We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saving the best for last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There are 3 hotels on my company's preferred list for Manila and this is the 3rd one I've stayed in. Oh how I wish this had been the 1st!

Having pre-arranged airport pickup (yes an airport taxi would have been a lot cheaper) my journey from customs to hotel room was so seamless as to make the added expense worthwhile. The driver was probably the best driver I've had in Manila, almost to the point of me not realising I was back in Manila's crazy traffic. Wifi, bottled water, hot towel - what more could someone want in the 20 minute journey from airport to hotel? I know what - a discreet call from the driver to alert the hotel to my imminent arrival so I was met at the car door and escorted straight to my room, checking in via their ipad.

The room was comfortable, with lots of circles and curves making it a welcome change from the usual boxy layouts of hotel rooms. Compared to the other hotels I've stayed in here it was in very good condition, well lit and with contemporary artwork. The bed was comfortable, so much so that I got a good night's sleep on my first night.
The bathroom had a separate bath and shower, the latter being very spacious.

I was impressed by the variety of options available on room service, something I often struggle with. The food delivered was good even if mixed vegetable and seafood tempura = 8 prawns + 1 mushroom. This is the Philippines - get used to the lack of vegetables.
Breakfast in Circles was all that I had anticipated and more. There were choices reflecting all sorts of different breakfasting habits, healthy and otherwise.

I met colleagues for a drink in the outdoor section of Conways. This would be a great place to relax but for the incessant noise of Manila traffic in rush hour. Don't let that put you off though, you can soon blank it out.

All the staff I encountered were exceptional. They seem to have struck the right balance between efficiency, service and friendliness without overdoing that last point.

Altogether, if I need a hotel in Manila again, this will be my first choice by a long shot.

Room Tip: I had an executive room. I didn't hear any noises, there are no good views in Makati so not muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,987 - 1,993 of 2,810 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

This review may not be relevant to everyone -I work the overnights when traveling to Manila and always look to get some rest during the day - the Shang provides a little home away from home.

What I love:
- Great morning buffet at Circles after a long night at the office
- Superior Service, staff is friendly happy to assist for any need
- Great bathrooms in all rooms (that I've stayed in)
- The premise is beautiful and often a dignitary or two will be seen walking through on a red carpet
- Day discounts for the spa (for those of us that work nights - this is simply fabulous)
- Do not disturb doorbell lights to alert housekeeping of us nightworkers who sleep in the day

Small challenges or why I did not give a full "5" stars.
- Room costs are sometimes very high
- It can be hard to get a reservation without several week's notice
- On at least one trip I had noisy daytime traffic outside making it difficult to sleep during the day - housekeeping did not observe the 'do not disturb' light outisde my door upsetting my sleep

Leave tips for housekeeping - this will improve your stay..

Room Tip: Ask for the web rate - or a rate that includes the breakfast buffet some rates also include airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hello1234578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A tower of efficiency and courtesySimply perfect
I have never found a breakfast offer so wide , from all type of asian traditions till French balery passing for japanese fish
On top at just few steps from green belt

Room Tip: Stay far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70,410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel, I think the price may have been the only downside, however my work paid so even that didn't matter much.

I experienced great service from staff in all area's of the hotel. While a couple struggled a little for English, they were very eager to please and did not detract from the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuB2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Got the chance to go back to Makati Shangri-La after 10 years or so.
I must say the hotel is very well maintained.
Warm reception of guests when you enter the hotel.
Staff always greet and smile at all guests.
Comfortable room - traditional design & layout with nothing fanciful. But you have all you need.
Definitely recommended for business travelers like myself.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the morning sun while the back faces the setting sun. Depending on pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VictorLME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel last year and booked again for a business trip. The service was exceptional and the room was spacious, clean and lovely. It's located in the heart of shopping and food. Truly amazing hospitality and service!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Shangrila hotels are among my favorites. Makati Shangrila is a great hotel in terms of service, location, event venue, breakfast. I just noticed one thing, in our room the lower portion of the marble wall of the shower cubicle has molds and mildew. Good thing the flooring is rough, otherwise it can be slippery. I didn't get the chance to call the housekeeping because I was in a hurry. I was late for my appointment. I hope Shngrila Makati will take note of this review. It's perfect hotel to stay actually. Mine is just a friendly reminder.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_pj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#20 of 86 in Makati
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $165 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping, and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing