We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, super friendly people...Philippino style.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel, super friendly people...Philippino style.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

Not much else you can ask for in a 5 star city hotel- all the necessary facilities, multiple restaurants, a nice pool, great gym and a perfect location.
Shangril La hotels in the Philippines (I havent stayed at them anywhere else) are fantastic. The main thing that stands out is the warmth and professionalism of its staff. Everyone made us feel special. I traveled for business with colleagues, my wife and 9 month old son. Every one at the Shangri La was amazing with our child.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    591
    116
    49
    58
See reviews for
361
357
199
1,338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

I have stayed here a few times now and always look forward to the great staff and service with a smile and the first rate rooms and food. My referral came from a financial brokerage VP I met in first class on the way from Guam who said it was the absolute best in Manila, but I had already booked the Crown Regency so we stayed there a couple of nights before we escaped and came to the Shangrila to see if they had a room. They upgraded me to a deluxe room from a standard, and upsold me the use of the Horizon Lounge. This place is a good value when I need the late checkout, 6pm, to catch a late flight. I don't always book a Horizon Room, but at the local price, I consider it a great value. That price is only available to Filippinos, and since my girlfriend is from here I can get that price. In the future I may try to obtain a corporate price which may be lower based on what the Walll Street guy said. In any event, the online prices for normal travelers are substantially higher than what you can obtain if you fall into one of their preferred categories.

One complaint is that they wanted an emailed, signed, credit card form sent to them before they would guarantee my return reservation past 4pm on the day we were to check in on for our return to Manila. Since we were at a remote resort at the time I received the email notifying me of this policy, I was unable to honor that request. It would have been nice if they had told me this when I was at the hotel and made the reservation, and then I would have gladly signed what they needed. Fortunately we arrived at 3:30pm, and everything went smoothly.

Great location next to several Makati malls. Excellent food selection, including sushi and sashimi, in the breakfast buffet that caters to both western and eastern tastes. Rooms are exquisitely designed with oculus like round ceiling details and curvilinear blond wood features. Lots of high class parties and weddings are held here and it is fun to see how the creme de la creme of Manila celebrate their joyous times.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewfromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

It was an amazing hotel...the level of service was among the highest I have ever experienced anywhere. A very unique place

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

This hotel is right at the top of the end in Manila. Good location, amazing rooms, good pool and pool bar, great service. Everything was perfect and to die for. However as to be expected with all that amazement came a nice little $$$$$.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank EatingLifeUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

This place is an oasis of luxury and tranquility in a city that is so crowded and noisy from the bustling traffic of cars and people. The afternoon tea is an experience to remember. Live music plays on the background, comprising of a string quartet or a small orchestra. Breakfast is a treat. Eat late because it is just as good as a heavy lunch. The spa facility ranks among the best.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rxhappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

great hotel; rooms are 5 star in every regard; staff is very friendly & helpful. very close to shopping and relatively easy to get downtown to manila

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

They have THE BEST breakfast buffet and chocolate bar in the evening! Would definitely stay again! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 82 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#7 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing