We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top Hotel... anywhere....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New World Makati Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top Hotel... anywhere....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed there one night after arriving and before leaving Manila as we spent the trip (business) on Mindanao. However its a beautiful hotel, with superb rooms, excellent service (actually better than excellent, the staff could not do enough for you), great food and unexpectedly reasonable bar prices!
The WiFi was effective throughout the hotel (and free!) and they accomodated smokers far better than I expected.
The room was clean and nicely appointed; good value. Bathroom excellent.
The aircon was quiet and efficient, and worked when you were out of the room. The TV had BBC world and CNN easy to access.
Directly across the road is the Green Belt Mall, which has every kind of shop, bar and eaterie you could wish for.
I will definitely stay there again, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir-Ranulf-Fiennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    927
    223
    82
    40
See reviews for
450
411
237
1,301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

After a lot of researching on the internet for our first trip to Manila, we decided that Makati might suit our needs for being somewhere central and convenient.

New World exceeded our expectations in what we wanted from our accommodation. Firstly, it's a must to book a club room, as these are the only newly renovated rooms. All the extra perks for staying on the club floors are worth the extra money. Easy check in on club floor, club lounge for all day snacks & drinks and happy hour where quality wine & top shelf spirits were served.

The room was clean & fresh with quality fittings and a luxe bed that was heaven to sleep on after a long flight. Hot water was no problem and it was so great to have a quality bathroom and walk in shower which sometimes in the Philippines is hard to find.

Breakfast downstairs at the restaurant was amazing, with more than enough choices and always friendly faces to greet you by name each morning.

The pool could probably use an upgrade, but it was still inviting enough to dive into on a hot afternoon.

Greenbelt is literally 20 steps across the pedestrian crossing and you're in the heart of the shopping & dining Mecca of Manila. All the malls lead into other oversized malls, so you can step out of the hotel and walk about 10 kilometers through a maze of retail wonder! No need for taxis if that's what you came to Manila to do.

We would definitely return to New World again for that VIP treatment and service. The only downside was a discrepancy with our final bill when they tried to double charge us for breakfast (which was included in our rate), but Stevane at Club Floor was apologetic and fixed the mistake. Just be sure to always check the charges, but that goes for any purchase!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeLLe_BuRn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Nov. Easy access from airport, smooth check in.
Room Ok but not Shangri La standard. ( or price) We included access to 24 floor lounge which was worth the extra. Very nice afternoon drinks and snacks. The breakfast in main restaurant was of excellent quality but lack of space it seems. The location is perfect for visiting Green Belt and direct access to No 3.
Very nice and professional service minded staff as in most top Philippine hotels.
For a change we booked thru Agoda and found it was 1000 Pesos higher than direct booking.

Room Tip: Traffic noisy on lower floors. ( street side )
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter19502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I regularly travel to Manila for work and whilst I have stayed in many hotels I am yet to experience any better than the New World Hotel Makati. I prefer to stay in one of the Residence Club Deluxe Rooms because they have been modernised and give you access to meeting rooms, laptops, easy check in/out and hospitality inclusive of breakfast, Happy Hour and incidental snacks.

The amenities are first class, it is most comfortable in every way and the locality is brilliant as it is just over the road from the Greenbelt Malls...5 separate malls of shopping, bars, coffee, nightlife and the best people watching you could hope for!

However the very best feature of the hotel is the staff! They are the most beautiful people...so courteous, polite, warm, friendly and accommodating...nothing is ever too much trouble. They are THE best!

Room Tip: Spend a little more, spoil yourself and book an Residence Club Deluxe room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at New World Makati from 21 November to 24 November and we can recommend the hotel. We stayed at the newly renovated room in 22 floor. The breakfast in the cafe at ground floor was very good with much to choose from, from intercontinental t Chinese and Filipino breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is very near Greenbelt.

Room Tip: Choose the newly renovated rooms. The rooms higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crittenden, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I traveled there in April 2013. The guest service was fantastic! Anything you need at any time, someone would take care of you. The bar and music were fun. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool was great and the service from the pool attendants was impeccable! I will be going back in January 2014. I look forward to it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I chose the New World because it was simply considerably less expensive than my first choice. I am glad that I did.

The location right across from Greenbelt, which is amazing.

The entrance is open, large, grand, modern, shiny and new. Security is pretty good, and very polite. Then you reach the door girls, beyond that are more elegantly dressed hostesses, and beyond that are the well dressed security guys. Then you reach the reception desk. We were on the club level, so we were escorted to the 24th Floor where we were checked in. I will state that it seemed painfully long to check in, and I do not know why. But it might have just been that I was tired after a very long flight.

The room was large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. I must have been in a remodeled room because the room was anything but old and tired. I would not change a thing. Housekeeping was great.

The club level came with use of their lounge, called the Living Room. I have been to better lounges, but it was still good. Breakfast was very good.

But I have to make mention of an issue that demonstrates the class and quality of this hotel. Upon check out, I left my I-pad in the room, and I did not realize it until I was in Boracay. The hotel was called, they found it, secured it, and returned it to me when I returned to Manila the following week. I am very thankful!

This hotel deserves to be in the same discussion as the SL, Peninsula, Fairmont, etc., with due consideration given to its lower cost. There is no question in my mind that for the lower cost, New World is a great option. I would also take a club room at the New World over a regular room at one of the others for the same money.

I appreciate that travel is an individual experience, but reading some of the negative reviews leaves me shaking my head. My only explanation could be that the unhappy reviewer got an old room. So do yourself a favor and demand a remodeled room and enjoy the experience. Makati is great. The people are great. This hotel is a great choice. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Insist on a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#14 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.3 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Property: New World Makati Hotel
Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury retreat and destination in the heart of the city, New World Makati Hotel is at the center of "The Wall Street of the Philippines" -- the financial district of Makati City. Right across the street from the Greenbelt Lifestyle Center, the 595 stylishly appointed guestrooms and suites combine stunning city views with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing