We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They totally get it right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“They totally get it right”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was in Manila on business for 2 days, and was expecting nothing specific from my stay at this hotel. Well, it turned out to be the best one I did in south east Asia this year. The service is impeccable, people actually truly help you, instead of giving you the usual mechanical smile and courtesy welcome. The location is very close to the airport, and the food at the buffet is excellent. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    618
    121
    51
    59
See reviews for
381
368
202
1,382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon MA, USA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed here during an extended business trip to Manila. I experienced excellent service in almost all interactions.

The best -- on a par with any other 5 star hotel anywhere else in the world -- friendly, helpful, efficient, speak/understand English clearly
* front desk staff
* transportation staff -- I used their car service every day to/from the office as well as on weekends for outings
* roving customer service staff (identified by their distinctive floor length versions of the standard women's uniform)
* laundry
* room cleaners

I have 1 annoying experience that leads me to lower the review from a 5 to a 4 star. I had breakfast every day in the Circles restaurant. I'm a tea drinker -- it seems that at least some of the staff in the restaurant don't really "get" tea. Examples
* when I requested tea, they would bring a pot of tea and try to immediately pour it into my cup -- each time I stopped them telling that the tea needs to steep for a couple of minutes before it can be poured
* the pots they use are quite large -- holding approx 20 oz of tea. They put in 1 teabag per pot. After I finished one pot I asked for another pot of tea. Several times I found that they had simply refilled the pot with water and not put in a fresh teabag.
* one time they brought me "fresh" teapot with lukewarm water.
In each case I politely explained to the staff that what I wanted was a fresh pot of tea -- with hot water and a new teabag. I managed to get what I wanted each time. The complaint is that a place so committed to excellence should better train their staff in how to properly serve tea.

One other issue is noise:
* the local government seems to constantly repair the streets and sidewalks outside the hotel. This involves jackhammering at all hours of the day and night. A couple of times this disturbed my sleep
* some sort of loud banging occurred one night in a nearby room -- I'm guessing some urgent maintenance must have required this -- this woke me up once.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
280 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I cannot remember the last time I had a bad experience at a Shangri-La. The rooms are excellent, service is excellent and the hotel is really nice. I wish I could have stayed a bit longer and availed myself to everything the hotel has to offer. I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Doesn't matter that this hotel scored well on food and conditions of room, what made it really ugly is the dishonest employee who stole my t-shirt from my LOCKED luggage in my room!!! I stayed here for 2 nights and on the day of my check-out, i was shocked to realize that one of my favourite t-shirts is missing from my luggage! I had hung all my other clothes in the closet except for this particular t-shirt because I liked it so much that i thought I'll keep it in my bag locked as extra security. I'm utterly disappointed that this would even happen in this hotel. Who would have believed a t-shirt would be stolen from a locked luggage? I'm still trying to get over it!!! As much as they have tight security checks towards their guests at the lobby area, i think they should first do a search on their own employees! Shame on you Shangri-La! You do not deserve any recommendations! Fellow travellers, please be careful if you decide to stay in this hotel. Do not trust them!

Room Tip: Stay at your own risk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank running_sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Truly a 5 Star Hotel with incredible full-service hospitality and well-appointed guest rooms. The Horizon Lounge level offers guests a daily open bar with gourmet food selections. Plus the Circles Buffet makes any other buffet look average. Location is ideal for a visit to Manila since it is walking distance to all of the local shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonaCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Makati Shangri-La Manila lives up to its 5 Star Rating. Beautiful rooms, the most helpful staff, and if you book a room that includes the breakfast buffet, you will definitely get the most bang for your buck. The location is in the heart of Manila with the best shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Just ask for whatever room you want, and they will be accommodating if a room you desire is availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genetorres3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is located in a great part of greater Manila with access to many of the good restaurants.
Rooms are spacious and great beds. The staff is great. I have stayed here many times and I would always return.
They have a great breakfast & sunday brunch

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#17 of 82 in Makati
1,971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing