We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Exactly offer quality standard of Shangri-la service, they have chinese speaker management which made the life more easy. Must try their japanese restaurant Inagiku! Food quality is perfect, cheaper than other inagiku in asia. Room size is spacey, good executive lounge facilities. Overall cleaningness is good. Hotel is safe and secure. Staff are courtesy. Checkout better go to lobby becoz executive lounge sometimes is long queue.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DashMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,791
    627
    125
    55
    59
See reviews for
399
376
208
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

With my sister we stayed for 5 nights, the staff and the services is the best I have ever had as well as the breakfast, we were at the 11 floor and the room is ok, the bathroom need lost of upgrade.
there was lots of black moisture in the shower, they came and fixed it right away it was very inconvenient cause I could not access the room almost all day because of the smell of the products they used!!, and this should not happen in a 5* hotel.
We were in japan a few days before at the shangri-la and it was the best hotel ever !!

Room Tip: make sure the bathroom is clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelly799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto K, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Nelly799,

Thank you for your sharing your recent experience at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I was quite concerned about the feedback on the bathrooms. You are quite right; this is unacceptable and for that, please accept my sincerest apologies. Please know that our Engineering team has been working tirelessly day and night to do maintenance work and enhancements on our room facilities to better serve our guests.

Should you have further comments and suggestions, please do not hesitate to let me know. My email address is reto.klauser@shangri-la.com

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you can revisit us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Reto Klauser
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I like Shangri-La, I always did. It is the epithomy of service-orientation. Staff is serving you with a smile and it always comes across as sincere. I like the rooms and I like the pool. Breakfast buffet is the best I've ever seen. I had fresh mango every day :)
One remark - they make you sign a waiver when you like to take out a sandwich, really! That is British burocracy to the max.
But then again, next time I am in Manila, I will again stay at this beautiful place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto K, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Robbie,

Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay with us. We have carefully noted your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed the mangoes during breakfast.

Regarding the sandwich: this is a food safety precaution that we undertake every single time a guest takes out any food. We take food safety very seriously and have measures to ensure all the food served within and from the hotel are prepared in the most stringent preparation guidelines.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Makati Shangri-La, Manila in the near future.

Sincerely,

Reto Klauser
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for 1 night. Front desk accommodated all our request coz we checked in almost midnight and everything went well.

Very clean rooms and it is really a 5-star hotel with all the amenities you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcrevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was first class, excellent staff and gorgeous room. Unbelievable ( and way too large) breakfast buffet-Chinese, Japanese, Indonesian, Filipino, Western...they had at least six huge banquet tables with tons of food.

Nice pool, centrally located, except it is impossible to move anywhere in Manila, too many people and too few roads. accompanied my husband on a business trip, or I would not have gone.

Room Tip: Don't know. we had a quiet room, 11th floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosegirl528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is grand and impressive not only by its facilities but by the attitude of its staff. I was there for 1 week in July and will be back again in Nov for business. My stay had some hiccups but all was rectified. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Afshan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola,
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great hotel. Stayed again in the Horizon Level. Dissappointed in the room and the low level we were on and the room was tired. Staff in the Horizon level excellent. Food and drinks everywhere above and beyond most places. This is the 4th time we have been here. Service in the Buffett restaurant was terrible. Watch on your bills as service is included in everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 83 in Makati
2,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 83 in Makati
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 83 in Makati
2,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 83 in Makati
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 83 in Makati
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing