We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great for a stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I used the Peninsula twice as my layover hotel during a recent trip. Service to and from the Airport was very convenient. I used their transportation serves. My flight was delayed 2 hours but they were there waiting for me. I believe hotel security also called my driver to insure I was okay.
The staff and hotel are all consistent with Peninsula standards. The lobby always had lovely live music. For a tired traveler, the Peninsula was a nice break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    496
    120
    39
    24
See reviews for
266
378
128
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NCR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A very elegant hotel, with a grand lobby makes you feel very relaxed in staying at this hotel. The room was spacious, the bed was very nice to sleep to, i love the pillows. I like the big mirror in the room, i love the bathroom, it's simple but elegant. The toiletries are nice as well. The staff are very attentive and helpful and always greet you with a smile. I tried their fitness center and their sauna, i would say it is really good! The breakfast is delicious! The only thing that i had problem here is their carpeted floor in the room which i find it a bit dusty as i can smell the dust of the carpet and keep sneezing but other than that i like my staycation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docmarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice pretty hotel in the business and shopping center of Makati. Big room, very nice breakfast. Nice pool with sauna. Elegant lobby, efficient and friendly staff. Get the Philippines' most famous dessert the halo halo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russel1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Peninsula Manila remains a masterpiece from its appearance down to the service aspect. But there's this one experience that made me wanna write here in Tripadvisor. We have stayed in the Executive Lounge of the hotel, it is cozy and nice (thou rooms are not part of the renovated areas) just as nice and cozy of other executive lounge in other hotels, but what makes it different are the staff. I came a little bit earlier than my foreign partner, my features is purely filipina, i do not dress like an executive so i would understand if there are some staff as I have observed, treats me differently when i'm alone and also different when i'm with my partner. There's this one lady who no matter how early in the morning, i am alone or with someone, will genuinely smile and greet me as i visit the lounge, she would sometimes go around in the dining area to ask if we need anything else, and with those gestures, this lady named Venice caught my attention. But just when we thought that everything will turn out to be just one of those successful business trips of my partner, series of incidents happened that made me realized that this girl is extraordinary. One lazy morning we were in a hurry as we are late for a meeting and we still need to look for a cab coz we don't have a service since our car's plate is banned to drive for that day and hotel cars are really expensive. We dropped by the lounge to print some documents, we were having a hard time figuring out how to print the files we needed and when Venice noticed us she asked if there's anything she can be of help? i didn't hesitated to tell her what's going on and immediately she suggested if we can send the files to her email so she 'll be the one to print while we're fixing ourselves , maybe she noticed that we aren't dressed up yet, so i gladly accepted her offer. When we are about to go, all the documents we asked her to print are neatly arranged in a brown envelope, she made a quick phone call, and as she handed the envelope to us, she mentioned that a metered cab is already waiting for us outside, which left us both saying, she's amazing. It doesn't end in that incident.The following day,we went to the lounge to have our usual breakfast and once again Venice greeted us, she asked if everything went well with the meeting we had, we had a short talk and I mentioned that my partner had an upset stomach after the meeting until that previous night, Venice then recommended some food that he should and should not eat like as if she's a medical staff, we appreciated her concern but declined her offer to call a nurse since my partner said he's feeling better, later in the afternoon we were surprised to have received a get well soon letter from the Peninsula and some fruits and crackers that is fit for his condition which i believe was initiated by this sweet young lady. You might find this review a little long but i just think that this kind of service from a staff needs to be shouted out. These kind of staff are the reason why Peninsula remains a masterpiece of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaMelPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ok, I will confess that the exchange rate with the U.S. dollar making this hotel about the same cost as a regular Marriott may have made me a little giddy. But I'm willing to testify in a court of law that this place is AWESOME!! The buffet is great but be careful....the overly eager staff will take your food even it you aren't ready to give it up. The fitness facilities are great but the massage required a little bit more micro-management than I would have liked. Apparently my massage therapist is a LOT more comfortable going toward normal 'hands off' territories on a woman's body than my usual U.S. massage therapists. But after a few corrections I think she finally got that I'm not looking for THAT type of massage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The Pen in the most unpretentious hotel in Manila for me, it speaks quietly of elegance and sophistication. Well appointed rooms, food is superb. I think the lobby is even more grand than that of Hong Kong Peninsula (less the RR parked at the drive way). The entire team of the hotel are very mindful of the guests needs for vomfort and secirity unlike the Duty Manager Kevin Santos of Shangrila Makati who is very rude and arrogant. Overall, The Pen is indeed majestic and yet hospitable to every one who wants a good nights rest.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a master piece combining quality, superior service and taste. Their success lies in the attention to details, the room amenities are formidable and the food offered are supreme. The only item I could find that may be of interest for other travelers is the TV service. It's via satellite which I believe is a miss as 90% of the time is cloudy, therefore you keep having issues with the connection

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claudio_albarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makati
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 80 in Makati
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing