We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One time is not enough”
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
Ranked #25 of 1,400 Restaurants in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For exceptional Cantonese cuisine, gastronomes head to Shang Palace. Glittering crystal chandeliers and intricate wooden latticework on the walls create a magical ambience that is unique to this restaurant. With eleven private dining rooms, a spacious main dining area and intimate booths, Shang Palace offers diners myriad reasons to enjoy authentic Chinese fare. Lunch at Shang Palace also offers a popular Dim Sum Plus menu featuring unlimited dim sum and soup, appetizer, choice of one main course and dessert.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One time is not enough”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We eat here every time we are celebrating somebody's birthday. Why? Because everything is simply delicious. But we always get some favorites like the Deep Fried Prawns with Orange Sauce (I can never get enough of these), Crab with Sotanghon & Fish Lip Soup (the best!). Really, it's a place that you will always come back to because the food is just that good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Au C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    41
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Chinese craving”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had to go to Shang Palace in beautiful Makati Shangrila to satisfy a craving for Chinese food.

A friend of ours was celebrating his birthday and he treated us to lunch in a private room at Shang Palace. We started with some dimsum to tickle our tummies with the delicious feast ahead. Simply superb shrimp and pork siomai and some chicken feet with taosi . For some authentic touch, piped in Chinese music in the background complemented the heavy meal. The roast duck was succulent, and which you can skin and enjoy in more ways than one. We had prawns and fish fillet and of course crispy long life noodles for the birthday celebrant.

A truly delicious lunch at Shang Palace to satisfy our craving for authentic Chinese cuisine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“2 lunch visits = 2 very different experiences”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Shang Palace is the chinese restaurant of the 5* Shangri-la hotel in Makati, Manila. So, being a very well-known and iconic hotel in the business district of Manila you arrive with a certain level of expectation of the food, environment and the service.

On both occasions we have visited for lunch, we chose the Dim Sum Plus menu, which gives us lots of choice from some delicious dim sum and appetisers and main courses and desert. It's a meal which always leaves you feeling very full!

The first time we visited it was a week day and we sat in one of the lovely booth tables (worth specifying when you book) which are located down the side of the restaurant. The second time it was the day before Good Friday. The 2 experiences couldn't have been more contrasting.

The only common denominator was the food, which on both occasions was very good, not quite up to the standard of say The Peninsular Hotel in Hong Kong, but a close runner. The main difference was the service which was efficient and friendly on our first visit and friendly yet bordering on chaotic on our 2nd.

All the dim sum dishes were very good, the sweet and sour pork was one of the best I've ever tasted (complete with toasted walnuts and sesame seeds - delicious). Just the really terrible service on our 2nd visit.

Our 2nd visit took just over 3 hours to complete our meal, which is simply ridiculous. The restaurant was busy, not 100% full. The waiters just seemed lost, dis-coordinated and not working to their maximum efficiency, literally tripping over each-other!

Just trying to get their attention meant that we had to interrupt our conversation for long periods of time - just to be served. Dishes were ordered, then forgotten or misplaced and had to be re-ordered. The fried rice, when failed to arrive and then re-odered - arrived cold (WHY?!). Tables were't cleared after guests had departed, our 2 neighbours were on 2 tables for up to 8 people - 30 minutes after they had gone their table was still looking like a bomb had exploded on it - dishes and drinks everywhere. We were offered the desert menu and our plates and dishes were left for over 10 minutes with no sign of anyone intending to clear them, I had to specifically ask a waiter to remove them - basic stuff here, not rocket science!

As we left, almost all the tables in the restaurant were yet to be cleared - shockingly bad for any location let alone a 5* hotel restaurant. I don't think I'm being unreasonable when dining in a 5* hotel to expect the service experience to be efficient, friendly and well co-ordinated.

We spoke to the manager, who seems to be in total denial that there is a problem with his team, opting to just repeating 'how very sorry he was'.

Our tip here is to visit when they are quiet, as our first dining experience was very different. That time there were only 10-15 other diners in the place. Service was good.

For the management team of the Shang Palace, you need to ensure a service quality which matches the food you serve and the prices you charge - or you will lose customers who simply won't tolerate such poor service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food! Expect for it to be pricey!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a dinner with our clients here at Shang Palace just this week.

Woah! I enjoyed the variety of food that my big boss ordered for us! Even if I am allergic to seafoods and chicken, I didnt let the chance just pass by w/o me eating these great meals! Not to miss, I love the mango sago (tapioca)!!!

Be back soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louieboytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum but not Excellent”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The ambiance is nicer than most Chinese Restaurants and elegant...of course this is what you would expect at a Shangrila Hotel. The dim sum is reasonably priced and good to very good but not Excellent. The small lechon (pig)was good but also not excellent and not particularly flavorful.

We had requested a booth so that we could have a more comfortable and quiet discussion. Unfortunately, a family with two youngish children came in and sat at a table nearby. The two children were noisy and playing in the aisles, beating their chop sticks on the table and floor. We asked to be moved, which luckily at the time there was a booth further back.

When we mentioned the children, the waiter said: "There is nothing that we can do." This is where better training of staff is needed, and as mentioned in another post for a different restaurant in the Shangrila Makati, the service really could stand to be improved. There would be nothing wrong from our perspective is the staff had asked the parents to request that the children be a bit quieter and show some decorum, as reflective of the ambiance of the restaurant. To just let people do what ever they want seems to asking a bit much.

It is a restaurant that we do frequent but the food and service can still be upgraded some. For hotel food it is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing