We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perennial favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

At this point, I would not even consider staying at any other hotel in Makati. The level of service, comfort, food and entertainment at the Shangri-la is unmatched. I always try and book a suite here because in addition to the extra space, it affords access to the Horizon Club with it's personal breakfast service, afternoon tea and early evening cocktails, the latter noted for premium wine service and a wide variety of appealing appetizers. The 18 piece orchestra performance late afternoons in the beautiful lobby is an added plus.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Edison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Edison G, Thank you for always making us your hotel of choice when you are in Manila. Your points are well noted, which I will make sure to pass on to the rest of my team. I hope to see you back in the hotel when you are back in the Philippines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,516 - 1,522 of 2,810 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I booked the cheapest room here for one night before catching an early flight the next day. The room layout anddesign was quote impressive- love the wood paneling and feng shui feel! Our room service breakfast was 30 minutes delayed which I did not appreciate, however, the food (once it arrived) was wonderful. We ate at Sage, their restaurant, the night before and it was absolutely wonderful. Only complaint was delay in room service (which to me reflects a failure in overall service component), otherwise a great place to stay in manila.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank JetSkiFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Jetti G, Thank you for your feedback. While I’m happy that you had a great stay, I apologize for the delay in service, and will be sure to work with the in-room dining team to make this an improvement. I hope you choose to stay with us again when you find yourself back in Manila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Not a huge fan of Manila, but this hotel makes you forget you are there. Rooms are well appointed with soothing colors and great use of space. Ordered room service and delivery was attentive an presentation beautiful. Great room mini bar. I recommend the restaurant Sage as well. Sommelier was awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear JAG1824, I’m glad that you had a great time in Manila while in Makati Shangri-La. Thank you for the great feedback, and I hope to see you back in the hotel when you find yourself back in this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had an awesome stay at Makati Shang ri La Hotel. Check in was a breeze and they allowed us to have an early check in and a late check out plus they gave me free surprise birthday cake.

We loved the room and the bed. And my daughter loved the pool and of course I did too because I was able to do lapses. They had a designated area where you can do that. the breakfast buffet was also yummy and very filling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear sachism, I hope you had a great birthday celebration with your loved ones. Thank you for choosing to spend this special day in the hotel, and I truly appreciate your positive comments. I hope to find you back in the hotel with your family for another staycation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

On a business trip, in the heart of the financial and commercial district of Manila, awesome Shangri-La property.

The hotel was around a 20 minute drive from the airport. Its located quite conveniently and is within walking distance to cinemas, premium shopping malls and trendy bars and restaurants. Very warm and friendly staff (esp Nico)

I spent one of evening taking a stroll in the park across the hotel. For the Indians, there is an Indian restaruant just next door like 2 mins walk from outside the hotel.I think its Bombay something the name of the restaurant.

The hotel has a good health club and spa facilities, with the fitness center I guess its open until midnight.

An absolute treat, should be a 99% chance to return to the luxurious Makati Shangri-La provides the absolute best in location and service for travelers to Makati.
(Sorry couldn't find the pics! will locate and upload soon)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameerpshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear sameerpshah,

Thank you for an insightful feedback on your stay. We also have an Indian section in the buffet at Circles Event Cafe, I hope you had the chance to try that while you were here. I look forward to the photos you took, and I hope to see you back here on your next visit to Manila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at "the Shang" last week after an absence of several months and was both pleased and somewhat surprised to have been welcomed back by name by the check-in staff, and this even prior to my saying a word or presenting a credit card. That's impressive.

The room was as I remembered, spacious, well appointed and immaculate and the amenities--as one would and should expect from a five star hotel--we're plentiful and of e highest quality. Aside from some relatively slow service at the pool bar, the rest of the service was impeccable as always. The only food that I sampled was breakfast, where the buffet was as profuse as I remembered, and in the Horizon club, which was excellent.

This is a hotel that has, throughout the years, maintained the highest possible standards in both its physical plant and its services, unlike many establishments here that may begin on a high note, but decline rapidly thereafter. The Shang remains one of my two favorite hotels in. Makati, and in the future I'll split my time between the two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Michael L,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback, and for making Makati Shangri-La your place of stay when you’re in town. I’m happy to hear your positive comments, and we always look forward to having you back in the hotel. I hope to see you back here on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed here with my family for business and pleasure and I must say that the experience this time was great! room was neat, services were great just how a luxury hotel should be.
I would always recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Christopher Emm... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Christopher, Thank you for the kind words, and making us your hotel of choice when in Manila. I look forward to welcome you and your family back in the hotel when your travels bring you back to the city in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#20 of 86 in Makati
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $165 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping, and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing