We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I found better for cheaper” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Giles Hotel
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I found better for cheaper”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was nice, the showers worked well. I don't like the street that this hotel is on because there is a lot of traffic and vicinity to the night district. I found better for cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you have highlighted one of the hotel’s strength which is value for money. As for the traffic, it is unavoidable since the hotel is located at one of Makati’s busiest road. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Giles Makati.

Yours sincerely,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    173
    103
    30
    18
See reviews for
41
81
61
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

had an overnight stay here last year since the first hotel we stayed in was fully booked. i find it nice, though the parking lot was not that spacious. second the card pass used for the elevator and the hotel room wasnt working so we had to wait for like 15 mins to have it replaced. i think those are the only 2 negative things i can say. other than that, i find the hotel to be average, nice location, perfect for business trips. nice gym and pool on the rooftop and spacious conference room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vethesun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you when your keycard did not activate the card floor access reader in our lift. I have raised this issue with our Chief Engineer and he had already rectified it. Due to the small footprint of the hotel, our parking is a bit narrow. We do however have valets and you will find them more than happy to park and retrieve your car for you.

Thank you and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm regards,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in St.Giles for 4 Nights. As my office is in Market Market Mall, My Company offered booked St. Giles for me. Though I checked out others as well, this one seemed the value for money.The service is good,Specially I asked Carlos to show me some near by store and he personally went with me.Grace was the one who told me a lot of things to do in Makati and best part was when they offered to swipe my Card when I was running out of cash to save me a bad exchange rate as well.
The view from 35th floor is awesome and the pool and gymnasium are like an spice to the dish.Just one thing that I would not recommend this for family as it is very near to P.Burgos street.

A very good and attentive staff who knows how to be efficient.Enjoy the stay.If their would be Microwave in the room, that wood be great....

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the floors above 15th to have a great view of the city.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashantGupta220688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experiences on your stay with us. I appreciate the kind comments you have made and for singling out Grace and Karlo for commendation.

Once again we thank you for your time and look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on the way back from Boracay.

Pros - decent air con, big relatively comfy bed, quick check out, nice pool.

Cons - room service food was terrible, I told the waiter that my burger was undercooked when he came to collect the plates and I heard nothing else about it so we didn't get room service again. The sheets had blue stains on them, the shower flooded the bathroom even though I tried as hard as I could to avoid it from happening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us after your visit to Boracay. I appreciate the compliments you have given on our pool, room and check out process. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you have encountered in relation to the burger you ordered. I raised this feedback with my Sous Chef and his team and they will ensure this incident will not recur. As for the clogged shower stall as well as the bed sheet, our Executive Housekeeper had the drainage unclogged and the stained bed sheet removed from our inventory. I hope these incidents will not mar you from staying with us in future.

Once again we thank your time and look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm regards,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makati hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
431 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The room is adequate, but was starting to show signs of a lot of use. The desk is not good enough to work at, with a chair so low that when sat down my chin was almost on the table. The internet was good most of the time, but did have the occasional freeze. I stayed for 2 weeks and by the end of it it was wishing I had paid a little more closer to the green belt. The water in the morning alternated from freezing to scorching, so I had to play the warm water shuffle to wash as the water passed from one phase to another. the bed was comfortable and the nice large TV well placed. I got a room on the higher floors with what can only be described as a fantastic view of Makati. The swimming pool is great for relaxing in, but no good for lap swimmers. The view from the pool area (35th floor) is just brilliant, and all the glass around the Gym meant you hardly needed a TV to watch. Just peddal away and watch the city, the Gym equipment is a bit lacking though. The breakfast was very mediocre, and staying there 2 weeks I started to go out for breakfast even though I had paid for it in the hotel as part of the package. The hotel was busy on the last few days, and the breakfast room could not cope with the whole hotel coming down to eat in the same 2 hour time slot. One day I sat at the bar, and another I sat on a table with 2 other people I didn't know, and I don't think they knew each other either.
On the good side, you have a cheaper end hotel that is only a 60-70 Peso taxi from the Greenbelt, so you can save your money on the hotel bill and treat yourself, to a taxi to the greenbelt, and a nice meal.
This is the seedy side of town, so there is plenty of bars and female company just outside the hotel, for those that are looking for that sort of thing.

Tips to travellers
For those that want to have a reasonable hotel at a cheep price close to the downtown action, then this will probably fit the bill.
See if you can get the higher floors 28 and up with rooms xx15 to xx19, or xx01,xx02 for the good views of Makati, but rooms the other side also have a good view.
Room xx20 is the back of the lifts.
Don't book the breakfast, you can go there a few times, but there is plenty of cheap eats just outside the hotel.
Lots of cheeper fast food type places to eat around the hotel, and lots of bars. For better dining, you are a very short taxi ride to Greenbelt.
Plenty of ATMs are close to hotel, but don't always work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_n_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you by the chair in your room and I will look into having this resolved. As for breakfast, we do make changes to the items offered and we will continue to make changes along to meet the needs of our guests.

Apart from these two setbacks, we thank you for the many compliments you have showered on us and for allowing readers to know that St Giles Hotel Makati offers good value and good location.

Kind regards,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

St Giles is a newer Hotel next door to City Gardens Hotel on Makati Avenue. The rooms are clean and basic with all a business traveller needs (Wifi etc).

Breakfast is average but on the better side of average. Service at breakfast is friendly and attentive and you can sit outside overlooking the busy Avenue.

On the negative...while the gym may have the very best city views in Makati it is so poorly equipt that I paid to use the City Gardens Hotel next door...which in turn has led me not to chose this hotel on 3 subsequent visits. It may seem a small thing to Hotel management but Hotel fitness centers are very important to business people who spend a lot of their time on the road.

Overall. A good hotel. Good staff...well trained and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JavaJiveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us apart from a setback in the lack of equipments in the gym. We are looking at how we can place in another equipment or two in addition to the ones we have now.

Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have stayed here several times now as it is very convenient for me when I visit Manila
the reception staff are wonderful and helpful, Bellboy, doorman and other staff hanging around at the lobby greet me all the time, I can not say enough of their service and attentive natures.
The room wasn’t too big but enough for 2 people, beds are comfortable I always asked the room above 20th floor to avoid the street noise.

Room Tip: Don't get the room near at the elevator it can be noisy sometimes from people coming in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Are D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage and for taking time to write about your stay experiences with us. If you would like a bigger room and be away from the noise coming from the traffic you may wish to opt for a Deluxe room for your future stays.

I look forward to welcoming you back to St Giles Hotel Makati.

Best regards,
Derrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.0 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
0.0 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#11 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#33 of 80 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#15 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#22 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles Hotel
Address: Makati Avenue, Kalayaan Avenue Corner, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the central district of Makati City, along Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, close to Rockwell Shopping Centre, 12 km or 30 minutes by car from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. 512 contemporary designed guestrooms with broadband internet access, private bath with shower, electronic safe, LCD TV with over 60 cable channels, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing