We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saint Illians Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saint Illians Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Makati B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Quaint, Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I wanted a place to stay in Makati for a couple of days that was close to the airport(by metered taxi about 200 pesos ...less than $5). The staff was friendly and helpful throughout my stay.
There are no exterior windows, except on the very front rooms, but each of the rooms face an interior courtyard that makes it look very quaint. They were doing some road construction out front, but the noise wasn't a problem. The rooms themselves are very small and dated, but they served the purpose for what I needed. There was no wifi in the rooms, but wifi in the lobby was good. Overall a good value for the money ...I would be happy to stay here again if I'm in Makati.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We do try our best ! Apologies for the late reply. Please come and stay with us again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
16
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at Saint Illian's - 2 nights before going to Boracay and 2 nights once we returned. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. It is really close to Waltermart which has a big supermarket that we visited a few times. Both rooms we stayed in had fridges which was great. They also had excellent air con. We walked into the Greenbelt shopping areas a few times and this was an easy 20 minute walk. The inn was very clean and was only about 20 mins by taxi to and from the airport (Terminal 4). We really liked our stay here and would happily return if we visit Makati again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarakate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
This is a nice Valentines Card for all our staff. We will share this review with them all. Many thanks for your kind words!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girl for one night only because we attended a concert. Ive been searching for budget hotels/bnb for days a week before the event. I suddenly saw this hotel and read its reviews thus I was enticed to book our night.

Hotel was nice. Its small but the looks of the place is far from your usual bnb's here in Manila. I was surprised that a hotel this nice is priced for so low. Bed was good, shower is clean though small. A/C is cold and the beds.. they are the best. Beds are big enough for us with warm and thick blankets ready. I was not that happy for the breakfast though or probably it was just my taste. Overall, it was a nice experience staying in this hotel. Staffs are professional, the place is surprisingly quiet being at the center of a city.

We are going to another event this month and my girlfriend is requesting for us to stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Apologies for the late response. We are very thankful for your glowing comments. Please come stay with us again! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed here twice now. first time the room was small but located up just a single flight of stairs. no windows exposing the outside world, instead the window faces onto the main walkway. there is no smoking in the rooms although in the hallway is permitted.
the room themselves are kinda small but ok, aircon worked well.

second time i stayed was much better. on the top floor at the back of the hotel is 2 rooms, mine had a view of the street was recently renovated and much less closed in. if you do not mind the extra stairs its well worth asking for.

staff are pleasant, the young bell boy got me a taxi for the airport at a great rate. food was good. although international cuisine needs a little small detail in perfecting. fish and chips turned out to be fish and crisps. of course any foreigner is usually american by default in the Philippines

over all for the price i paid 2.2k i thought was a little on the expensive side. however the area is nice, mcdonald's is up the road, the neighbors are friendly.and the staff are great. .

Room Tip: go for the 2 rooms on the top floor if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bren1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Apologies for the late response. Thank you very much for your glowing comments. Please come stay with us again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice, if a bit old, hotel. Rooms comfy but small. Front desk staff nice as can be. No wifi in rooms, but available in lobby. When I checked in I tried to change my reservation (made on the hotel's website) from 4 to 3 days, but was told that is against hotel policy and I had to pay for full reservation, or not check in at all and still get charged for the first night.
They do have left luggage service, which I had planned to use but was notified there is a 10 day maximum (nowhere noted on their website or on the hotel policy paperwork I read at check-in).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoPieGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
No staff would ever say at reception-- pay up or don't check in at all and forfeit any deposits -- as you imply. Courteously informing a guest of something they can or cannot do is never easy; no one likes to be "told"... but we've managed over the years to be kind and courteous when doing business.

Online bookings are paid for using your credit card. It is clearly stated on the confirmation about last minute cancellations. Canceling or shortening a reservation at time of check in qualifies as last minute. Your room has been removed from inventory and made available only for you. Hence a confirmed paid guaranteed deposit that binds both guest and hotel to the terms.

Sorry that we refused to hold your bags for more than 10 days..luggage keep is not a primary service nor a sale-able feature of the hotel. As such it is not advertised nor promoted at all. It is an added courtesy for transiting guests. 10 days is ample if not generous leeway for a guest to take a few days at a resort and still come back to retrieve luggage. It is a huge responsibility but we do it for your convenience. We are not designed as a storage facility and moreover, many have abused this service and have left baggage for extended periods of time.

Thank you for rating us high on other benchmarks of hotel facilities and service, although we took umbrage to the title of your remarks. It could use a little more kindness.

Cheers and happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I found this place on the internet, I was staying in Cebu and needed a place it Makati for just one night. Although I only stayed one night and the end I was wishing it was longer as the place was so clean and had so much character. When I booked the room I was offered a transfer from the airport, as I was only staying a night I used a taxi, but it was nice to have the offer. When I arrived we were checked in and shown to our rooms in a very polite manner. I noticed that there were many foreign people checking in throughout the day with a lot who were returning as the service they received was so good.

If you want somewhere to stay which is clean/cheap, and you are not too worried about having a large room, then this is as best as it gets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
A perfect Score!

Its rare that someone is pleased enough to rank us perfect 5 out of 5! It shows clearly that if one is,positive in ones outlook about life one will indeed appreciate the simple clean comfortable unpretentious surrounds we take great efforts in providing.

It confirms that Others who post negative feedback are merely expressing outwardly their own dissatisfaction with what life has given them, and furthermore, that no amount of service will ever please them once they've made up their minds to be dissatisfied.

Thank you for your glowing review!

Cheers! And happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

There are some things in this hotel that somehow stick in your memory and even can make you return a second time. The personnel is kind and attentive for one thing, another thing is the design of the place and the rooms. Even though it is simple in a way it is still an attempt to be a boutique hotel in its kind. The rate is not really competitive but similar to other places. Discounts is available for cash payment, but then again it is usually unpractical having to pay large amounts cash all the time and as a foreigner you will end up paying to your bank for every withdrawal. Location is good considering the fact that the Walter mart mall is just a short walk away where you can find many food offerings and shops of all sorts and even a cinema. Wifi is present and working throughout the hotel if you are lucky although in some of the rooms it is not guaranteed. A nice added value was also the presence of DVD's to borrow at the reception to watch on the DVD player that is present in every room, as well as a modern LCD television. Not bad for a budget place of this sort.

Room Tip: If it is necessary to have free wifi in the room, ask for a room near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Yes, everything you said is true ... A very objective comment you have posted which is the best kind. A very fair and unbiased opinion is yours and we thank you. We do wish people would be as fair and objective all the time with our other properties. We have three similar properties and perhaps next time you could try these and write an objective review about them as well. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#20 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palm Rock
Palm Rock
#48 of 82 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
AurumOne Makati
AurumOne Makati
#27 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Illians Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Illians Inn

Property: Saint Illians Inn
Address: 7461 Santillan Street | Pil del Pilar, Makati, Luzon 1230, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saint Illians Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Saint Illians Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Illians Inn Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing