We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap "hotel" (motel)”

Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe
Ranked #31 of 41 Makati B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013

my bestfriends and i stay in this hotel for an ovenight only this week. we are aware that this hotel is rampant with young couples staying only for a few hours but we took chance because it is CHEAP and within the vicinity of our destination. We have paid 1,425 and additional 200pesos for 1person for our 24hours stay. the room is OK. we have to ask for another blanket and towel for the additional person.

pros:
along edsa (good location)
near mrt
near makati
many establishments outside
affordable
aircon in our room is good
hot water

cons:
the ladies in the reception area are very impolite.
towels are old
2pillows are only provided. if you add one, you will have to pay 50pesos.
no tissue in our room
no breakfast included


what i love about the location especially this season, because when you go out of the hotel there is a night market selling affordable clothes. better be alert and watch out for pickpocket!

Room Tip: room 412, no window. i guess this hotel have no windows in all there rooms. not for claustrophobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasmine3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We(4 people) booked the hotel for 4 nights and when we came there they let us wait at the lobby fully of young couples who wanna use the rooms for a short time,from there we were already confused if we were in the right place coz it felt like a motel!!!As a result of waiting,The manager(maybe)escorted us to a deluxe room which door was broken and suddenly one guy in hotel uniform popped up and said something impolite about us.We were told that they were gonna move us to the premium room after a night and it didnt happen after all the instructions we told them.Finally we were transferred and at first glance the room looked fine not until the the tube leaks in the comfort room,after seeing that we asked them to do something about it and the girl i talked to was so impolite,(she is at the front desk by the way) she couldnt understand English and she ignored me.Our other friends move to a good hotel due to the noisy people cleaning the hall way,,they felt like they are on the fields playing soccer,they didnt care if guests were sleeping!and gosh,,4 days of staying there and not one sheet was replaced,we always arrived at an uncleaned room.So guys if you wanna have a nice memory of manila ,never ever get close to this hotel!All staff were unprofessional,i guess if the owner wants the business to level up,He or she must change everyone in there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michelen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I decided to sleep int this location since I am too drunk and I really need a place to stay at. I was sooooo frustrated when I arrived cuz it took a long time for me to check in since there are lots of people ont the line checking out. Then, when I got on the front desk the lady told me that the room is on a higher rate since it is friday night so the advertisement for 3 hours sleep was no longer available(so I paid 600 for just 3 hours). Inside my room, I decided to order food since I got ungry but the phone was broken. DUH!? And this is the most frustrating thing, I woke up soaking wet because of sweat bcuz the AC was not working well.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gracie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

it is my 1st hotel in manila from vancouver,canada so w/ the excitement and tiredness from my travels, I wen't through with it.then the experience just keep on pummeling down.at the entrance, had to ask the driver to help with my luggage 'coz I can't even see the guard or bell boys at the door, so I went through the lobby and ask them to help.@the front counter I did present my ID and told them I had a reservations I made a month before arrival & I have to wait for 45 min in the lobby b'coz the room is not ready yet.handling me the key saying all the problems that goes with it.room is not ready, air con is barely working,Jacuzzi's not working either, w/c is what I paid for(they should find remedy instead they wont even let me find another room that works or at least a better one).Tub is dirty, I have to call room service to clean it again, same with the toilet that has a problem flushing.paid a suite room for a regular room,they won't even give us a complementary drinks or a bottled water,feels like I'm just throwing money down the drain.A motel faking themselves as a hotel.perfect for quickies if you get a rent boys from outside.food is not even that good and expensive than fast food near the place. thought of coming back but booked myself on other hotels after early checkout.Only thing,I still got my laptop power cord back from them after few days, so that's worth commending. but isn't honesty is what we supposed to lived for?thanks and heads up.

Room Tip: regardless which room you choose?its still noisy...you can here the train outside even the jeepneys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's quite practical and fast check in, reception just asked you what you need and how many hours then they give you the card key. Upon entering the room, everything is prepared, AC on, room is clean and its like the walls are acoustic walls, it's very quiet inside. Cable tv available, likewise the "dinnette", Restroom is okay with hot shower and with a side table with hair blower, just what I needed. They even have menu, if you want to order food and other amenities. The food was also okay nothing special though. The staff are cool and fast service is their motto. Location of the hotel is convenient.

Room Tip: the higher floors the more quiet it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ayan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was put up in this hotel at the recommendation of a so-called friend. Despite my surprise at being able to rent a room by the hour I set aside my reservations and booked a room for the night. Arriving back at 1am I was surprised to find 40 couples in the lobby and many more queuing outside to avail of the services of the hotel.

While my room was clean and free of insect companions the Walls are very thin. In consequence I was kept up all night. First by the screams of pleasure of my fellow guests and then by their snores. When I finlly managed to sleep I was awakened at 6am by the morning chorus of couples in coital bliss once more. I swiftly decamped to EDSA which was quieter and somewhere less seedy.

Thankfully the rooms were sterilised. The only hotel I have ever stayed in where pornography is the default station on the TV.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank himselfetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mimicorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makati
2.3 mi away
Eurotel Makati Hotel
Eurotel Makati Hotel
#76 of 86 in Makati
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#25 of 86 in Makati
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Go Hotels Mandaluyong
Go Hotels Mandaluyong
#4 of 7 in Mandaluyong
304 reviews
1 mi away
Citadel Inn Makati
Citadel Inn Makati
#75 of 86 in Makati
513 reviews
2.6 mi away
24H City Hotel
24H City Hotel
#55 of 86 in Makati
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe

Address: 2195 EDSA, Guadalupe Nuevo, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Makati
Price Range: $23 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sogo - EDSA, Guadalupe Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing