We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay in Manila for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makati Shangri-La Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Makati Shangri-La Manila to your Saves list
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate with Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Place to stay in Manila for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This review may not be relevant to everyone -I work the overnights when traveling to Manila and always look to get some rest during the day - the Shang provides a little home away from home.

What I love:
- Great morning buffet at Circles after a long night at the office
- Superior Service, staff is friendly happy to assist for any need
- Great bathrooms in all rooms (that I've stayed in)
- The premise is beautiful and often a dignitary or two will be seen walking through on a red carpet
- Day discounts for the spa (for those of us that work nights - this is simply fabulous)
- Do not disturb doorbell lights to alert housekeeping of us nightworkers who sleep in the day

Small challenges or why I did not give a full "5" stars.
- Room costs are sometimes very high
- It can be hard to get a reservation without several week's notice
- On at least one trip I had noisy daytime traffic outside making it difficult to sleep during the day - housekeeping did not observe the 'do not disturb' light outisde my door upsetting my sleep

Leave tips for housekeeping - this will improve your stay..

Room Tip: Ask for the web rate - or a rate that includes the breakfast buffet some rates also include airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello1234578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    494
    93
    43
    36
See reviews for
285
297
178
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A tower of efficiency and courtesySimply perfect
I have never found a breakfast offer so wide , from all type of asian traditions till French balery passing for japanese fish
On top at just few steps from green belt

Room Tip: Stay far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel, I think the price may have been the only downside, however my work paid so even that didn't matter much.

I experienced great service from staff in all area's of the hotel. While a couple struggled a little for English, they were very eager to please and did not detract from the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuB2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Got the chance to go back to Makati Shangri-La after 10 years or so.
I must say the hotel is very well maintained.
Warm reception of guests when you enter the hotel.
Staff always greet and smile at all guests.
Comfortable room - traditional design & layout with nothing fanciful. But you have all you need.
Definitely recommended for business travelers like myself.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the morning sun while the back faces the setting sun. Depending on pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VictorLME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel last year and booked again for a business trip. The service was exceptional and the room was spacious, clean and lovely. It's located in the heart of shopping and food. Truly amazing hospitality and service!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Shangrila hotels are among my favorites. Makati Shangrila is a great hotel in terms of service, location, event venue, breakfast. I just noticed one thing, in our room the lower portion of the marble wall of the shower cubicle has molds and mildew. Good thing the flooring is rough, otherwise it can be slippery. I didn't get the chance to call the housekeeping because I was in a hurry. I was late for my appointment. I hope Shngrila Makati will take note of this review. It's perfect hotel to stay actually. Mine is just a friendly reminder.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_pj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautrec, France
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here over New Year and had a very good time. We ate at one of the small restaurants on the main floor to the left of the reception.

Rooms were very well set out and comfortable. We especiallly liked the size and softness of the bed.

The hotel whilst large manages to look after all its clients and all were particularly helpfull during the stay.

The common area were well presented. The garden area and the pool with bar and eating area were especially good and a welcome relief from the hussle of the city.

The evening meal was a delight and the service was crisp and timely

The only negative was the buffet breakfast which we had in the ball room.
The food was excellent very varied and several stations provided food to your specific taste.
The only problem was the size of the room did make the experience more like a canteen which was out of character to the rest of the trip.

Do not let this minor point put you off going to a really great hotel as it is well worth the visit.

Room Tip: higher floors get better views, above 10 should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makati
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 79 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 79 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 79 in Makati
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 79 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing