We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AIM Conference Center Manila
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Awful and nothing more. I am allergic and this was the WORST staying. If you have problems with health, avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for AIM Conference Center Manila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

I chose this hotel because I had to make a stop in Metro Manila and I needed a place to stay within Makati. I needed a hotel that's not expensive but my decision in choosing this hotel didn't turn out reasonable. It was indeed a health hazard and hazard on your personal belonging. I paid Php3,020 for a single room without breakfast! I got a room at the back part of the building. When you stand at the window, you can see a ghost town view. Old and delapidated building will greet you. I was actually waiting for the bad fume insecticide but luckily it was not scheduled during my stay. Still,I kept coughing in my room. Worse than outside pollution. The following day as I entered the bathroom, 2 small guests greeted me. The other was quick enough to hide but the other one just loved observing things in bathroom and even enjoys being photographed(see pics). It was so disgusting for an institution like a hotel where you first and foremost expect a hygienic environment! I will never book or ever recommend this hotel. They still have the guts to charged the above mentioned rate? And be careful not to leave ANYTHING before checking out because you'll never get it back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el_lamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I booked into the hotel because of the cost and location. Also since it is attached to a business conference and study center I was expecting something modest and functional so I had no illusions.

The room was worn but serviceable. The bathroom was dank but usable. The furniture was creaky. The aircon was dusty and there was a lot of construction work going on down the street. Nevertheless I felt I could live with this since I was out for most of the day.

My problems began at night. I awoke in the middle of the night because of a strange smell. I thought it was the aircon so I turned it off but the smell - at turns toxic and like cheap perfume kept me awake. I finally got a couple more hours sleep as dawn broke. Despite showering etc I had this strange smell whiffing throughout the day. I realized that this awful, cough-inducing scent had permeated my hair and clothes.

In the late morning I returned to the room to find the attendant cleaning up. He was nice and polite. I looked at his cleaning cart and he had unmarked bottles of industrial strength cleaner and "room freshener". He was spraying the room freshener all over the place - carpet, bed etc. I asked him to stop - he did not understand me and sprayed more. Finally he understood. I realized that this was the source of the scent. I could not determine the chemical composition of the spray because of the unmarked bottle.

That night was even worse. I started to cough, and my nose and throat felt very dry - I kept drinking water but there was some kind of toxicity in the spray that was affecting my oncological tissues (I'm not a doctor but I can certainly tell when something is wrong with my body!). I found it very difficult to sleep - I opened the window since the aircon made my condition worse. However the construction work down the street was a 24 hour operation and although the workmen were not too noisy, they played a radio all night and it drifted way down the street.

I had a night of intermittent sleep. The next morning I felt occasional nausea but more than anything, an overwhelming dryness and a developing cough. Although I had paid some $450 or so for the stay (I think I'd booked in for about a week), I decided that my health and wellbeing was more important. I asked for a refund but because I had pre-booked on the internet, they would not refund, even for health reasons which they did not accept. Actually the registration counter staff and manager are awful people who would prefer to bat you away like a mosquito. The most helpful person in the "hotel" was the doorman/porter who seemed to understand my predicament but of course, as a junior member of staff, could not do anything.

Anyway I bit the bullet and checked into another hotel even though I had about five days left on my booking. I'm sure the AIM gougers rented out my room and made double the amount. However I just put the wasted money down to a learning experience which I am now happy to share with you.

The location may be good but if you value your health, or if you already have some health conditions that could be exacerbated by exposure to toxic or semi-toxic chemicals, then I would advise you to avoid this place like the plague. It is a shameful establishment with uncaring and indifferent management staff. This is made all the more worse because in my experience (I go to Manila once or twice a year) staff and accommodations in upmarket tourist areas like Makati have been generally very good.

By the way, the "swimming pool" is like a fish pond and looked just as murky and dirty. If the toxicity of the room is any kind of guide, I would think twice before venturing into this puddle of "water."

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Citypod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at AIM in Makati before departing for the UK.
The facility is located in central Makati heart of the business centre in Manila and opposite Greenbelt 1 the upmarket shopping mall. AIM has a restaurant on the 5th Floor with serves the best breakfast I've had in Manila and is open through till 10pm. There is also a coffee shop on the Ground floor opposite reception.
The room was very comfortable not modern but very clean.The Aircon was very efficient and internet conection was free. AIM also has a swimming pool for guest usage.The staff are very friendly and obliging. Check in is 12 noon.
For reasonably priced accommodation in a central location this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcjimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

AIM Conference Center Hotel has an excellent location, being directly opposite the Greenbelt Shopping Belt. Do take note that some taxi drivers may not know this hotel by its name, henceforth if you encounter such a problem, just tell the driver Greenbelt 1.

Rooms are basic with little amenities but they are clean and comfortable. On the higher floors, you can expect a nice view of Paranaque and the international airport (visible but not very clear).

Do not expect 5-star service and facilities with the rock-bottom room rates they offer. Nevertheless, you can still find a decent swimming pool and nice eateries within the hotel. Across the street inside Greenbelt, you can also find numerous restaurants, food outlets and a well-stocked supermarket.

All in all, if you are looking for a no-fuss type of accommodation at attractive rates, this hotel is definite a good choice. I would say it is a 4-star minimalist hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sgkel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We have picked this Hotel because of its great location.
Though its very near to malls, business district --- price is still reasonable and lower than other neighboring hotels.

Staff are very friendly especially housekeeping and Front Desk.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ShannonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

The location cannot be beaten. It is right across Greenbelt 1 where you can find some nice shops and restaurants. However, if you do not feel like tackling the pedestrian crossing (in Manila, motorists speed up toward a pedestrian crossing for fear of getting held up by a crowd of pedestrians-you're literally in danger of getting run over!), there's a nice Deli-France cafe on the ground floor. For those who do not like lugging a laptop during vacations, the AIM library is open (almost always) in which you can use their computer to check your emails or just generally surf the internet. The only time you really "feel" the cheap room cost is when you get to the room. The room is comfortable and a good enough size for sleeping and showering but the place is old and it shows. The carpets look dirty & old, and has started to "wrinkle" (looks like it's asking to be pulled out!). The white towels are no longer white because of age (it's now dirty white) & quite a few that were supplied are torn. The bathroom is mouldy. All in all, it was a comfortable stay, even though cleanliness is a bit questionable. As I said, it's the location that you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Louise2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.2 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Makati
Jinjiang Inn Makati
#31 of 86 in Makati
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charter House
Charter House
#47 of 86 in Makati
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#19 of 86 in Makati
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BSA Suites - Makati
BSA Suites - Makati
#67 of 86 in Makati
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asian Mansion II
Asian Mansion II
#61 of 86 in Makati
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown Regency Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AIM Conference Center Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AIM Conference Center Manila

Address: Benavidez Str, Corner Trasierra Str, Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1260, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Price Range: $50 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AIM Conference Center Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Conference Center with F&B and lodging facilities in the heart of Makati. Offers executive rooms, caserooms, function rooms, an electronic business library, a multi-purpose conference hall, and discussion rooms. It offers 24-hour service and first-class executive lodging with recreational facilities. It epitomizes the productive partnership between AIM and local, as well as regional, and international business communities, which continue to provide fellowships, scholarships, research grants and facilities to the Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your AIM Conference Center Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aim Conference Center Manila Hotel Makati
Aim Hotel Makati
AIM Conference Center Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing