We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming 2013 with CBD Fireworks and Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Olympia Makati
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Manila
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Welcoming 2013 with CBD Fireworks and Party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at their 2br apartment with family for the New Year's Eve celebration in Makati's Central Business District. Booked early and directly as we found better deal here.

upside
- NY's eve party/concert outside the hotel (~50-100m) with food stalls (bbqs, local delicacies, drinks, etc.). Check if the Makati government official site if they'll have it again this year
- 20 minute firework display with station/launch area just outside the hotel entrance
- Ayala Triangle gardens (~50-100m) with row of restaurants. They close early I think before 4:00PM
- Room is ~90sqm and clean with comfy seats, DVD player, LCD TVs, electric stove, plates, and utensils (fully-equipped kitchen)
- With complimentary wifi, but you need to request for individual device accounts

minus
- Two choices of limited breakfast: One with corned beef as the main dish and the other where you'll only find the egg station
- Need some updating of furniture, air-conditioners, baths, etc though they're still functional
- When we check-in around 2PM, there's only one person managing it so the queue got long - same scenario during checkout. Interestingly, help arrived after the "rush hours"
- After checkout with parking fee (for +1 car) already settled together with the hotel fees, receptionist mentioned she'll coordinate the parking clearance with security officers. But outside the lobby, I was pulled-over by the security officer for clearance
- Didn't understand why needed to be asked four times (twice during check-in, twice when leaving the parking area) by security officers on how many cars we parked. Need some coordination maybe or better outsource this function

Room Tip: Book early (1-2 months) as they have limited 2BR rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcgorospe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    148
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
61
27
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is one of the older condominiums in Makati that was converted into a condotel. It is a good value considering the location and that rooms come with a fully furnished kitchen. It does need some updating specially the hallways and the bathrooms (towels remind me of cheap motels in the US) but I love the large rooms and parquet floor. The breakfast is not fancy but is adequate. The service is friendly. If you are looking for five star service and facilities, I would recommend the Peninsula next door but it charges more than double (I have stayed there a few times in the past and it probably has the best breakfast in the city). Otherwise, I would suggest using the money you have saved in the room and hanging out at the lobby of the Peninsula next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'd give Somerset Olympia a 5 rating due to its location, room size, restaurant/s, services and ofcourse staff. A little updating would be wonderful to minor things such as the lifts, gym, pool, rooms and halls but nevertheless, my stay was very comfortable. Security is high was well, which is highly important in Makati City. This apartment-hotel gave me that feeling of being right at home and I am happy to return again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A very poor check in, my room was not ready, and the hotel could not even offer me a complimentary drink. The hotel has no bar or restaurant, but guests can use facilities located within the same building. The staff were very friendly, but my room was a little tired and equipped with TV that reminded me of my childhood.
Breakfast is included, and you have a choice of two restaurants, I would eat in the Swiss style restaurant/bar which was fantastic, very friendly staff, with omelettes and pancakes freshly cooked to your request.
The location of this hotel is great, it overlooks Ayala Tringle, a great park with a row of new restaurants to suit all tastes. Centrally within the business district, the Philippine stock exchange, and Greenbelt shopping mall.
The location is a winner, but there are an abundance of hotels in the area. I would stay in Somerset Olympia again, but I will probably use a different hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlyn182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Where to start...I travel a lot as part of my job so I am very familiar with hotels - the good the bad and the ugly. Somerset Olympia is most certainly bad!

I arrived late afternoon and had to wait because my room was not available. They said that they would have to replace the fridge and the safe deposit box, I said that I didn't need them but they insisted and kept me waiting.

The executive suite that I stayed in was spacious but that was about the olny good point. It was noisy and damp.the safe deposit box that they insisted I have did not work, nor did the Internet access.

Breakfast is a joke, a poor selection and terrible service. I had to wait 15 mins for scrambled eggs, they said that they could not make fresh juice from their juice bar because they were too busy clearing tables, they said I should come back in a few hours. It's not like it was busy, there were 9 people having breakfast and four staff

A real let down!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benwill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This property gives good value. The well located apartments are very nicely furnished and clean and without doubt very comfortable. I met the Resident Manager, Mr Philip Barnes who was exceptionally efficient and helpful. The upkeep of the property and the efficiency and friendliness of all the staff is testimony to Mr Barnes good management. Makati Olympia will no doubt be the choice of accommodation for me and my associates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip Chua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lived here for 3 months in total before finding permanent digs.

Rooms were very good .... approx. 60 to 70 sq. metres for around GBP90 per night. They don't have a real bar but they have the Old Swiss Inn on site which has excellent food for reasonable (Makati reasonable) prices, and who also provide the room service.

As it's 10 minutes from all the best bars, restaurants and night life in the city it's an excellent location for both working and holiday trips, although for a holiday there aren't too many amenities.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, etc. You could easily spend more for less at many of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Millennium Makati
0.2 mi away
Citadines Salcedo Makati
0.2 mi away
Fraser Place Manila
Fraser Place Manila
#30 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#17 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Picasso Boutique Serviced Residences
0.5 mi away
One Pacific Place Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Olympia Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Olympia Makati

Property: Somerset Olympia Makati
Address: No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Olympia Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Makati City's central business district, Somerset Olympia Makati is ideal for executives and their families looking for work-life balance and an enriching lifestyle. The newly refurbished serviced residence is infused with warm hospitality and allows convenient proximity to major corporate offices, parks, lifestyle venues and cultural centres. It is right across the lush Ayala Triangle Park and situated within walking distance to Greenbelt Mall, Glorietta Mall and Ayala Museum. There's always a warm welcome awaiting you and your family - including your furry, four-legged companions at Somerset Olympia Makati. Our friendly staff are always on hand to extend assistance with local knowledge to help you settle in quickly. Somerset Olympia Makati is one of a premier collection of The Ascott Limited's serviced residences in over 80 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you 30 years' experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. Because life is about living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Somerset Olympia Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Olympia Makati Hotel Makati
Somerset Olympia Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing