We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed for a week Nov 13, and was offered the upgrade which, as I was quite tired did not really pay attention to. A friend heard what I had did the next day and said "Look out, that is a per day charge!" Really? Wow, 80usd upgrade for one day? So I had some discussions with the manager and must say he handled it well but I did feel tricked to say the least by the desk staff. As when I checked in I said "really that's all? 3200pesos for one week? And she said yes, then I signed something which I thought was the whole hotels charges for a week, but no that was just for the upgrade which is totally not worth it. New room looks OK at first, but then, it feels cheap, and electrical items are difficult or confusing to use. Air Con is noisy and impossible to see and operate. Bathroom sink is difficult as all the water pours out all over if you try to rinse a shirt or anything. Agree that nobody tested anything. After I downgraded to an old room, it felt of much higher quality, quite air-con, bigger more solid bathroom fittings etc. Also, why is anyone on planet earth charging for internet? Staff got on my nerves "Hello, Good Morning Sir" Over and over and over, its like all they could do was demand my attention. Great location and will go back, but staff needs to back off a bit. Food was great in the lounge the two days I had it, but again too many people fussing about nothing, with a very nervous edge to it. Be careful of rooms on left side over disco, its a late affair boom boom boom.

Room Tip: not over the Disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronald c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,740 - 2,746 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

At first glance, this hotel looks great. The location is first class, right across from Greenbelt 3, and the lobby really looks the part. That's where the great bits stop.

Some of the rest is good, but there are yawning gaps in the service and general facilities.

Check in.
This took at least 15-20 minutes to complete the formalities (no queue), during which time I was "upsold" to a room that was supposedly upgraded, with internet and access to the executive lounge bundled in. I had originally booked a "premier room" with Agoda. After "upselling", I paid an additional US$80 per night on top of over US$200 I had paid already. The "upgraded" room turned out to be one that had been decorated, but NOT upgraded. Furthermore, it was a smaller superior room, which meant I had actually taken a room downgrade. I attach pictures. Complementary Internet access is a requirement for all quality hotels nowadays, so I do not consider that a privelege. On balance, I felt cheated.

Room.
Simply not good enough. I attach photos, but the bathroom had a very "seventies" look to it and the electrical fittings were borderline dangerous. I get the feeling also that nobody from the hotel has actually stayed in these rooms and tested the equipment. For instance, the only round pin power socket is the one in the bathroom, which means, if you want to iron something with the iron provided in the wardrobe, you have to set it up in there.

Staff.
In common with other Makati business hotels, the staff fall over each other to greet you. I am sure they are all very nice people, but I wish they would concentrate on doing a better job, rather than constantly greeting. Far too many staff around, but not really achieving a lot.

Executive Lounge.
I had breakfast and evening snacks/drinks here each day. Breakfast selection is a bit limited and at peak hours the serving staff are overwhelmed. It should not take 25 minutes to cook fried eggs, and why do you have to specially ask them every time for butter? The executive lounge is too small for the number of people expected to use it.

Overall, I simply don't think this hotel is good enough to be in the top league in Makati.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel has undergone substantial upgrade and I totally recommend the club floor and lounge. The service could not be better, the rooms really comfy, functional including wifi. Food quality also excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank T-potGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of all whatever you pay online add an extra 2000PHP. It's an extra 23% for "Tax and Service".

Room was old, dirty, smelly, frayed carpet, marks on wall and carpet, musky. Temperamental air con... Sometimes would work and sometimes wouldn't.

Ordered simple snack food from restaurant downstairs and it took more than 1 hour for meals to come. They forgot to make one meal. There was only three of us.

Check out took over 30min!!! SERIOUSLY!

Staff were extremely nice but overall were incompetent.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I have stayed there a number of times over the past few years and have found New World Hotel Makati to be one of the best in Makati so sure! In our last couple trips, we opted for the convenience and intimacy of the Residence Club and lounge floor. At our last trip there back in February, the new Club floor was still undergoing the finishing tweaks and touches but was already a wonderful experience with its great staff. In this recent trip, I would be remiss if I didn't comment on how amazingly settled and intimately friendly the staff and lounge have been. I would like to single out the great service at the club desk, particularly Ms Kim Bautista and Mr Stevene Garcia. They were so helpful and welcoming and a tribute to the class of service at your Club! In the lounge, they were equally welcoming and attentive too. Manny is such a gentleman, always positive and inquisitive of our experience. Yhe and Dolly are so courteous, friendly and so attentive to our preferences... we look forward to seeing them with their genuine smiles and smartly dressed presentation! They are a great tag team on the floor! I never got the name of the chefs but I commented to Executive Chef Ivan Chieregath that he had an excellent staff, great food and wonderful drinks! Finally, the ambience, the comfortable setting and the spectacular view makes your Club floor is an experience to remember and share with friends planning to go to Manila. I look forward to coming back and most definitely to New World Hotel! Thank you so much!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PLGuerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for about 4 nights earlier this year and was more than happy with everything about it.

The staff were all extremely friendly and polite.

The room was large and the bed was awesome. The shower was excellent and blasted you wide awake each morning!

I only ate in the hotel one night. I had the all you can eat buffet and the food was excellent, especially the tempura!

Lots of other bars and food places in the surrounding area though.

Would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I just returned from a business trip to Manila and stayed at the NWM. The package offered included breakfast either on the first floor or the 24th floor club lounge. They had a wider selection downstairs. Conference rooms are available and very convenient as I hosted clients there and then transitioned next door for happy hour at the lounge.

Location is fantastic, next to Greenbelt 3 which have numerous restaurants. We saw the value in the property that I am setting up a Corporate deal so our Executives can stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#19 of 86 in Makati
2,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 86 in Makati
2,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $113 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at the lushly landscaped New World Makati Hotel, your first impression will be the warmth of friendly staff welcoming you to our luxury, 5-star hotel in the heart of Makati. Step inside and you’ll find 580 modern guestrooms, suites and executive floor accommodation all designed for your comfort, convenience and efficiency – and everywhere you turn you’ll find service that is natural, engaging and never intrusive. Makati is one of 16 cities that comprise Metro Manila, and is the financial and commercial hub of the capital. Known as “The Wall Street of the Philippines,” it is home to the Philippine Stock Exchange, embassies, multinational corporations and corporate offices. Nearby are the fashionable Glorietta and Greenbelt Lifestyle shopping complexes, plus local shops and boutiques, making the hotel a perfect base for both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently, we’re just 30 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing