We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I will start from praising this wonderful hotel. On arrival, I never felt as safe and relax before. Guard dogs and the guards are constantly checking on suspicious cars and people. And upon entering the main lobby, the aroma fragrance immediately wake me up.

Checking in was hassle free and the staffs helped me out to the room. Every staff personnel very helpful and friendly. Room was very well decorated and spacious. Only bad note was that the pillow were too soft but I was too tired the trip to ask for a change.

Had a dinner function in the function room and the food was excellent. Breakfast next morning was even marvelous with great selection. Nearby to shopping area.

Indeed a nice hotel and definitely a 5***. Would definitely come back to this hotel the next trip

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redkan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 2,788 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

My family and I stayed in Manila for a couple of nights before our trip to Bicol and I have to say, we will be making this our Manila hotel from here on out. The staff was extremely courteous all the way from the front desk folks to the property security guards. The rooms were comfortable and the food and drinks were great. This is a very impressive hotel and the location is right across the street from the Glorietta shopping mall and the restaurants that surround it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandPinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The entrance to the hotel is very impressive with a lovely staircase which takes you up to the second floor, hence the lobby area is fairly large. Check-in was quick and efficient and i was soon taken to my room. The room was well maintained, nice decoration, but a little bit generic - it was a good sized room. The room service was good and prompt and prices were realistic for this type of hotel. The location is very good, its a quick walk to the shopping malls and is basically in the heart of Makati. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were all outstanding with a wide choice of high quality produced food. I also tried the other restaurants and bar, all which were very good, nice service and good quality food. The swimming pool was quite nice, although for me there were too many children in the pool, the gym facilities were also good. I used the spa a few times, and although relatively expensive, i enjoyed the experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_pearceHoChiMinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed here with my 2 young children and extended family for a few days before moving up to Tarlac city...was like Paradise kids loved it, staff could not do enough for all of us,restaurant was amazing with huge selection...kids still ask when we can go back to Shangri-la!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I stayed at the Makati Shangri-La for two nights on business. We were told by our local colleagues that this would be the nicest hotel of the entire 3-week trip, and that advice was spot on. This is the only hotel at which I have stayed that I would truly call a 5-star property.

Without going into the issues of crime and terrorism that are problems in the Philippines, suffice it to say that we determined before arriving that we would spend practically our entire visit in our hotel. That turned out to be a great decision, because this was an excellent place to spend a couple of days.

The service was impeccable. Every single employee was friendly, and to my practiced eye this was a sincere friendliness and not just the practiced nod and smile of the service industry. And, while the service was good it wasn't expensive -- I paid less for laundry at the Shangri-La than at any of the other 3 hotels at which I needed to get clothes cleaned on this extended trip.

The facilities are outstanding. This hotel has the best-equipped hotel fitness center I have ever seen. The pool is a full 25 meters with a deep end into which you can actually dive (and the poolside bar makes a mean mango daiquiri!). The restaurants were top notch: the breakfast buffet really stood our for the scope and quality of its offerings, and the "Red" restaurant was excellent as well for dinner. And again, the prices were better than what we had seen at lesser hotels in more expensive cities.

I had never stayed at a Shangri-La property before, so I don't know if this was an exceptional example or whether all their hotels are this good. But, you can bet I'll stay at a Shangri-La again just to find out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Awesome Hotel!! Arrived and stayed 3 nights and 4 days! It was really a great time! Food is good and service is good. It's was my first time in manila (Philippines) and it was a great place to break in coming from America I had to slowly adjust into the culture. But it's really good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeys4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed at this property in Feb 2010. We arrived at around 130pm to check-in at 2pm. Our room was not ready so the front desk told us to come back at 2:45pm... We were a little disappointed because we had young children with us that were getting restless. We decided to grab something to eat at their lobby lounge which was beautiful. The food and service was also good. After we ate, our room was available. We had a great view of the shopping area and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was large except the double doors didn't close completely (definitely needed some adjustment). We ate dinner at the Japanese restaurant located at the hotel - not the best sushi I've had, but the service and food was still good. The kids swam at the pool which was not crowded in the evening, however was also not warm, so it was a short swim. The breakfast buffet was a big spread and definitely cannot be missed. Overall, the biggest reason to stay at this hotel is its location. The Greenbelt shopping area is across the sky bridge (5 minute walk), and there are PLENTY of other good restaurants and shopping to be had within a 5-10 walking distance from the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTravelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#20 of 86 in Makati
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $167 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping, and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing