We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice, staff & location make up for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
363 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Good choice, staff & location make up for it”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

RECOMMENDED: This property was previously branded a Renaissance and was popular with US Embassy personnel due it's security (there's a blast wall on the street side). It's directly across from the safe Greenbelt shopping mall which has a number of fine restaurants and is popular with the trendy locals. The airport is an easy shot.

The property itself is a little tired but it was initially constructed with high quality ingredients so it's wearing well. Maintenance was in good order. Rooms are of good size though furnishings from a time period more appropriate for the 70's. Bedding was comfortable and linens were of good quality. Bathroom was nicely tiled and plenty of very hot water, however, it's gracefully aging as well. My room (facing the mall) was quiet at night.

My corp rate allowed me access to the executive lounge for breakfast and evening drinks and it's well worth any upgrade as easy to have meetings here. As others have noted the staff is very good (and there are lots of staff wandering about). Filipinos generally are quite friendly, accommodating and quick to smile and welcoming to foreign visitors.

This is a solid 3* hotel, it's got some rough edges, but I wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    1,028
    245
    89
    45
See reviews for
544
474
267
1,481
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was referred to this hotel by a good friend who spends 8 months a year in the Philippines. He always stays here when in Manila. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool was well maintained and the poolside staff were on the ball. The pool and surrounding area is very impressive, relaxing and stress free. An easy 7 minute stroll to the supermarket to replace any bar fridge usage if required and right next to the greenbelt shopping malls. The food was fine, typical buffet breakfast with cold dry bacon but you get that anywhere - just choose carefully and time your feast. I always find it best to ask the chef for what I want and wait for it. About 30min from the airport. Our toilet would not flush so a phone call was made and the problem sorted within 20 minutes. Overall it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thing62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I must commend all the service staff at New World Makati for their excellent service. From the doormen, reception staff, F & B crew to room service staff, all of them are helpful and have a ready smile besides being efficient in their area of work.

The hotel is just across the road from Greenbelt shopping malls and within walking distance to other malls like the Landmark, Glorietta and SM Mall. Ideal for shopaholics and business. Hotel food is good but if one chooses to eat out, there are countless local and international food outlets in the malls.

Room Tip: Go for executive club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights Mid August 2012 and enjoyed every minute of it. Firstly upon check in because it was busy in the main lobby, I was guided to the Business Executive floor to check in. The staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. They offered me a late check out which I gladly accept. They were very accommodating and phone calls were made to check if you were okay in the room .The room was clean and so as the bathroom. The health club was great I used it both days and had modern equipments. I think the only slight negative feedback I can give is how the front desk referred me as a Mr when clearly I checked in as Ms/Mrs. It was almost a little upsetting to be called a Mr each time I called the reception for queries. The wifi access were only available in the lobby (which required a small fee) On my last day the roof was leaking which I gather from the air conditioner moisture this was fixed quickly. Highlight of this hotel is the location, perfect for shopping and very relaxed! Thank you!

Room Tip: I was checked in on the 17th floor and this was a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had no regrets in choosing this hotel for our first experience in Manila. Upon arrival, security checks were prevalent as if President Obama was around. However, this was for our own safety and we had no complaints. We loved the sniffer dogs though. Front office and reception service was excellent. Room was great with all the expected amenities. House keeping was responsive. Had access to the executive lounge and tea time was good. Everyone was always smiling and helpful. Directly opposite the hotel and the surroundings were the Makati shopping centres. All were within walking distance. Avoid the taxis if possible as most are out to fleece you despite asking them to use the meter. The only blemish was the taxi ride back to the airport when as expected, the driver covered his meter with a cloth after 1 min and showed us the 'schedule' of fares. Instead of a 300 peso ride, it turned out to be 600 peso and he even had the audacity to ask for a tip. No regrets in choosing this hotel. Would strongly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel couldn't be in a better location in downtown Makati. Staff are well trained and lovely. The hotel is undergoing very noisy renovations from 10am-6pm Monday-Saturday so beware if you sleep during the day. We stayed on a club floor and they had breakfast and a happy hour set up every day, even on the weekends. The food in the hotel was what you would expect - Greenbelt 3 is directly across the street with loads of restaurants and shops so you don't have to eat at the hotel. The lunch buffet set out on Saturday looked amazing but was like $33US. All the staff there were helpful, polite, pleasant. I highly recommend but call if you are worried about the noise of the renovations.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mel_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Room was a great size. The hotel provided good service, staff excellent and responsive, attentive to needs. The room was cleaned daily, bathroom with bath and sep shower. Phone call nite before leaving wanting to enquire whether any assistance was required. Pool well maintained, the only issue at hotel was the cost of wifi within hotel, one would expect free or lower costs then 125 Pesos per hour. You could not want or expect much more. Restaurants in Greenbelt 3 excellent and opposite New World Hotel. MRT within walking distance as are at least 3-4 shopping centers. All in all I will keep going back to New World, Makati

Room Tip: Look beyond Greenbelt shops for bargains in other close by shopping centers. Catch a MRT to North Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
1,902 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Property: New World Makati Hotel
Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Spa Hotel in Makati
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury retreat and destination in the heart of the city, New World Makati Hotel is at the center of "The Wall Street of the Philippines" -- the financial district of Makati City. Right across the street from the Greenbelt Lifestyle Center, the 595 stylishly appointed guestrooms and suites combine stunning city views with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing