We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“RIDICULOUSLY GOOD AND AFFORDABLE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“RIDICULOUSLY GOOD AND AFFORDABLE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ok, I will confess that the exchange rate with the U.S. dollar making this hotel about the same cost as a regular Marriott may have made me a little giddy. But I'm willing to testify in a court of law that this place is AWESOME!! The buffet is great but be careful....the overly eager staff will take your food even it you aren't ready to give it up. The fitness facilities are great but the massage required a little bit more micro-management than I would have liked. Apparently my massage therapist is a LOT more comfortable going toward normal 'hands off' territories on a woman's body than my usual U.S. massage therapists. But after a few corrections I think she finally got that I'm not looking for THAT type of massage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    511
    129
    41
    25
See reviews for
284
408
138
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The Pen in the most unpretentious hotel in Manila for me, it speaks quietly of elegance and sophistication. Well appointed rooms, food is superb. I think the lobby is even more grand than that of Hong Kong Peninsula (less the RR parked at the drive way). The entire team of the hotel are very mindful of the guests needs for vomfort and secirity unlike the Duty Manager Kevin Santos of Shangrila Makati who is very rude and arrogant. Overall, The Pen is indeed majestic and yet hospitable to every one who wants a good nights rest.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a master piece combining quality, superior service and taste. Their success lies in the attention to details, the room amenities are formidable and the food offered are supreme. The only item I could find that may be of interest for other travelers is the TV service. It's via satellite which I believe is a miss as 90% of the time is cloudy, therefore you keep having issues with the connection

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claudio_albarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a great hotel! The lobby really sets the tone for the hotel. The strains of music from the orchestra really relax. The staff were fantastic, helpful, polite and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. This is a fantastic hotel. 11 nights of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Pete_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
523 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for 16 years and stay on average in 45 hotels worldwide per year. This hotel continues to be my favourite hotel worldwide for sheer class and quality of service. The standard of the hotel and services continue to be consistently excellent whether you are on business or a leisure stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay on the Club Floor for Club Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roryjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I spent 7 days on this hotel on a business trip to Manila, it was my first time in Manila and for sure the staff at this hotel make my trip much easier. Great customer service for sure. As I was working night shift for a couple of days I need it to have my dinner at 1 AM in the morning at the room and the room service was great, good food, fast service. They have an awesome SPA with a great variety of services that are perfect to help you to recover from the Jet Lag. Swimming pool is nice and restaurants in general are really good. The only opportunity is the Bar where they allow to smoke inside and even for smokers like me it was too much to tolerate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epeniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times. Always first class service. Good choice of restaurants. Beautiful lobby area - great for holding lunch meetings. Easy to reach business district from the hotel but do allow time to get through the terrible manila traffic.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#14 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 80 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing