We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but IMHO overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a good hotel, beautiful, over friendly staff and the breakfast was extra-ordinary, never seen such a huge and varied breakfast.

I paid $12,000 peso but for a very average size room with twin beds, and a view of a wall and there is currently a lot of noise going on with renovations on the higher floors. I moved to Oxford suites because there was no room for me to stay longer at NW, i got a suite, queen bed, kitchenette, awesome views from 3 windows and angles, all for half the cost of NW, and it was right in the centre of burgos st. NW is OK if your cashed up, if you want real value for money plenty of other spots to try

Room Tip: take the breakfast, its an experience in itself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,762 - 2,768 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff at this hotel is incredibly disrespectful ad they all look like they're having the worst time of their life. We went to stay here after looking online to see that it was many different kind of rooms available and after all of the good reviews, here on tripadvisor we were hooked. We were on the airport of Manila and 30 minutes after, we arrived at the hotel. We had gotten there straight from Boracay so I was wearing a t-shirt and a pair of shorts and my boyfriend wore jeans and a shirt. When we got to the front desk the staff wasn't doing anything but talking to each other, they totally ignored us. After 5 minutes we said Hello, we would like to book any available room, (the price didn't mather because we weren't on a budget) and the receptionist looked at us very strangely, like "you can't afford to stay here" with frowned eyebrows, she didn't even look at the computer but just asked us to leave and said sorry everything is full, so we asked her.. How could all of the suits and rooms be booked in just 30 minutes? And she said sorry I can't help you, you need to leave.. EXTREMLY disrespectful staff.. I will never visit this horrible hotel again. The staff manager need to keep an eye at the people working at the desk because she is in no position to judge us.
We went to the Fairmont Hotel instead and booked the buisness suite. People, if you aren't wearing a suit don't excpect to be treated nicely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenkan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the logo of New World Hotel in Makati, Philippines website " IN OUR WORLD, PEOPLE ARE PUT FIRST, BECAUSE FIRST, WE ARE PEOPLE". Yes the hotel staff caters to people first if you have a different color of skin, unfortunately if your skin color is brown (kayumanggi) you are ignored and treated as a hooker. Why? Well, I had this incident with one of the hotel servers in the hotel's buffet breakfast, me and my husband stayed int this hotel while we were in Manila, one morning while we are getting our breakfast after being shown to our table a lady server ignored me all along, she had addressed my husband properly but not me. She gave our coffee in carafe with a thud on the table and never had once looked our way.There goes the "modern oriental hospitality" this hotel is boasting about. I am surprised and shocked at how a server will treat a customer, who is about to enjoy the delicious breakfast! And of course, at 8 in the morning when you are served with a waitress with an attitude it all makes everything wrong. The supervisor came and ask if everything is eveything is alright but alas, when I made a complaint she had a mocking face, like as if I was joking. Because of this treatment, we had to move to another hotel.
Nevertheless, the hotel location is very good, located along Manila's business district, walking distance to malls and restaurants located along the area.
Breakfast buffet food: sumptuous; buffet service: terrible. Rooms are alright, I just hope that the the windows for smoking room can slightly be opened so as not to stink the room. One more thing about this hotel, the roomboys are irritatingly harassing you of helping you out with your luggages but it is not because they do it as part of their role, they do it for the sake that you will give them tip, and if you don't acdept their request they will hate you because you are trying not to give them money. Hello, new world, is this a people first service???
Will I ever come back and stay int this hotel. NO. Will I recommend it to friends from abroad. NO.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumn_cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel was very nice, interiors , exteriors, everything was very nicely built and decorated. Security was also very tight.
Location also good It was near to 3 large shopping malls.
Overall my stay was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplyshivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel was nice and the people that worked there were great! The breakfast was excellent and made the morning go well. Being across from the green belt was nice since there are so many places to shop and eat just across the road. I didn't give it five dots as the last morning I stayed there I had to take a cold shower. It appears as though the hot water was not functioning in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrickerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The New World Hotel is an excellent hotel to stay for business and/or vacation: Located very central in Makati, from here you can start a shopping tour, go out at night to listen to some great latino life music or have a beautiful dinner accross the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for a week while sorting out our move to Manila. We stayed on the Club floor and enjoyed the extra level of service and hospitality that provided. On arrival there was problem with our room and without even missing a beat Stephen had us sitting comfortably at the Club Reception while he sorted it out. You know what they say.....if a problem gets sorted out properly you can end up being happier than you would have been if the problem had never occurred. That's what happened to us. Exceptional service that carried on throughout the whole week. Our room was comfortable, well-appointed and quiet. The Club Lounge was busy at times but offered a good selection of food and drinks (including wine and spirits).
I got the feeling the hotel itself may have catered primarily to business travellers but for us it was in an excellent location for shopping, restaurants, movies and exploring our new city.
The spa services were more functional than luxurious but were nevertheless relaxing. The pool was freezing (not what we expected! Do they chill the water?!) and we couldn't stay in for more than a few minutes. But it was quiet enough to relax poolside and read a good book.
We will probably not stay here again now that we live in Manila but we will always be thankful to Stephen and the rest of the New World team for making our arrival in the Philippines so great.

Room Tip: I think the Club Floors may have been recently renovated (a guess from comparing them to other floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11dollarbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#20 of 86 in Makati
2,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,825 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $120 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at the lushly landscaped New World Makati Hotel, your first impression will be the warmth of friendly staff welcoming you to our luxury, 5-star hotel in the heart of Makati. Step inside and you’ll find 580 modern guestrooms, suites and executive floor accommodation all designed for your comfort, convenience and efficiency – and everywhere you turn you’ll find service that is natural, engaging and never intrusive. Makati is one of 16 cities that comprise Metro Manila, and is the financial and commercial hub of the capital. Known as “The Wall Street of the Philippines,” it is home to the Philippine Stock Exchange, embassies, multinational corporations and corporate offices. Nearby are the fashionable Glorietta and Greenbelt Lifestyle shopping complexes, plus local shops and boutiques, making the hotel a perfect base for both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently, we’re just 30 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing