We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premiere hotel in the Philippines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You know you are in Shangri-la when you smell their signature scent. I fell in love with it so I bought the scent for my room.The rooms are very comfortable,bed and pillows are so inviting to sleep. Shang Palace is the most authentic chinese restaurant as well.It is ideal for business meeting and pleasure because its beside a shopping mall.Very ideal for expats or foreigners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamatarlaquena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
There are newer reviews for Makati Shangri-La Manila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed here and it was fabulous ! We were collected at the airport sand transported to the hotel.Upon arrival we were welcomed by name. We were taken to our room where check in was done in a very short time,
The room was very nice, big with all mod cons. The bathroom was really nice, bath, and separate shower, just as I like.
Breakfast could be taken in the Horizon lounge or Circles restaurant, this one having more choice.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room on the a horizon floor gives you free soft drinks and coffee all day. Happy hour for two hour...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

not much to say. good location, most rooms are comfortable and spacey (we saw 4 rooms). outstanding breakfast buffet, dinner in the 'red' restaurant was quit creative, well prepared, only the sommelier was a bit tricky (recommend a bottle for 100€ which we recognised only when the bottle was empty - indicating it was a good one). horizon club relaxing as usual, can get a bit crowded during 'happy hours'. beautiful christmas decoration

challenging though was to get a countryside trip prepared ahead of time. first response was that is impossible, second we never did, third....lake of responsiveness, can do approach as clearly missing.... after 32 mail and 8 calls , we made it and had a great driver plus car and 3 enjoyable days at the rice terraces

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I thought Shangri-la makati is way too expensive but it is quite affordable and it has proven to be good value for money. Location is superb. The standard room is spacious enough for two adults and two small children (to run around). Service was excellent. When you request housekeeping for anything they do it straight away, no questions asked. The complimentary buffet breakfast for two offers a great variety in food. It offers good wifi connection. We left two pairs of toddler shoes at the hotel and they kept them for us. We were able to recover them a couple of weeks since we stayed there (because we're so busy). I would definitely stay at Makati Shang again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Reading previous reviews maybe it's not what it used to be , but still it's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed with great overall end to end experience from arrival to departure.

Got picked at airport by hotel limousine, upon arrival there was already rep waiting at the doors at took me directly to the room where the check-in was completed on iPad really quick and efficient. Room was ok, nice and spacious and I agree with previous comments that bathrooms perhaps needs some refreshment. Nothing else to complain. Comfortable , large bed and everything else you need for comfortable stay.

There is extensive security upon arrival to hotel which gives extra safety feeling although I don't quite understood why , as hotel is located in the centrer of business district and Filipino seem to be such a nice people.

Breakfast in lounge was nice but minimal , similar with canapés and drinks available during limited time frame in afternoon. I had a feeling its not addressed for business people , because who gets back from office at 7pm, especially with such a traffic outside. Management needs to look at this.

No other issues, perfect stay and fun , fantastic stuff and I do hope to come back again !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room: Stayed in a superior room. What you see in the website is what you see in the room. The room is big, with a comfy bed, pillows and a couch. It has a flat screen tv/coffee, tea making pot. It has a bath tub, and a shower area. However, for the price you pay, the room/bathroom is outdated and needs remodelling. Room decor is quite old and choice of color for the throw pillows is not appealing. Imagine, a combination of brown and gray. The shower room has plenty of scratches also the toilet bowl.

Food : Breakfast buffet is good and has many variety.

Location: If you are on a business trip in Makati, you are in the right hotel. Also, it is walking area to Landmark, Glorietta and Greenbelt.
The hotel lobby is nice.

Service: The staff are all friendly and helpful. Checking in and out is fast. Free wi-fi and good security.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcop88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our family has enjoyed staying at the Shangri-La Makati periodically over the last 10 years. Unfortunately, there are just some things that aren't as good as they used to be.
First, the good things: excellent security, fast check-in and check-out, friendly lobby staff, comfortable bed, free Wi-Fi in the room, daily fresh fruit, huge bathtub and separate shower, excellent water pressure and hot water, great location near the malls.
The disappointments: the bathroom amenities are just not as nice as the formerly lavendar-scented ones, the dinner buffet at the Circles restaurant is not as good/fresh and food was recycled the next morning when it probably shouldn't have been, breakfast buffet more limited and eggs undercooked and/or cold, service in one of the other restaurants left a lot to be desired, room service food arrived cool not hot, slight harrassment by room attendants looking for tips.
So we did not enjoy our stay as in the past. We will be trying some of the newer hotels and competitors of Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneharper1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto K, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ms Harper,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the service shortfalls you have encountered while staying at the hotel. We want you to know that we truly take your feedback to heart and I assure you that we will take the need corrective actions as fast as possible. You will be happy to hear and a new, very exciting line of bathroom amenities are just about to be rolled out across our hotels.
Please allow me this opportunity to thank you for being a loyal guest throughout the years. Should you decide to give us another chance and return to stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me at reto.klauser@shangri-la.com.

Yours sincerely,

RETO KLAUSER
Area Manager / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 86 in Makati
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $163 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing