We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel - caters to demanding business travellers with ease”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel - caters to demanding business travellers with ease”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The airport pick up was smooth, the wifi here is as fast as in the US (e.g., downloads are quick, no freezing or dropping connections), the staff here doesn't struggle to make eye contact or greet you all the time, but they are incredibly friendly and do a great job. Special requests were taken care of when e-mailed ahead of time. The only disconnect I had while here was when I asked for more hangers (stayed here for 3.5 weeks, so wanted more than the 8 hangers), and I thought it was clear I wanted a lot more hangers, but I only got 3. So I called again later that day, and got 7 more.

I was a bit wary with some of the reviews saying the hotel is worn down, interiors were old, etc, etc. I'm not sure what rooms those folks are staying at, or if they're reviewing the right hotel! This place is nice - sure the lobby design inside is not 2013. It's probably a 1990's kind of style, but it's fairly classic and the lobby in lovely - open 2 stories and windows all the way up. I'm surprised how, no matter what time of day I am in/out of this hotel it is packed in the lobby bar with business meetings. My room here looks almost the same as my previous hotel stay in the EDSA Shangri La. The furniture is not brand new, but it's not old either. I got a great room with a view of the pool and the mansions across the street. It's pretty quiet.

Breakfast is good, though not as good as the Shangri-La, they have almost the same stuff. The only things missing are the Indian food and the huge range of baked goods that Shangri-La's breakfast has. I'd also recommend to anyone staying here, to skip the hotel spa and walk the 1.5 blocks to the spa at greenbelt 1 -- it's about $35 for a private room, 1.5 hour massage in a really nice spa environment.

The only other thing I'd caution is in the morning, ordering a taxi from the hotel can be a wait, even 10 minutes as early as 8 am. Just give yourself enough time, and guess that you may not get a car until 15 minutes after you ask for one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninJkta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    596
    148
    42
    30
See reviews for
342
495
168
903
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My colleague and I checked in at separate times on the same day and we both had to que? This hotel lobby is gigantic and there is staff everywhere, except at check in... There are more people loitering around check in to tell you where the que starts than there are behind the counter? Impressive lobby tho and so was the unobstructed view from my room, breakfast was nothing special, Infact the chef/ cook at the egg station clearly did not know what a poached egg is as mine came back barely poached and in a plate full of water...
I think we will try elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

From the driveway greeting to the turn down bed service, everything is first class. Incredibly professional and cheerful staff and a feeling of opulance everywhere. We feel special everywhere we turn. Well done all those hard working staff, your commitment has paid off. Your management team should be proud of you.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have the need to travel to Manila approximately 5 times a year, and despite "trying" several different hotels in makati and ortigas I now don't even bother. The peninsula is easily the best hotel in Manila.
The hotel is grand, reception, pool, gym, restaurants and bar are without rival. The staff are always friendly without being that "overbearing nice - sir".
Do yourself a MASSIVE favour and book here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Manila Pen is a very good business traveler hotel. It is in a great location, in the center of Makati, in the heart of the finanial district. It is a half hour from the airport, outside of rush hour, and close to double that during rush hour. The hotel has several restaurants and a great buffet. Rooms are typical of Asian hotels, large and with the latest technology. The lobby is very very large with an old fashioned British look and feel. There is live music, with typically a six person orchestra starting in the afternoon for tea and continuing onto late evening. The music begins with classical, migrates to show tunes and then onto jazz. This and the appearance of the lobby gives the hotel a more romantic feel than just being a business hotel.

Room Tip: Delux rooms are larger. If you like a large breakfast have it included in the room rate since ala ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed there for 2 nights on a business trip recently I was rather disappointed. While the location is central, it is hardly the only 5star accomodation in Makati. Upon check-in the first sign off being outdated, had trouble to remember when and where I last had to use vouchers for food. The room, while clean and functional continued this theme of past grandeur, which forgot to move with the times. Service was average with the exception of the well equipped and run gym.
Additional plus point was free Wifi, but hardly enough reason to return unless it gets a serious makeover.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayT_UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 non-consecutive nights during the 2013 Chinese New Year.

As our flight to Manila arrived at midnight, we checked-in pretty late so we requested for a late check-out the next day - which was accommodated. Hotel lobbies on this part of the planet are notably big but The Peninsula is exceptionally huge! The room is also pretty spacious. The facilites are well-kept despite the hotel being old. There is a fitness centre adjacent to the pool, which is really not that big but is surrounded by greens and flowers.

Breakfast was complimentary and was just ok, nothing to write mom about, except maybe for those mangoes which were unbelievably sweet and delicious. You'd find more of this mango in the complimentary fruit tray in your room, albeit one piece, along with an orange and a banana -little details I'm not sure we have experienced in other hotels on this area. You could also call the concierge and borrow DVDs and a player if you find yourself not wanting to use the fitness centre or the pool or go shopping - which incidentally, is but a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The wi-fi, to our suprise, is also complimentary. I have to say we have stayed in The Mandarin Manila and The Intercon Manila on previous visits and wi-fi is not at all free.

The hotel is across a big square, or more precisely, a triangle, where people run, jog, walk with their dogs or grab a bite in one of the many small restaurants and food shops on this spot. Makes for a pleasant walk particularly at night when the place is beautifully lighted.

On our last night, a friend took us to Fely's (in Greenbelt 5; 10 minutes walk), a local restaurant where we stuffed ourselves with pork sinigang in guava, and pork with shrimp paste, which were both flavorful and really delicious.

If you have a car, or like in our case, our friend who met us brought a car, parking is complimentary if you ask the concierge.

They also have an express check out service, which we used on our last day. A form is filled out, dropped at the front desk and you can simply just walk out of the hotel if there is a long wait.

This being the Philippines, security is tight. Taxis are checked, bags searched and bodies ran thru scanners. A little disconcerting if you are not used to this kind of security arrangements but I supposed this is warranted.

Overall, our short stay on this hotel is exceptionally good.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a view of the pool area as this side is much quieter, although the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chungwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 83 in Makati
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 83 in Makati
1,651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 83 in Makati
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing