We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising charm”
Review of Saint Illians Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Illians Inn
Ranked #17 of 40 Makati B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I chose St Illians randomly and i was pleasantly surprised. It offered everything i needed from a comfortable bed to a quiet room, reasonable bathroom facilities & enough room.

Food was quite good, staff were excellent, even walking down the street to find a taxi in the rain, now thats customer service :)

My only suggestion would be to add WIFI, then u have a good allround cozy place to stay :)

Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt_JKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Many, many thanks for appreciating our quaint little inn! A lot of effort in details goes into what you experienced while staying with us. Its simply great when someone like you takes the time to give praise!

We do have internet connections in-room. Its hard wired for better speed though, not Wi-Fi. In the lobby, you may use our dedicated PC for guests free of charge. I'm sure you spotted that detail.. so when you say that you wish there was Wi-fi to make it cozier, did you mean FREE internet? In the lobby it is free on our PC for guests, in rooms it is US$4.00 for 24 hours unlimited or can go by the hour too for a dollar or two..

Please do stay again! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

I have stay at this inn over 20 times !!, do i need to say any more?. Great location near very near Walter Mart shopping mall, the Inn has a slight Spanish feel every room is different but i like that its not the norm. The price is excellent for the location the room has AC, fridge, free dvd 's to watch from the reception, staff always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jezzer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

That is probably the best ever endorsement we have ever received! Stayed with us twenty times and still loving in? That qualifies hands down for a loyalty reward. We dont normally do this and this will be a first time-- please email me directly or simply mention this wonderful review to our staff when you stay next and breakfasts are free of charge-- for each and every day of your stay-- for each and every time you stay with us forever. No expiry. Have our home cooked breakfast forever whenever you stay.

And as a result of this input from you, we are now looking into creating a Loyalty Card that includes a photo imbedded in the card given free to guests who, like you, stay frequently. Tiers will be made offering different levels of perks for number of stays.

Thank you very much for your kind words and invaluable input.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

In the heart of Makati, is the Saint IIlians Inn a quaint little Inn within the heartbeat of Makati but without the hectic traffic. Make no mistake this inn is in the Makati district within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Very reasonable in prices, we had 11 people in our group and the staff made every effort to make us comfortable. The Staff was outstanding , very polite and attuned to our needs. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable. The restaurant in the Inn was excellent with a bakery with homemade pastries. We needed a place close to the airport and this was 15-20 minutes away. I will defiantly stay there again if given the chance and will recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear Reviwer I group of 11

We aren't allowed to address you by name but I of course do know exactly who you are as your group made a special request to provide face towels for your party! It's an unusual request but of course we were only too happy. To be able to comply with such a small item to make your stay a bit more to your liking.

Many, many thanks for your patronage and please do return especially if you can spend more time in Manila to see the good things about our city. I recall you were on a charitable mission here and were visiting the poor and destitute places to carry out your purpose. But Manila is not all poverty ad depression, we too have beauty and peace if you look for that as well.

What is amazing is that you who live so far away take the time to care for our needy , truly you put us who live so near those I. Dire need, to shame! God bless you and continue to well, continue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have styaed here a few times and have always found the staff very polite and curtious
This is a budget Inn located in Makati City the area is safe and quiet with easy access
to shopping malls.
Rooms are comftable with hot cold shower,sat Tv,but what i really like about this place is
the staff, always with a smile and willing to help with any problem which is more then be
said for other establismemnts in manila.

Room Tip: Book in advance as its a very popular budget Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank peacfullone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Reviewer-

Many, many thanks for your praises about our staff. I will ask them to read your comments first hand. It is very rare that a person such as your good self takes the time to say something positive-- usually people are so eager to share negative stuff.

Our staff will be elated to hear someone actually appreciating their efforts to make our guests satisfied returnees! Our success hinges on the fact that 80% yes, a full 80% of our staying guests are actually like you-- have stayed and repeatedly come back because they are happy staying with us.

A great big thank you! Regards and Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

One of the hotel supervisors, "Nina" helped me resolve some minor complaints I had about the room. Customer service in this hotel is outstanding. Exceptional rates and reasonable amenities in Makati City. Thank you St. Illians staff for resolving the issues I had and making my vacation hassle free. Outstanding customer service always outweighs any inconvenience a hotel may offer. -Frank-

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisgruntledGerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you sir, for your praise-- its MINA, that helped you.. or Myra.. can you describe her a bit? You can reply directly to our email on this site so we can inform the correct person of your praise. Nevertheless, we will inform them both and since you gave your name (which we wont mention here) we will ask them if they remember you.

THANK YOU and hope to see you again very soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

SAINT ILLIANS INN:

I appreciate the whole customer service rendered by your inn. Truly I enjoyed my stay together with my companion. The reception is nice compare to other inns, though without service elevator, walking to go to your room (if located on the higher floor) would be more exercising part (good for the heart indeed).

Rooms (observed in our own room) are well organized. We even asked for movies for we have something to watch. Lying in the bed is quite comfortable; comfort room is not that spacious enough but certainly you will experience a great bath.

I will undoubtedly return to experience another great stay away from home and likewise surely suggests this inn to my other friends.

I stayed around April 2010

_dexter_

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Dear Reviewer-

Thank you very, very much for your glowing praise! And yes-- our corporate mission statement is fully embodied by your comments. You may have noticed that on each stairway landing the posted sign that says -- PLEASE AVOID LOUD TALKING AND LAUGHTER WHILE IN HALLS, BE CONSIDERATE OF SLEEPING WEARY AND TIRED TRAVELERS. Then too, all arriving guests whether already checked in or just checking in after 10pm are actually handed a printed flyer reminding them to be quiet in the halls. So glad that you appreciate the absolute peace and quiet we provide. Yes it is very rewarding for us to hear you say how peaceful your stay was.

THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rates are reasonable. Breakfast in not included. Staff are pleasant. Overall this is a very reliable place to stay for quick stops in the city. Although it is not located in an upscale neighbourhood...

Room Tip: Book early to get bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duck-Nanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Duck-Nanni-

Thank you for your objective review and you are right-- we are very reliable in every way, down to how we get you a taxi and give you a slip of paper with the taxi cab plate number so in case you leave something behind, you have some recourse.

Breakfast specials can be had with online bookings for only P110 (US$2.50) and its well worth it as all our cooking is healthy gourmet. We even bake our own bread.

Yes, we are not in an upscale neighborhood like the Central Business District of Makati which is only a 10 minute stroll from our door. It is that fact that permits us to keep our room rates "budget" category for in the Central Business District, the rents are higher, the taxes are higher and did you know, the cash registers are linked directly to the Ayala Head Corporate Office so they take a percentage of your businesses' gross receipts too? That's how they keep it upscale though, they maintain their neighborhood in "upscale" fashion using revenues generated by their tenants. So, you always get what you pay for. We are not hooked directly I'm glad and so we pass the savings on to you. However, you get the best of both worlds for we are so very close the the Ayala malls so you can enjoy the upscale Ayala but stay for less with Saint Illians Makati Inn.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#35 of 86 in Makati
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#28 of 86 in Makati
322 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#29 of 86 in Makati
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
My Dian Suites
My Dian Suites
#36 of 62 in Makati
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 86 in Makati
2,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Illians Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Illians Inn

Address: 7461 Santillan Street | Pil del Pilar, Makati, Luzon 1230, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Makati
Price Range: $30 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saint Illians Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Saint Illians Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Illians Inn Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing