We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very nice, except for the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Somerset Olympia Makati
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very very nice, except for the breakfast”
Reviewed January 16, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days in december 2006 (11/12/2006 till 15/12/2006) but we enjoyed our stay so much that we booked again for 10 more days later in january (31/12/2006 till 10/01/2007).

Hotel room: we ordered the "bedroom deluxe". It was very spatious, well equipped and clean. Try to get a room on a high floor and not facing makati avenue (very noisy in the morning). (4,5/5). You can see some pictures of the room on: http://new.photos.yahoo.com/anthonyfreund/album/576460762385060100#page1 . (you can watch the other pictures as well of course) :)

Personnel: very kind and very professional. (5/5)

Breakfast: the only setback. The choice you have for breakfast is rather poor, and the quality was just average. Fresh mangoes are available, but only on demand. The coffee was terrible. (1/5)

Location: just 5 mins walk from the Glorietta, Landmark & Rustan malls. Ideal location. (5/5)

Internet: who needs that? I'm on holiday! :) Well... you can always go to an internet café. There is one in Glorietta (2nd floor) for 30 pesos / half hour.

In general: I recommend this hotel. Next time I'm in Manila, I'll be back there!

  • Liked — Location, staff, room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    153
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
64
27
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We spent two nights at the Somerset Olympia in December 2006. Very spacious one bedroom suite. Great location in walking distance to Ayala Center and Greenbelt malls. Included breakfast was filling. The pool was a bit small and on ground floor along Makati Avenue. Only separataion from Makati Avenue was a 10 foot wall. Bathtub was raised about a foot off of floor which made for a daunting experience getting out of shower each day. Overall, a great experience. We would highly recommend to others and stay again.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2006

My wife and I were at Somerset Olympia Makati the first week of March 2006 and we just loved it. The location is great, right by the Peninsula Hotel, in the heart of Makati and few minutes walking distance from Ayala Center. We considered our money worth for what we got. It was a suite very well furnished and equipped. The suite we had was very clean, well kept with wooden floor which was preferable to a carpet floor. The breakfast was included in the rate. Two restaurant available, the Cava and the Old Swiss Buffet. Nothing special at both restaurants for the breakfast, not many choices either.Watch out for the hot water when taking a bath. Usually if two persons are taking a bath back to back, the second one runs out of hot water before completing his/her bath. Personnel is friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia/Pacific
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

My family lives in Asia, and we travel a lot. We've stayed at Somerset Olympia every time we're in Manila, and have always had a fantastic time. We've stayed at Somerset Olympia for a month, another time for a week, etc. We always stay in the 2 BR suites, and they're great for families with kids. Parents in 1 room, kids in the other, and the bedrooms are connected by a lovely living room/kitchen area.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, extremely clean (terrific household staff and cleaning crews), with all the conveniences you could want (TV, DVD, phones in all rooms, 2 great bathrooms, swimming pool, etc.). The staff are so friendly, they even remembered my kids name and played with him all the time.

The hotel itself is extremely well situated, in the heart of Makati. Walking distance to all the shops, museums, close to hospitals, etc. And although it's in the city, you'd never know it from the peacefulness of the hotel itself.

I couldn't recommend a better place to stay in manila.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whereispeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2005

I don't know what else I can say about this place.
It's smack bang in the middle of busy Makati City and in walking distance for all your requirements. I had a corner room overlooking the green of Ayala Triangle. It's a buzz place. Helicopters flying people to and from work and the hustle and bustle on the roads below. Draw the blind and you can be completely out of that in basically a room I could quite easily live in. Spotlessly clean. The staff there couldn't be more helpful and given that the hotel was fully booked whilst I was there, they even remember your name.
I would not hesitate to go back there next time I am in Makati.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Apache64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Millennium Makati
0.2 mi away
Citadines Salcedo Makati
0.2 mi away
Fraser Place Manila
Fraser Place Manila
#31 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#18 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Picasso Boutique Serviced Residences
0.5 mi away
One Pacific Place Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Olympia Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Olympia Makati

Property: Somerset Olympia Makati
Address: No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Olympia Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Makati City's central business district, Somerset Olympia Makati is ideal for executives and their families looking for work-life balance and an enriching lifestyle. The newly refurbished serviced residence is infused with warm hospitality and allows convenient proximity to major corporate offices, parks, lifestyle venues and cultural centres. It is right across the lush Ayala Triangle Park and situated within walking distance to Greenbelt Mall, Glorietta Mall and Ayala Museum. There's always a warm welcome awaiting you and your family - including your furry, four-legged companions at Somerset Olympia Makati. Our friendly staff are always on hand to extend assistance with local knowledge to help you settle in quickly. Somerset Olympia Makati is one of a premier collection of The Ascott Limited's serviced residences in over 80 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you 30 years' experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. Because life is about living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Somerset Olympia Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Olympia Makati Hotel Makati
Somerset Olympia Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing