We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

the pastry selection was impressive and the quality of the food is above every hotel in Asia. The service is super attentive and always ready to anticipate your needs. the hostess were very warm and welcome you with a big smile, that's exactly what I need at 8 o clock in the morning. Ronald, the waiter, was always smiling and friendly, once understood I love mango approached me every morning with a huge glass of mango juice. Amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fradelga82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip April 2012.
The hotel is in the centre of the business district within a few minutes walking distance of a huge array of shopping malls and restaurants. I found the hotel a luxurious oasis from the hustle and bustle. You will find security pretty tight - to get into most of the malls you will need to get through security and metal detectors. The hotel security is similar.
The hotel itself I found to be excellent - possibly the best I have stayed at so far. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite. They even have a bell boy at the elevators to choose your floor!
I had a club room that was large and luxurious with all the facilities you would expect of this class of hotel. The lobby and large lounge area is spectacular with live music every evening, The buffet breakfast is by far the biggest and most comprehensive I have ever seen - really overwhelming. I ate out most nights but did try the Japanese restaurant and found it quite expensive but excellent. However, I would recommend getting out and trying other restaurants. There are some excellent Japanese and local restaurants and prices are very reasonable.
I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and I will use this again on my next trip to the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Split_and_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, spectacular view. They pay attention to detail here, but for the price that should be a given. The staff was very helpful - currency exchange, arraigning a tour, offering advice on getting to certain parts of town - terrific. Even the security dogs wagged their tails in greeting. Live music in the gorgeous lobby was always a treat. Breakfast buffet was abundant, the variety of choices was overwhelming.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms are big and well equipped. I especially like the fact that they leave a multi travel adaptor in the room for overseas guest like myself. Service is good and and the breakfast spread is enormous. The room I was in showing its age, the both cupboard didn't close properly but otherwise its still a great room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustbusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great hotel service,even better restaurants. Security was always tight, they look underneath your car for bombs! Hotel view was awesome overlooking greenbelt. Could use a better tennis court!
Spa was average, but better than most.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gerardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for about a week in January 2013, on a business trip. I was on the club floor, so had access to the Horizon Club, which was really nice - they have soft drinks, coffee and tea the whole day, cocktails and finger food from 5 to 7pm, and wine and cheese until 9pm. We arrived slightly late for the 7pm cutoff time on the first day, and unlike other hotels where they take away the food at 7pm sharp, the staff there gave us plenty of time to fill our plates. And they even specially cooked another dish for us!

The room was nice and spacious, and I was extremely impressed that there was a printer / scanner in the room! Also, free wifi everywhere. Food at breakfast was great as well. It was my birthday, and someone showed up at my door with a birthday cake! Plus, I was very impressed with the fact that when we got into a regular taxi from the hotel, they took down the taxi number for security purposes (they checked the cabby's ID) and they also wrote down the cab details on a slip, in case we left anything behind.

All in all a great experience. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luluuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay here and while it was very enjoyable, this hotel is starting to show signs of wear and tear.
There are some very positives to staying here:
Good location
Great security
Beautiful open lobby
Fast check in and check out
AWESOME GYM- this deserves special mention. I travel ALOT and this was one of the best facilities I have encountered.

The negatives
Just did not feel like a five star
The room smelled when we first checked in, they immediately moved us but the next room was just ok as well. We were told they are renovating but only a few floors are currently done
the lobby menu was kind of limited

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 86 in Makati
2,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#21 of 86 in Makati
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $165 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing