting for the lifts. Even going a few floors always involves many stops as both staff and guests jostle for lift time/space.

I could accept these inconveniences if I were paying 1000-1500 pesos per night, but my room was just under 4000 pesos per night and I needed to be in a high up room with a view because if you are not then you have little/no cell phone or wifi access because the closed in rooms barely get a signal.

You also have many touts/husslers and vultures preying on you out the front of the hotel and many people stand outside in the darkness and can watch what you do through the all glass windows of the lobby so be sure to no expose valuables as at night time as you are being watched.

100 bucks a night in a third world country with 2nd rate service I cannot justify paying and this will be my last review of this hotel as I will never stay there again. For those prices you are much better off forking out and extra 40/60 dollars per night and staying at a 5* hotel or finding a budget hotel that is cheaper and offers similar rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view it is the only way you will get phone signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Private222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time and giving us feedback again during your recent stay in our Hotel. We are concerned about your feedback regarding our front line personnel which definitely must be addressed immediately. Admittedly, we continue to have issues with our lifts and cellular signal but we can also assure that are doing whatever is possible to avoid any further inconvenience during a guest's stay. Regarding, peddlers who roam the area selling all kinds of merchandise is a challenge but we also coordinate with the local authorities on such concern.

Although, you mentioned that you would look elsewhere whenever in the area we hope that you would still give us a try on visits in the future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
301 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I booked this place cos it was priced in the middle somewhere... and I think rightly so.

It has a wonderful rooftop bar and good-size swimming pool. Wifi is free and breakfast is in the rates. The hotel staff were very good and reception were always helpful with local advice and directions etc.... and the area - lots of bars/clubs/restaurants within walking distance.

My only disappointment was that the rooms were very small - not what I'd expect for paying substantially more than low budget.

The acid test is - would I stay here again? I guess I would ... but not until I'd done some more research on other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback you provided for your recent stay in our Hotel. It's good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. We are happy about the positive experience you had in general and we are also concerned about your comment on the room size. We do have 5 room types which you can choose from on your next stay. you can get the best rate when you book directly on our website

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came here for the 2nd time because we really liked the place when we arrived in Manila 4 weeks before. Good food-especially the Linguine with pesto and prawns! Clean rooms and a very nice view from the rooftop! Take a swim up there! The Stuff is very friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripnalang37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.0 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#35 of 80 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
One Pacific Place Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Hotel
#27 of 80 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#16 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y2 Residence Hotel
Y2 Residence Hotel
#15 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Makati

Property: City Garden Hotel Makati
Address: Makati Avenue | corner Kalayaan Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Hotel Makati 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for expats, short or long term stay.Facilities includes swimming pool & gym plus full security surveillance camera. Nearby establishments: BDO bank, Century Mall, Mercury drug, 7-11, Gasoline station, Powerplant and Ayala Malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your City Garden Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Makati
Makati City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing