We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peacefull cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
Ranked #42 of 84 Coffee & Tea in Makati
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: Born and brewed in Southern California since 1963, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf is the oldest and largest privately-held specialty coffee and tea retailer in the United States. Known for sourcing and providing the finest ingredients and flavors, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf has built relationships with the best private coffee farms and tea estates around the world, selecting only the top 1% Arabica beans and finest hand plucked, whole leaf teas. The company has grown to be an international icon and currently has more than 950 stores. Each one is dedicated to serving our community and providing a warm and inviting environment. You can also find The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf products in grocery stores, restaurants and offices. Throughout all aspects of our company, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf remains dedicated to providing the highest quality products and customer service.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peacefull cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This cafe just in front of my hotel in Makati while I was there in December 2013.I use to relax there and having my my favorite drink Ice blended Caramel.But the only thing that disappointed me was the request to use the WIFI/internet wireless.They only give the password to customer with having a members card.In my country Malaysia, Coffee bean cafe will give free access to all their customer but not in Philippines.The management of coffee bean should change their policy of accessing their wireless internet service for customer to attract more customer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Azri_Abd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Coffee Bean over rated and under appreciates its customers.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Coffee Bean over rated and under appreciates its customers.
With thousands if not millions of coffee shops offering a great cup of Jo and free wifi one needs to ask what's this all About? Why pay additional for wifi after you have paid 10 times more for a cup of coffee? Are the owners so greedy that they need that extra money.

That's right what a bunch of morons that buy newspapers. ..you know that big paper thing that when touched leaves chemical ink all over you hands and comes from cutting down trees and adds to our polution -news paper....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuWapO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An Afternoon of Peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I love going to this store whenever I plan to work or study. It's not as crowded as other shops. My favorite order includes Caramel Ice Blended and any of the pastas! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad bad coffee but good breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn and visited a few times. First was their chocolate cappucino/latte which was a combination of hot chocolate and shot of espresso. I thought at that time that it was the worst coffee I have ever had. Most of it went down the drain, and I am sure if the drain could talk it would have expressed its disgust on my choice of coffee.

The two muffins I had were tasty though. So was the breakfast which I had two days later. Their scrambled eggs were heavenly. It came with a cup of 8 ounce coffee which overtook the chocolate cappucino as the worst coffee I have ever ever had.

Told a local friend about it who agreed with me and warned me away from the chai teas that they served.

When Nescafe gold instant coffee is far superior, why bother coming here for coffee?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrerahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Its a more pleasant and not so stressed place as the Starbuck. Good outside seating and and good service. The Wii Fi could be better, but did work,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainVombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing