We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel has changed owners several times. I stayed here 5 years ago when it was the Renascence. The lobby and bars look nice and have good service but the rooms have not changed in 5 years, a minimal change on the headboards and repainted the furniture but basically the same. The breakfast at the restaurant is very good although a bit over priced compared with other hotels in the area. Bars and restaurants operate independent from each other and it is difficult to order food from the restaurant at the pool for example. Waitresses just say that it can't be done and you need to speak to a manager for them to allow them to serve you food from the restaurant at the pool. Their menus are outdated and the wine selection is very poor. Half of the wines on the menu are "out of stock" so you ask for suggestions, they suggest you a couple and when you pick one of their selections, they come back 20 minutes later to tell you that it is "out of stock" even though they just recommended it to you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAAG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSchoucair, General Manager at New World Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to let you know that we have completed the renovation of our Residence Club rooms and Deluxe rooms. I am likewise pleased to advise that we have updated our menus, and our bars are adequately stocked with our new selection of wines.

The manner by which your food order was handled was a lapse in service that is certainly not up to our standards, for which I would like to apologize. Please rest assured that we are continually working on meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,677 - 2,683 of 3,541 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

hotel is fine, 5 star, only expensive when you compare what you get for the money. hotel is already older, location very good.
i stayed there several times, when asking them if they could store my luggage for a few hours on my way back through Manila, they refused, cause I had no room booked. I think for the fact that I left money already with their hotel, it is not a lot to ask, to take care of my luggage for 4 hours and make a existing customer happy. now they lost one customer who will never go back and choose another hotel instead, where I asked before if they would be happy to serve me in future

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanghaimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

For years, I've stayed in my official hotel, New World for business and pleasure. The location is just opposite the shopping mall. I'm away from home and I want to make sure that my room is clean and comfortable so I can get a good rest and enjoy my day after a hard day's work. I'm very happy and satisfied with my room / bathroom being professionally cleaned, clean bedding's and linens complete with toiletries. Same also in the VIP lounge and breakfast at the lobby Cafe. The staff greets you with a smile. The staff are all very polite and deserve an appreciation and commendation from the management.

Leo Delgado
PHD Engineers

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've stayed at the New World on numerous occasions and it is my preferred hotel in Manila. The rooms are modern and generally clean - although I did find a fingernail clipping on the vanity unit. Staff are freindly and generally helpful. The bar is relaxing and good to wind down in. The restuarant is excellent and has a very good breakfast and evening buffet. The coffee however is equally bad as everywhere else in the Philippines. The Hotel to Airport transfers are grossly overpriced - hire a cab for 1/10 of the price. The hotel is very conveniently located across from the Greenbelt.

Room Tip: The Hotel to Airport transfers are grossly overpriced - hire a cab for 1/10 of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hn2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks as part of a business trip in Manaila.
I cannot comment on the cost as the room was covered by the company - I have read a lot of reviews saying it is very over priced.
The staff are all very polite and helpful here. Always welcoming you with a smile when you enter and at breakfast each morning.
I was in a lead in room on the 9th floor (superior I believe?) and found it to be a good sized room. Looked out over the pool and to the Greenbelt shopping complex. Room was clean and had a separate bath and shower which is always good.
The hotel is in a top spot - you cross the road and you enter Greenbelt 3 so easy access to lots of fantastic shops, restaurants, pubs etc
I did find that during the day the room was a little bit noisy as there was refurbs being done to the floor above us. Construction noise stopped at night so it wasnt a problem however I did hear from time to time people closing doors from other rooms and sometimes toilets being flushed by rooms next to us or above us so not too sure how sound proof the rooms are.
Would recommend the hotel for business or leisure stays because of its convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

It's only the location I chose this hotel for. Located just opposite the Greenbelt shopping mall, it's convenient.

Rooms have been just renovated therefore it's generally OK but when meticulously look into it, I found bathtub with some dust, toilet bowl with mouldy-smell of water, brownish colour of water from the tap, and stingy amount of drinking water prepared per room per night.

The standard deluxe room was not available during my stay therefore paid much premium to stay at their Residence Club. Lounge mostly overcrowded during evening cocktails -- staff overwhelmed preparing dishes that they can't be aware of newcomers.

If not for business, I would avoid staying at this hotel. Overpriced as if this was five stars. To me, its merely three star. Nothing impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a good hotel, beautiful, over friendly staff and the breakfast was extra-ordinary, never seen such a huge and varied breakfast.

I paid $12,000 peso but for a very average size room with twin beds, and a view of a wall and there is currently a lot of noise going on with renovations on the higher floors. I moved to Oxford suites because there was no room for me to stay longer at NW, i got a suite, queen bed, kitchenette, awesome views from 3 windows and angles, all for half the cost of NW, and it was right in the centre of burgos st. NW is OK if your cashed up, if you want real value for money plenty of other spots to try

Room Tip: take the breakfast, its an experience in itself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#21 of 86 in Makati
2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 86 in Makati
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $118 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at the lushly landscaped New World Makati Hotel, your first impression will be the warmth of friendly staff welcoming you to our luxury, 5-star hotel in the heart of Makati. Step inside and you’ll find 580 modern guestrooms, suites and executive floor accommodation all designed for your comfort, convenience and efficiency – and everywhere you turn you’ll find service that is natural, engaging and never intrusive. Makati is one of 16 cities that comprise Metro Manila, and is the financial and commercial hub of the capital. Known as “The Wall Street of the Philippines,” it is home to the Philippine Stock Exchange, embassies, multinational corporations and corporate offices. Nearby are the fashionable Glorietta and Greenbelt Lifestyle shopping complexes, plus local shops and boutiques, making the hotel a perfect base for both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently, we’re just 30 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing