We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have the need to travel to Manila approximately 5 times a year, and despite "trying" several different hotels in makati and ortigas I now don't even bother. The peninsula is easily the best hotel in Manila.
The hotel is grand, reception, pool, gym, restaurants and bar are without rival. The staff are always friendly without being that "overbearing nice - sir".
Do yourself a MASSIVE favour and book here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    565
    140
    42
    27
See reviews for
325
466
158
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Manila Pen is a very good business traveler hotel. It is in a great location, in the center of Makati, in the heart of the finanial district. It is a half hour from the airport, outside of rush hour, and close to double that during rush hour. The hotel has several restaurants and a great buffet. Rooms are typical of Asian hotels, large and with the latest technology. The lobby is very very large with an old fashioned British look and feel. There is live music, with typically a six person orchestra starting in the afternoon for tea and continuing onto late evening. The music begins with classical, migrates to show tunes and then onto jazz. This and the appearance of the lobby gives the hotel a more romantic feel than just being a business hotel.

Room Tip: Delux rooms are larger. If you like a large breakfast have it included in the room rate since ala ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed there for 2 nights on a business trip recently I was rather disappointed. While the location is central, it is hardly the only 5star accomodation in Makati. Upon check-in the first sign off being outdated, had trouble to remember when and where I last had to use vouchers for food. The room, while clean and functional continued this theme of past grandeur, which forgot to move with the times. Service was average with the exception of the well equipped and run gym.
Additional plus point was free Wifi, but hardly enough reason to return unless it gets a serious makeover.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayT_UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 non-consecutive nights during the 2013 Chinese New Year.

As our flight to Manila arrived at midnight, we checked-in pretty late so we requested for a late check-out the next day - which was accommodated. Hotel lobbies on this part of the planet are notably big but The Peninsula is exceptionally huge! The room is also pretty spacious. The facilites are well-kept despite the hotel being old. There is a fitness centre adjacent to the pool, which is really not that big but is surrounded by greens and flowers.

Breakfast was complimentary and was just ok, nothing to write mom about, except maybe for those mangoes which were unbelievably sweet and delicious. You'd find more of this mango in the complimentary fruit tray in your room, albeit one piece, along with an orange and a banana -little details I'm not sure we have experienced in other hotels on this area. You could also call the concierge and borrow DVDs and a player if you find yourself not wanting to use the fitness centre or the pool or go shopping - which incidentally, is but a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The wi-fi, to our suprise, is also complimentary. I have to say we have stayed in The Mandarin Manila and The Intercon Manila on previous visits and wi-fi is not at all free.

The hotel is across a big square, or more precisely, a triangle, where people run, jog, walk with their dogs or grab a bite in one of the many small restaurants and food shops on this spot. Makes for a pleasant walk particularly at night when the place is beautifully lighted.

On our last night, a friend took us to Fely's (in Greenbelt 5; 10 minutes walk), a local restaurant where we stuffed ourselves with pork sinigang in guava, and pork with shrimp paste, which were both flavorful and really delicious.

If you have a car, or like in our case, our friend who met us brought a car, parking is complimentary if you ask the concierge.

They also have an express check out service, which we used on our last day. A form is filled out, dropped at the front desk and you can simply just walk out of the hotel if there is a long wait.

This being the Philippines, security is tight. Taxis are checked, bags searched and bodies ran thru scanners. A little disconcerting if you are not used to this kind of security arrangements but I supposed this is warranted.

Overall, our short stay on this hotel is exceptionally good.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a view of the pool area as this side is much quieter, although the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chungwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is very inviting and beautiful. We were here for a wedding in February and our package included breakfast at one of their restaurants. The breakfast was wonderful with amazing selection of fresh fruit and a variety of cuisine. I loved it. I also enjoyed the gym during my 3 night stay.

There are shops in walking distance. Because of the wedding we didn't have time to explore Manila more so in hindsight I would have stayed an extra day.

My only complaint is that the elevator system is really slow and inefficient. You can not visit friends if they are staying in the other tower.

Room Tip: If you come with friends, try to make sure your rooms are in the same tower. Your keys can only acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasontravelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here in December first week for 2 days for business - my first visit to Manila.

grand property, a little hard to get to and very well located. the folks who killed it for me were the front desk - so impersonal, so robotic while checking you in and they haven't been paid to smile at you - so what if you have done all nighter to even get to Manila or maybe they just haven't been briefed. and that's a pity especially because this is South East Asia (known for its hospitality) and this is Peninsula...

Things that worked for me:
1) The hotel was dressed like a Christmas bride (if there is such a thing). I haven't seen a prettier Christmas look in a hotel
2) The rooms were nice and elegant. Bathrooms even better
3) Location - you could get anywhere within Makati city with a 10 min walk

Things that didn't work:
1) The front desk staff have only been trained to check-in folks and that's it.
2) The breakfast spread was great, but again hardly any veg options and the staff wasn't the friendliest or most helpful or responsive staff

But when i wrote to the GM informing her about my experience and I did get a response which shows that at least someone cares. lets hope it percolates down within the team at some point!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagerAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Simply, this is a true, luxury hotel. And surprisingly, the prices inside aren't outrageous, considering this is a LEGITIMATE 5-star hotel.

In our 1 night, we relaxed by the pool for a few hours (fantastic), ate an early set breakfast (delicious), and enjoyed a great night sleep in the room (top quality).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 82 in Makati
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing