We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Signature Shang is Simply Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Signature Shang is Simply Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love the Makati Shangrila. I always stay here when I am home in Manila for a couple of days before I head out to the airport and back to LA, because is it close to the Ninoy Aquino Intl Airport but still very centrally located to all the dining and shopping. This hotel is in the heart of Makati, so it is in a densely packed neighborhood next to other hotels and the malls, so very convenient. Once you enter the hotel, you will be greeted by many security screeners and staff who weed out the riff raff and let you in the palace. You will suddenly be greeted by a sensory overload-the signature fragrant Shang scent and the opulence of the lobby and the grand staircase. Gorgeous Filipina women in long Chinese dresses greet you and usher you in the the reception, where you will be checked in very efficiently. The rooms are beautiful-I have stayed in a suite one time and executive room in another, all of which afford views of the pool or the Makati skyline. The bathroom is very spacious, his and hers sinks, the shower and tub, the toilet and the curious bidet. Most hotels have done away with the bidet and very few American hotels even have it anymore but it was a nice extra thing to have. The one curious quirk is that the blowdryer was in the vanity desk outside and not in the bathroom! There's plenty of room, fresh clean sheets and turn down service giving dried mango instead of chocolate, which is a refreshing change. There's also the luxurious robes, bath slippers and shoehorn which most hotels don't even provide anymore. The last time I stayed I remembered they used L'Occitane but now they have their own toiletries, which is not bad. Didn't have much time to use the facilities but the pool was busy and sunny with beautiful people. The Circles buffet was spectacular though-lots of food to cater to every palate. There are lots of businessmen, returning residents/balikbayans and expatriates. When I came home for Christmas, the lobby was alive with a full choir, and then this past time it was Chinese New Year and the lobby was replete with a red Chinese prosperity tree. Very festive indeed!
I love the delicious restaurants around there, the UFCC coffee and the shopping at Landmark!
Home away from home!

Room Tip: Pool views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    591
    116
    49
    56
See reviews for
360
356
199
1,335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint. I found the staff accommodating and professional. I had no problems with my reservation during check-in or check-out. Everything was in order. I appreciated the fresh fruit in my room and plenty of complementary bottled water for my use. The rooms were quiet, there were plenty of elevators and it was easy to catch a ride in the a.m. I looked forward to my return at the end of each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything that one requires for a good business trip - predictable, comfortable and good service. I am probably a bit partial to Shang across Asia due to their service standards, but even discounting that thus far have not felt disappointed even once. Breakfast spread is probably the best in town - a typical Shang hallmark (and one of the things that makes me patronize this chain). Red is good for Italian food and wine pairing is great. Overall, nice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank hwm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, AUS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stay at this hotel almost everytime that I visit Manila/Makati and, after all these years, I still find this hotel faultless. From the rooms to the pick up at the airport to the staff, this hotel (and the amazing crew running it) is always above par and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
354 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Its disappointing that the Shangri-la can not maintain standards between properties. They Makati Shangri-la has failed me 3 out of 4 visits in the last year. 3 times on check-in they failed to have the guaranteed room I booked on check-in, yet offer me the room I book if I upgrade! The upselling policy is disgraceful and you try and cheat you loyal customers by saying the rooms they have booked are not available, but offer to fulfil the booking if you pay more!

Thats a 75% failure rate to date, with a wide selection of hotels in the area offering a quality service, I am surprised the Shangri-la has not closed down!

The complacent service today started in the airport, when the airport staff (a lady) greeted me with a mouthful of food, whilst her 3 other colleagues were busy joking and messing around. I would have fired them all instantly if they were my staff! First impressions count and this was a service I expect from a 2 star and not 4/5 star hotel.

The list of problem I have experienced during my stays at the Makati property go on. But other Shangri-la hotel in the region don't suffer from the same. I presume its the local culture, bad training, and a unprofessional management team and inexperienced General Manager!

Absolute disgrace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveParryHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel as many of the reviewers comment is a little dated, though you only really notice in the bathrooms as the rooms have clearly all been updated and the bathrooms were of a high quality originally, so still OK but not of the standard in the best of hotels in Asia. Other facilities in the room, wifi, bed, tv, soft furnishing etc were all of a high standard, in fact the bed linen and pillows were crisp egyptian and very comfortable. I upgraded to the exec floor access and had complimentary breakfast and cocktails after fininshing work. It was relaxing and again of a high quality.
In terms of food I ate in the ground floor buffet restaurant, we have all eaten in these places so my expectations were not high. The first sign it was going to be different was when without a booking i struggled to get a table - they kindly opened an additional room and the place was packed, great atmosphere and excellent food. I was very impressed.
The service from the staff was responsive, polite and yet unintrusive, there was a can do, service orientated attitude.
What shocked me most however was on checkout, my bill for two nights in an exec room, airport transfer, two meals with a colleague, wine and beer etc was £500 - hardly expensive as others have indicated.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tunkeyandthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not at the standard of other Shangri-La properties, dated and a bit warn, but the breakfast and dinner buffets at Circles, housekeeping services and room are fine. I stayed 6 nights, had rapid airport transfer, in-room checkin, no staff interference, and good sound insulation. I was working long hours and was thankful to have a property within walking distance of major MNC locations. Price is a bit high but the service levels and staff are worth it. I would return without a second thought.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the club floor. The room size is consistent on other floors, and the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANR294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#14 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 82 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#7 Spa Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing