We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Hotel in Makati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel is right across the street of Glorietta, hosting the famous Havana Bar and Hard Rock Cafe.
Walking through the lobby you encouter a great smell coming through the AC.
I will come back asap.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliRStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,392 - 2,398 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is a 5 Star Hotel at the highest level. We booked 3 nights at this hotel via their website, choosing the Advance Purchase option. When the rate was lowered - after our booking - they adjusted the rate to reflect the discount. Kudos! The pre-arranged airport transfer was handled immaculately. Upon arrival, the receptionist exchanged our USD for PHP with no exchange fees! Next, she recommended we upgrade to Horizon Club level: it was the best advice we could have hoped for. The value we received during our stay was unparralled! Please do the same. Every service and amenity proffered to us in October was so impressive that we have just booked another 5 night stay for January! The workout facilities are world class: on a par with the best London Private Clubs! The restaurants are excellent: Conway's bar has the best Happy Hour and late-night entertainment you could ask for; The yum-cha (dim-sum) at Shang Palace is the most delicious we have ever tasted; And RED serveved a Filet Mignon that melted in our mouths. Sometime during your first stay - when you go to the front desk - you will offered Golden Circle membership that will - a) give several retroactive discounts ( dining and local phone calls) that will apply to your current stay - surprise! - and b) allow you to book future double occupancies at the single occupancy price..... a substantial savings.... along with other amenities. Log in to the Shangri-La website and use your Golden Circle number or e-Mail Address with the Advance Purchase function for the best on-line price. Honestly, I do not believe that there is a hotel in the United States at any price - ( Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton, Waldorf-Astoria etc. etc.etc......) - that can deliver the bang for the buck that the Makati Shangri-La does. Mabouhay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaukau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I have stayed here many times and it's just fabulous hotel. Security level outside the hotel is high ( metal detectors , sniffer dogs , armed security etc ) but once inside the security staff blend into the background.
Rooms are beautiful with fabulous open swimming pool on the 4th or 5th floor. There is an amazing selection of dining options in the hotel and the breakfast buffet in Circles is truly magnificent both in quality and presentation.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to enjoy some luxury in Manila at reasonable prices by Western Europe standards. Hotel is also across from Glorietta Mall with convenient access to shops etc

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank CorkToAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Everything about the place was impressive.
fantastic breakfast
great location

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KENNEDY611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This hotel gets it all right. Room is tastefully decorated and in good order. Bathrooms very good. Complimentary fruit each day in room...but the best thing would have to be their breakfast buffet - the best of any hotel I have visited through extensive travel. Whether you want fresh bakery, japanese, french pastries, ripe & sweet seasonal fruit or a full western breakfast - this buffet has it all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MangoRacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-la Makati for 2 nights on route to and from Boracay and it was perfect. The staff were excellent and as we had paid for a horizon club suite we were treated like royalty.

The rooms feel slighlty outdated but that is the only fault and a very minor one at that.

Buffet breakfast is amazing, so much variety, too small a stomach! We did not eat at any of the restarants because of the ample amounts of complimentary food and drinks in the horizon club.

I would reccommend everyone pays a little extra for the horizon club rooms because the benefits pay for themselves. You recieve a late checkout (up to 6pm) and high tea and cocktails in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbellaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This hotel is what one expects from a Shangri la, unlike their property at Boracay. Good restaurants, great service. We stayed in a specialty suite with an additional bedroom tacked on. It was ample room for my family of seven. At USD 1600 per night, it was reasonable. One annoyance, their was a visiting politician and his entourage staying on the same floor and they were very annoying. Why are politicians accomodated in such a manner by hotels?

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 86 in Makati
2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#19 of 86 in Makati
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $164 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing