We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience In Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Experience In Manila”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have not stayed in this hotel for many years but was pleasantly surprised with the overall property. It was renovated several years ago and the rooms look good. Many hotels in Manila like the Intercontinental and the Mandarin are very beaten up and not renovated for many years. It is expensive but a lovely place to stay with family or for business. Staff are great but generally this is the case for most hotels in the Philippines. No real complaints of any kind. Wifi is free. Rooms are expensive though so look online for deals.

Room Tip: Facing the pool is very quiet which I prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalityMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    565
    141
    42
    27
See reviews for
325
468
158
851
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Peninsula Makati is conveniently located in the heart of Makati and 5 min walk to Green Belts (shopping hub). Security, Great service, spacious room, flexible check out time, ample choice of menu from asian to western cuisines & nice swimming pool are some of key highlights. And yeah! Daily live music performance is something not to be missed during the stay. Have a pleasant stay!

Rating: 5/5

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the stock exchange building for good view. There are two wings in the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainnitin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all. The lobby is active all the time, and it should be. Very grand entrance, and piano playing at the perfect volume. Breakfast has almost too many choices. They have things at the brakfast buffet, that you cant even imagine.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have been coming back to this hotel now for six times. What I love most about it is how friendly and kind their staff is. Always willing to help, and assist. All of my stay here feels like at home. After flying with layovers for 26 hours, you are received in grandiose lobby with live music, sophisticated and classy touch everywhere. Peninsula quality transitions through the elevators and the rooms. All very nice, very clean and well maintained. Pool and spa + fitness amenities are top notch. Best of all is quality of Philippine food through the lens of Peninsula chefs - it is spectacular - I kept coming back for more and more dishes - an average 3 dishes per breakfast . All in all, in busy Makati, and other parts of metro Manila, this is my choice number 1 and would gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeljic_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times recently but my most recent experience was disappointing. Although I requested a non-smoking room, the room I was allocated smelled very strongly of smoke. It took some time to be moved to another room. Although a notice was sent around to inform guests that the pool would be closed for an event, they did not inform us that the noise from the event would be extremely loud and last several hours. Reception desk was unable to provide an answer on when the event might be over. Buffet breakfast is excellent but is overcrowded. Rooms are clean but showing their age. Room service meals very disappointing and overpriced. For the price of the rooms, this should be something special.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden as the ones facing Ayala Avenue are very loud due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel has one of the most impressive foyers which is the place for the locals to be seen, for tourists its a great spot for people watching and everyone enjoys the delicious food and drinks.

The whole hotel is very grand, however, the rooms are starting to show their age (but are spotlessly clean) and as such could do with a refresh to keep to the standard you expect from this hotel brand. But that is just a small gripe.

The breakfast buffet is extremely extensive, and the food is well presented and cooked. I sampled a few cocktails by the pool and can confirm they are good. I did eat at a restaurant across the road at the premium shopping mall for which I was quite disappointed, so my advice would be to eat at the hotel (unlike me as I normally avoid hotel food as much as I can).

My spa treatement was good and the gym is well equipped so ticks all the boxes there too.

Room Tip: Higher floors will ensure you don't get the noise from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on business and I was extremely impressed with everything. From check-in to housekeeping, everyone was friendly and accommodating. The gym and pool area are great and I loved the restaurant spice. In the evenings they have great live music in the lobby and lounge.
I have found a new favorite in Manila.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwumfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing