We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. First time in November 2012 and then now, end of April 2013. First time I have stayed at the regular rooms while this time I was in the Executive Floor. The difference is huge. Can't compare. The regular rooms are too outdated. The exec floor has been renovated completely to the latest comfort, design and standards. This time service was up to the notch, staff awsome and the executive lounge it's a real treat.

The only downsize is the sound proof of the window glass. Could hear noise from the street. Whoever has a light sleep might suffer this aspect.

Room Tip: Any of the executive rooms, possibly away from the elevators should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsiotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,827 - 2,833 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile


Service service service! I dont write reviews very often but when i do it is because the service is exceptional (or something went horrible wrong. In this case it is the service. Everyone is attentive, efficient, polite, and super friendly. Two quick examples: I asked her for ice day 1 then each time my ice was low poof another glass of ice. Next day sat down within two minutes a glass of ice and she welcoming me by last name. I asked Diane for something not on the pool menu she made it happen. Final example i tried to move a lounge and she comes running across the pool so I wouldnt do any work i guess -outstanding!!!! I would return just because of that experience! Another example is the cleaner on the 14th floor Leo...i asked him in the hall for a nottle within 2 minutes he brought me 4. Not to mention he folded my clothes I left on the chair. All the staff are like this.

Location couldnt be better 30 secs from greenbelt for great shopping - check out the japenese store (muki? I think) on 2nd floor greenbelt4! The night club in the hotel in the hotel is great if you like nightlife. Everyday went for afternoon tea in the lobby and did some work very nice.

Only downside is the rooms are a bit older having said that kept up well (rare in manila). Also when they hailed a cab for me i asked for meter had problem to convince taxi driver to use...as well taxi driver dropped ne off at wrong terminal grrrr! Not sure the hotels fault though me more venting!

Stay at New World highly recommend!

April 27

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YVR_GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After giving much thought, the only and only good thing i like about this hotel was it's location facing greenbelt 3 (shopping town). Commenting on service, i believe that this is an average hotel but come at a price of 5 star. Average food, small rooms with dim lights, limited toiletries and above all a poor internet connectivity. Despite my complaints, no satisfactory action was taken to resolve the problem.
Overall not a service expected from a 5 star hotel. I believe that Peninsula Makati is much better choice.

Overall rating: 5/10

Room Tip: Greenbelt 3 facing rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jainnitin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've stayed several times at the New World Hotel in Makati, and my reactions to it are mixed. The location is perhaps the best in Makati, less than a minute's walk to Greenbelt, with dozens of restaurants, excellent shopping, the Ayala Museum, and enough attractions to consume a day or two. The facilities are acceptable, with a large swimming pool, a nice executive lounge, a decent health club, and free wireless in-room Internet included, there's no cause for complaint on that score.

Security is, in my opinion, onerous and intrusive, and I cannot understand why the security personnel cannot use the metal "wands" that are standard at most four and five star hotel. The routine of opening bags, and allowing a dog to sniff your baggage gets tiresome quickly and there's little reason that security can't be a bit more inconspicuous as it is at the Shangri-La, the Dusit, and other Makati hotels.

The service is somewhat inconsistent; sometimes excellent and sometimes fair, so it's not easy to predict, though the staff (aside from the security people) are generally pleasant and welcoming.

This used to be my hotel of choice in Manila until I discovered the Shangri-La, and the New World suffers by comparison,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is located just beside Greenbelt shopping center. This is near glorietta, landmark, rustans and the rest of the malls in makati. You will be disappointed if you will consider this as a 5 star hotel. Their room, service and food is just commensurate with the cost of the accomodations which is just good for a 3-4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Overall
Was undergoing renovations when during my stay. I just cannot pinpoint a particular area to improve on, but overall experience could be better.

Service
English speaking staffs. Not bad, not too good. Security is however, rather tight and that is not really a bad thing.

Location
Just next to a massive shopping area known as Green Belt. Cheap toys, clothes, books are all available there.Transfer time getting there though could be variable depending on traffic.

Food
No lack of restuarants just across the road (Green belt). Just head out and explore. Try the Japanese place just opposite the national BBQ restaurant but expect to wait in line for some time before you get a seat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxim_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Back here again and I must say that the facelift of the lobby, restaurant and ballroom area is great. They have not got around to do the rooms yet, so the rooms are still very dark, tired and has that musty smell. We had a few days meeting - the service from banquet team and AV team was good - I had no complains. Check in was smooth and concierge was good too. However, being a city hotel I guess, they are very rigid in accommodating to changes in rooming arrangements and that is one thing that annoys us all most.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#19 of 86 in Makati
2,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 86 in Makati
2,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $117 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at the lushly landscaped New World Makati Hotel, your first impression will be the warmth of friendly staff welcoming you to our luxury, 5-star hotel in the heart of Makati. Step inside and you’ll find 580 modern guestrooms, suites and executive floor accommodation all designed for your comfort, convenience and efficiency – and everywhere you turn you’ll find service that is natural, engaging and never intrusive. Makati is one of 16 cities that comprise Metro Manila, and is the financial and commercial hub of the capital. Known as “The Wall Street of the Philippines,” it is home to the Philippine Stock Exchange, embassies, multinational corporations and corporate offices. Nearby are the fashionable Glorietta and Greenbelt Lifestyle shopping complexes, plus local shops and boutiques, making the hotel a perfect base for both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently, we’re just 30 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing