We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty dishes, relaxed ambience”
Review of Balkan

Balkan
Ranked #228 of 1,361 Restaurants in Makati
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Croatian, Central European, Bar, European, Pub, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Balkan, is a restaurant-Saloon that serves authentic Yugoslavian Cuisine. Currently there are no other restaurants in the Philippines that serve Yugoslavian food. Balkan started in 2001, although the cuisine is new to the Filipino taste buds, there are certain similarities with the local dishes. The Philippine diners quickly embraced Yugoslavian food. As the very nature of the food calls for paring with Alcoholic Drinks, Balkan also operates a full-service bar. Balkan transports customers to experience the Balkan way of eating, drinking and partying. Interiors reflect a modern but authentic Balkan feel.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
186 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty dishes, relaxed ambience”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I ordered the Hungarian goulash and this sausage that tasted like Vigan longganisa but only bigger.

Great, home-cooked comfort food. The goulash was served with what seems to be freshly baked bread and it was fantastic. Will go back to order it again.

Ambiance was warm and relaxed. Good dining experience with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LennaD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“love this place but I can't eat that much meat all the time”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you love meat and potatoes, this is the resto for you :-) I love this place! A hearty bowl of goulash is perfect on a rainy night. I had some goulash last night (it's the height of summer) and I still enjoyed it. More items on the menu now compared to the first few times I ate here. Appreciate the addition of some non-meat options. If you live in Makati CBD, Balkan is a quiet resto in a quiet neighborhood that isn't far from the busy main street. If you live nearby, just walk over as street parking isn't always easy to find. Recommended dishes: the goulash, the cabbage roll, the sausages I can't pronounce or spell (something with Cs Ps and Vs ceveppici?) with fries, the arugula salad (got it with grilled chicken last night but the chicken was a bit dry so next time I'll order the salad with feta). The lamb (something with a J and Ns and Ts and As and Es) is a best seller but it's not my type. I'm looking forward to trying lots more meat dishes.
I'm surprised Balkan isn't more popular. It's a quiet place to spend a relaxing evening with friends. I don't drink beer but whenever I'm at Balkan, I'm tempted to have a bottle of beer because the food is just so perfect for beer :-D Prices are very reasonable! If you stick with the house water, you'll probably spend P350 or so on a hearty dinner in a cozy place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank engmaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect for meat lovers”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

order the deli platter and the soup. its awesome. aside from the burger and the lamb, its affordable considering its located in makati and at the fort area. super affordable food and drinks and big servings the best is the way its served super the best

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank reujen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“simply yugoslavian”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

if you want a meaty meal, balkan is a must-try :) we ordered pljeskavica burger (traditional serbian burger), stuffed chicken batak, and palacinke (traditional serbian crepe). they were all very rich in flavour. the servings were generous as well. server needed to be more attentive. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrh_en-ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth to try!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

we ate here twice in a different chain(Perea and Global city), both places are surprisingly serves authentic Balkan dishes, fair prices and big servings. The ambience and cleanliness are perfectly manage, but the server needs more training. I highly recommend this place, it's worth to try new things!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chayong23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Balkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing