We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a breakfast menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a breakfast menu”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel is on a great location and place for relaxation. The service starts with the pick from the airport until you leave at he airport. Inside the hotel you feel the hospitality. The rooms are comfortable snd high quality. Swimming pool is a must. However the amazing part is the breakfast. A huge variety of arrangement from Phillippines cuisine and taste is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,729
    610
    118
    49
    59
See reviews for
368
364
200
1,370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Had to be fair - i was there for 2D1N only and most of the time i was out for business engagement which was taking place in the same hotel (the catering screw-up a little but that's another story all together).

While i didn't put the "Shangri-la service" to the test, i like the little details they had - example: spare hairband which i never expect a hotel to provide. Or place a bottle of water on your bedside table (for folks who needs a drink the moment they wake up).

The room is spacious and the bed / pillows are comfy.

Overall, good experience but given the kind of pricing - i would expect a little "wow" factor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

went for a conference and stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was bustling with over 1000 guests, but the service was exactly the way I had experienced before at Shangri-la hotels. The person designated for me by the housekeeping was a gem named Roy (met him only while checking out). Rushing between my meetings and dinners, i would always find my room in order, a spare hair band, with my shoes and other items all laid properly on my return. I am sure this treatment they give out to all their guests, but it was a treat to find my room organised twice in a day. Buffet breakfast offered everything you could imagine and got me my sundried tomatoes in a flash when i asked for more. Highly recommended since walking distance to every major mall in makati.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagupan, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

its is a nice place but when you enter the hotel you can tell that carpet is dirty even you enter your room. it is nice but i dont think i would stay there again. all i can say that i stayed there before and it was ok. breakfast buffet was ok and the dinner buffet not really worth it. i had better not one of the best.

Room Tip: clean carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stavro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Upon first entrance into the hotel lobby, you are stunned at the size and grandeur. The food in the hotel is exceptional (the Circles restaurant) as is the level of service that is provided by the staff. The fact that the Front Office staff remember you really adds the nice personal touch, as well as the waiter at dinner remembering me from the bottle of wine that I had ordered a couple of nights previous.

The one letdown I had was due to what was most likely the Events team as I was staying as part of a wedding group, where I would be returning from the provinces back to Manila for a night outside of the group, which was organised by the bride for myself via email and the Events team had confirmed that it would be arranged. Luckily, I asked at the Front Desk before departure to see if my booking was there, and low and behold, it wasn't but the receptionist said she would check with the events team and at the very least make the booking I required on the same rate that I was currently staying on. It was ironed out in the end, but due to this, the stay wasn't seamless as should be expected of such a fine hotel.

The other letdown was during the wedding reception, where the waiters were asked if it were possible to source some bottles of wine that were on the menu at the restaurant, with ourselves being happy to pay for these, we were told they would find out for us, but never returned an answer to our queries, so most people decided just to buy alcohol from outside and returned to their rooms to drink = lost income for the hotel, pity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
277 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Shangri-La is excellent. Fantastic service with a smile. Generally, the Shangri-La chain appears to do excellence with consistency but I think this is one of its better properties.

Almost everything is great except for the food. Not a big fan of Filipino food. Any wonder why Philippines is not on the food tourism train?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Have now stayed here a number of times in the past few years and the hotel continues to be very good. The breakfast buffet has a broad range and is fresh with good coffee. The lounge bar serves well made drinks with good live music, who get even better with requests and an audience to play for.

The rooms are large and comfortable, with generous bathrooms. It feels a little dated, but this is Manila and the hotel remains current for the area. The security appears effective, but isn't as in your face as other places. Currently the only place I'd consider staying in Manila when on business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#16 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 82 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing