We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Allow a couple of hours!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basix at Dusit Thani

Basix at Dusit Thani
Ranked #181 of 1,339 Restaurants in Makati
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Allow a couple of hours!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are big fans of the Buffets at Basix, and have enjoyed them a number of times over the past years. Our most recent visit was in August 2012, and the offerings seem better and better. (although we sadly missed the Singaporean week when a Chef came from Singapore to prepare dishes in celebration of Singapore's Independence Day)

Of course, it's not just the food at Basix, (an unfortunate choice of name in my opinion - it's far from basic), but the whole ambiance provided by very friendly, excellently trained staff who make the whole experience a pleasure from the moment you walk in.

The choices of food are, as to be expected in a 5 star hotel, extremely varied and it's a fool who arrives for the buffet dinner after a heavy (or any?) lunch. Arrive with an appetite and at least two hours in which to enjoy the offerings.

Appetisers, Mussels, Oysters, Dim-Sum, Tandoori (from real Tandor),Peking Duck, lots of different Asian dishes,plus Western favourites such as Roast Beef carved to order, and following your main course a wonderful selection of deserts and crepes.

It's a struggle to describe it all, but I found if you search Google Images for "basix dusit" all will be revealed in glorious colour!

Current cost of the buffets is Lunch P1450 nett, and Dinner P1650 nett. Don't miss the promos :- Last Saturday evening every month gives a "Green Hour" 30% discount, and if you book and pay at least one month in advance ("Early Bird"), the discount is 50%.

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phil
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice buffet and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had lunch at Basix and since we were checked in we also had breakfast there. Food was good, we had some request and it was granted. Female manager and old staff in coat (probably captain) were very helpful and considerate on our requests.
For breakfast, we were seated at the lobby area. There was a que and we opted to sit at the lobby. Same staff was there also and when we were taken cared of as if they really knew us already. We felt special and thank you for that. Truly an experience worth remembering

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VertigoPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy dalandan juice and fantastic lobsters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Enjoyed the crossover buffet here. The stations were quite far apart from each other... but well, at least you get to exercise in between filling up your stomach with yummy treats.
We had a room reserved for us at the Indian cuisine area so it was a long walk to Basix at the ground floor which is where most of the dishes I liked were located.

The steaks were tender and juicy. They will grill it according to your preference... I had mine done medium and there was just enough red, which is how I like my steak done!

The Japanese resto was a delight for me. I enjoyed the teppanyaki (this is an easy 5 star rating) and the miso soup... all cooked right in front of you. :)

I had LOBSTERS which were just yummy.. just enough saltiness to the meat (this was steamed). The dalandan juice was the star... I must have drank more than 5 glasses! Soooo fresh and yummy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naty833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet in the heart of Makati!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a wonderful place to have lunch date with family and friends. Extensive selection of western and varied Asian cuisine. You must try their tenderloin steak (recommend medium rare) and their wide selection of pickled fish and cheese. And you can prepare your own halo-halo with ice cream, and fresh fruits for dessert. I look forward to visiting this place again in the future.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corafabros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basix at Dusit Thani also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Basix at Dusit Thani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing