We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended hotel. Highlight of my stay in the Philippines.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended hotel. Highlight of my stay in the Philippines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We checked in wearing shorts and t-shirts, and never dressed up while we were at this hotel. Don't feel uncomfortable because you see lots of folks dressed up, they are here for business only and probably won't leave the comforts of the hotel (it is hot and humid! Would any sane person don suits to be a tourist in this weather?) That said, I did feel like the guy checking us in was trying to upsell us a more expensive room. He asked for a business card and then proceeded with his sales pitch. We were content with our room and included breakfast buffet. Other than that, we were very satisfied with the hotel and service overall. Their lobby was comfortable and had great ambience. I thought it was quite comfortable to be able to choose to sit and dine on a set of sofa & coffee table setting (or standard table and chairs setting). The food overall is great, no complaints. They had great wifi throughout the hotel, no password needed in the lobby, hence lots of dressed up business folks? Unlike most other hotels we visited, Shangra La included, which did not provide free wifi in their lobby. I would love to come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujumigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    565
    141
    42
    27
See reviews for
325
466
158
850
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just reading reviews on this hotel. What upsets me is what people have experienced was totally diiferent to our stay.

- We booked a Deluxe room, and by now looking at the Peninsula Website, it looks like they downgraded us to a Superior Room (We thought it was the Deluxe Room at the time!). No wonder it seemed tiny, the roll-out bed took all most of the floor space! We paid and booked for the Deluxe Room, with twin beds so we did not need to have a roll out bed and of course for the space.
- No Milk, cookies and/or teddy bears and colouring books for our little one :(
- The shower had a drainage problem, it flooded the whole floor and the clothes that were left on there got wet. This was adressed to housekeeping but it was never fixed.
- The whole place felt uncomfortable. Fake smiles and felt you were judged. Especially by the pool, employees looking at us very suspiciously the whole time.

On the plus side - loved the breakfast buffet! this was included in our stay.

So unless your normal attire of clothing is a suit, jacket, tie, expensive jewellery and clothes ( in other words looking 'rich')... this is the place for you. And then you will be treated like royalty. And oh we were foreigners ( American ) so it was not a Filipino/White people discrimination.

Will be staying elsewhere next time we are in Manila. BTW, we can afford a more expensive hotel than this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in the Peninsula for one night because we were taking our twin girls to an event in the hotel with us. Looking at the website, I didn't expect much because there didn't seem to be an open pool area for the kids to hang out in, or a play place for toddlers.
I was really surprised when we arrived because first of all, the hotel staff were great with the kids, starting with the guard when we got down from the car.
We didn't request for play pens, but since they knew we had kids with us, they were set up in the room already when we got there. The girls loved them, there were even bear duvets. There might not have been a place to play but they loved the spacious rooms. They were running around as soon as were entered the room, they also loved staring at the lobby ceiling and watching the musicians.
Aica from reception asked if our kids could have cookies and milk when she brought us up to our room, and when we said yes, they sent strawberry milk and oatmeal cookies right away. We also ordered from the kids menu and the girls loved every single thing we ordered.
We checked out today and right before checking out, they brought Peninsula teddy bears to our room. One for each daughter!
Nice spacious rooms, excellent food, and staff that really make every effort to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yangky_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Dont even hesitate to stay here. Rooms are very clean, bed are comfortable and the food is outstanding. I visit 3-4 times a year staying for a week or more. The consistency of the room cleanliness is comforting after traveling half way around the world. There are several restaurants including the lobby (which is amazing for visiting, eating and business!). NIght club and late night bar on site along with casual and upscale dining. However, I like to sit at the pool and eat in the cabana. Friday they do bbq (well not like texas but OK).

You just cant go wrong with this selection as you Manila hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle_Austin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limay, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

looking at the hotel, everything is very nice. my favorite part is the staircase leading to the lobby. it's very romantic. anyway, rooms are spacious, not very new, just well-maintained. they have strict security as well. Delicious buffet breakfast of any Cuisine... if you like Chinese, American, Japanese, Filipino --- name it, they have it! Custom-made omelet/ pancake was my favorite.. the downside however, is the difference in treatment of foreign and local customers. They are more welcoming, more caring, and more concerned of their white guests than those of the brown guests. i don't know, is it colonial mentality at its finest? or is this hotel really just intended for the foreigners...? i don't know. Still i'm damned proud to be Filipino.

Room Tip: don't wear your pajamas when you go out of your room. don't get lost riding on their elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KRDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Point
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights ..loved the hotel staff extras but for the first time in 30 years I got scammed twice ...first time was the Friday night food market in the park near the shangri la .. The scam was .. Hi remember me was on the door when you arrived at peninsula ..knew at this stage I was alone extra walked me around market showed me the food and guess what it was his daughters 4 th birthday and hotel not giving him time off extra .. Needed birthday cake extra .. Then it came can u lend mr 1500 till tomorrow I am short.. Mug me gave it too him cause I had just changed some au $ and had more than I usually carrier ..my wife when she arrived said this is classic scam on lonely planet .. Next was I went on Saturday night to greehills and got into a taxi which was dropping off .. Got round the corner he said $50 to green hills and covered his meter I had been earlier knew it around 140 p trip anyway thought. I get 150 out of wallet and have ready for quick escape .. Guess what bad light no glasses I got a 500 note instead of 100 .. Realized as I gave it to him ... No way he give back .. Anyway hotel is so good it records for you the rego number of taxi so I was able to tell my story to the taxi board.. Lesson here guests get a taxi off the rank of the hotel .. We found July 63 yr old driver who looked after us for 2 days on a rate of $350 hour .. Great and knows all about Manila.. Anyway as I said peninsulas great but the stories of Manila are true lol

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a great hotel - service, rooms, facilities & food are all great. The hotel is centrally located & several malls are walking distance from the hotel. I have stayed in the hotel 3 times & will continue to stay/recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya_Oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#14 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing