We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“strategic and safe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Soho Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bel Air Soho Suites
Ranked #23 of 33 Makati B&B and Inns
mas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“strategic and safe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our stay lasted 4 D 3N. Location is strategic as in the night you would be able to walk around nearby convenient stores, food outlets, saloon and bars. High presence of foreigners so you wouldnt feel like a total stranger. Prompt service but lacking in certain aspects. Non functioning room telephone to contact the receptionist. You need to get down to a nearby store across the hotel to buy an adapter as theirs may not be compatible with yours (my mobile phone chargers were 3 pin plugs ones). The hotel don't provide this. Costed us PHP 200.

Security aspect is quite good. Security personnel are always on guard with police patrol making a stop once in a while. Room is clean, with a television set, functioning remote controlled air-con, cooker hood, clean bathroom.

Those who are familiar with the roads and intend to rent a car may be able to park in the first three floors of the hotel, parking designated areas. It is best to hire someone to bring you around as the nature of the traffic may be different compared to yours. Leave it to the expert. The hotel may recommend you one.

Suggested shopping malls, greenhills and sm mall of asia. Quality products & good bargain. First two days should be meant for shopping. The following days, you can stop by the manila american cemetery (beautiful scenery) which is within the Bonifacio global city, a well planned high rise building, then make a turn to proceed to rizal park, marina ocean park, fort santiago, san augustine church (nearby and time efficient). I wouldnt suggest divisoria shopping malls which is approx 1.5 miles north from rizal park. Another good spot for shopping would be clark manila, 2.5 hours drive from metro manila (heart of manila). There is a standard shopping mall (SM Clark) suitable for those with departures and arrivals made from clark.

Btw, if u happen to notice SM on shopping malls, it is short for shoe marts. Initially it was shops selling shoes but eventually they turn into shopping malls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobtutupoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
CDO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

stopped her to recover before flying to boracay.
Dont pay full price two thirds is about the right price. check the room first if its a dump just say no.
electric and water are inclusive. the staff are friendly and honest leave them a tip too

Room Tip: just check the room before you pay they vary greatly in quality , check the air con some are very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place is ok, but really your pay hotel prices and dont recieve the service...the rooms are nice-ish (stayed in a standard room) with kitchenette - i asked where the pans and cooking utensils were and i was told i would have to pay to use them, i said ok then they didnt bring them, even after i mentioned it agian. also a few things went missing from my room - only small cosmetics and things like that, but still not great. also the final problem was when i went to the airport and left my girlfriend in the room - they wouldnt return the 500p deposit to her, saying i had to sign for it...which is basically a scam to keep the money...anyway the rooms are cleanish and the buliding is modern, but for the money i would say its better to stay in a hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Free-Range85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I chose this condotel, as it was really located in a good location, as I was planning to meet my friends and do my personal errands within that area. Price is just okay for the property with the location having its big push in factor. However, the following instances made my stay not happy at all.
1. Check-in --> i went to the small lobby, which was actually the lobby for the residents. The actual lobby was merged in the internet cafe. I showed them my reservation details in my iphone as I wasnt able to print it out. I used Hotels.com in booking, and i was surprised to know that they dont know and initially, didnt acknowledged that it is part of their partners. I felt so embarassed when the receptionist, ask their admin/acctg, and still was not able to verify. In addition to this, the receptionist even looked for it in the internet, just to prove that their property is listed in that website. After 15 minutes of just trying to prove that my reservation was indeed genuine. She asked me to wait for 10 more minutes as the staff is still cleaning the bathroom of my assigned room. I can actually wait for 10 mins or so, but the thing is, I arrived past 3pm already, so how come, the room is still not yet ready?
2. Aircon --> There is no remote control, so i used the chair to manually turn it on and operate.
3. Telephone --> there is none, so how can i call the attention of the condotel? I still need to go down to the lobby and personally tell them my concern.
4. Broken glass window lock in the terrace --> security is at risk.

On the other hand, 1 positive thing about the hotel;
1. location --> close to business district, mall and bars

Overall, i would not recommend this hotel for other users, not unless, they can tolerate the above scenarios.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makati hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Good side:After a long walk, you will be welcomed with your tidy rooms and clean smelling toilets. Don't forget the amicable crew who will ensure your safety and grant any of your requests. Each room has a balcony, kitchen counter, kettle, lcd tv set and with hot/cold shower.The building is near the shopping centers where you can either give your legs exercise or take the jeepney for a fun ride. It is accessible to Ayala train station. Most of their clients are Koreans however there are also other foreigners. They do not have breakfast and laundry service which are all found just outside the building. Finding the place is tricky so one tip is just look for HECKLE N JECKLE Bar in Polaris Street. It is behind Citadel Inn and infront of Makati Palace Suite.
Thank you Mac!

Bad side: Some aircons are not working well---I think they should change them already.BUT they will make sure to fix everything on the dot! So they listen to you. They serve to please the clients. Then there is the fire alarm which sounded twice during our stay only because the Koreans were cooking in the middle of the night---midnight snacks???I would recommend microwave on each room than those electric stove.

Room Tip: request in advance and ask for a room inspection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wildsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

It's more of a condominium than a hotel. It's walking distance to Makati Avenue where a myriad of different cuisines can be found. It's also near Jupiter street where there are even more restaurants. Best of all, it's tucked in a quiet corner with an internet cafe at the ground floor.

You can call the reception for a cleaning request but do not expect a 4 or 5 star hotel service. This is clean, safe and good enough for the price (its affordable) without having to settle for some seedy hotel along the nearby area. No pool or gym though.

It's just a cab or jeepney ride away from Greenbelt but we opted to walk all the way to Greenbelt as it was pleasant. The cab isnt too familiar with the area though so be sure to say that its along Polaris near Makati Ave. Oh, the price did not include breakfast but it was okay, we enjoyed our short stay. We were not even considering staying here at first because we were not sure if they accommodated short-stay guests but we just walked in, inquired for a 3-night stay and came out content. The room has an aircon and a small TV. If we wanted to chill out in Makati, i guess we'd consider going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40winkswhentraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makati
0.0 mi away
Inwangsan Hotel
Inwangsan Hotel
#55 of 111 in Manila
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Suites
Jupiter Suites
#40 of 80 in Makati
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citadel Inn Makati
Citadel Inn Makati
#72 of 80 in Makati
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
0.4 mi away
Makati Riverside Inn
Makati Riverside Inn
#1 of 33 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Good Shepherd Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Soho Suites

Property: Bel Air Soho Suites
Address: 45 Polaris Street, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bel Air Soho Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bel Air Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Soho Suites Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing