We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast. Great rooms; Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This hotel gets it all right. Room is tastefully decorated and in good order. Bathrooms very good. Complimentary fruit each day in room...but the best thing would have to be their breakfast buffet - the best of any hotel I have visited through extensive travel. Whether you want fresh bakery, japanese, french pastries, ripe & sweet seasonal fruit or a full western breakfast - this buffet has it all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MangoRacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,384 - 2,390 of 2,726 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-la Makati for 2 nights on route to and from Boracay and it was perfect. The staff were excellent and as we had paid for a horizon club suite we were treated like royalty.

The rooms feel slighlty outdated but that is the only fault and a very minor one at that.

Buffet breakfast is amazing, so much variety, too small a stomach! We did not eat at any of the restarants because of the ample amounts of complimentary food and drinks in the horizon club.

I would reccommend everyone pays a little extra for the horizon club rooms because the benefits pay for themselves. You recieve a late checkout (up to 6pm) and high tea and cocktails in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbellaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This hotel is what one expects from a Shangri la, unlike their property at Boracay. Good restaurants, great service. We stayed in a specialty suite with an additional bedroom tacked on. It was ample room for my family of seven. At USD 1600 per night, it was reasonable. One annoyance, their was a visiting politician and his entourage staying on the same floor and they were very annoying. Why are politicians accomodated in such a manner by hotels?

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Makati Shangri-La is a six star hotel in every respect. I have trotted all over the world and this was the best service I have ever experienced. The food is perfect, the employees are amazing and you are pampered every moment in the hotel. The American Hotel industry is a joke next to this baby! Manila is a city of luxury and poverty and the Shangra-La is respite of serene luxury to hang out in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RexMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed there for 3 nights and in that short time frame, the hotel staff made me feel that I was "home". I celebrated my birthday with family and friends in Makati and was surprised to find the staff delivering a birthday cake to celebrate as well. (The hotel is very professionally detailed in personal attention to their guests). The staff was professional, friendly and always attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarcyMontague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed here a few nights beforing returning home in the US. We had connecting rooms that had 2 twin beds in each room, but they were almost the size of double beds so 8 fit comfortably. Our children were all 12 and under.
The rooms are spacious, clean and the restaurants had a variety of wonderful cuisine. It is definitely a hotel we would return to again. The only negative was that the staff wasn't as friendly towards filipinos. My husband is caucasian and got friendlier service. The front desk attendants specifically were not as friendly towards filipinos.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank momof7now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just returned from Manila where I stayed at the excellent Makati City ShangriLa. With excellent services, prices, staff and location you should not stay anywhere else in Manila

Manila is a true contrast of extreme poverty and wealth. The city tour shows these contrasts with the main "attractions" being boarded up theatres that held Miss Universe in 1976. The city is tired and desperate for an injection of cash, with the tour guides and transfer driver basically begging us and other tourists to return. This makes the city seem incredibly sad

Although I am in no rush to return to "sad" Manila, the city I would stay at the Shangri La Makati City anytime. This is a truly wonderful hotel with a high level of service

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottsComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#7 of 86 in Makati
2,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 86 in Makati
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $163 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing