We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Central, and with Character”
Review of Our Melting Pot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Melting Pot
Ranked #3 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
The Road
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Central, and with Character”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I chose OMP based on its high rating as well as the lack of options in Manila. I am very happy I selected OMP over the slightly cheaper options (that had much lower ratings) because it was one of the nicest hostels I stayed in over the past 3 months in SE Asia. Though it would be near to impossible to find on your own off of the street, the guesthouse has easy and clear directions posted on their website. It is tucked away on the fourth floor of a nondescript building without any signage outside (they're working on it! - which is another story the staff can explain to you). But once you locate, it is a comfortable place to hang out and sleep, with clean bathrooms, dorms, and common areas, is centrally located in the bustling business/social district of Makati, and has great character. The staff are wonderful, helpful, and effuse positive vibes. Though the hostel is more expensive than the rest of SE Asia ($15 for a dorm), you do get more than an average hostel here. I think this is also partly due to the lack of options/choices in Manila (and the Philippines). It is just a path less traveled than say Thailand, Cambodia, etc. Also, a small breakfast is included every morning (toast, jam/jelly, oatmeal, cereal, instant coffee, tea, juice, banana).

Be warned:
The surrounding bars/nightclubs/restaurants play their music quite loud which can be heard inside the hostel. Although it did not affect my rest, light sleepers may find it to be problematic (maybe go for a private room on the interior of the hostel?).

Added bonus:
The hostel offers a free tour of Old Manila throughout the week. I'm not very fond of group tours, but I went anyway in order to see other parts of Manila and I was not disappointed. Grace was a great guide and takes pride in showing off her city. Also, throughout the week, she (and other staff) will arrange different social functions. A nice added touch and take it or leave it, no worries, approach.

Reggae Sunday:
Ask about this event that happens every Sunday evening night a short jeepney ride away. Live reggae bands, drinks, and a big crowd of locals gathering in a warehouse-like building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesonyingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    84
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
38
156
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

First time to explore Makati/Ayala and I needed a cheap, safe and convenient place to stay. The reviews were positive and I thought I'd try it myself. The first time I went there, I was a bit nervous, for I know nothing about the place. I thought I was lost and had a different picture in mind, especially the aluminum gate. So I asked a by-stander and readily, he pointed me to the gate...and yes, I found it. It's on the fourth floor of the building and constructions on floors below are still on going, so I just did not mind them. Finally made it up and found a nice, cool, quite place and friendly welcome from the staff. Most people I saw there were tourist from other countries. The place was homey and clean. Though one cannot see a visible name of the place outside but when you find it, its so easy to navigate around the neighborhood. It's also accessible to jeepneys and taxi cabs, as well as grocery shop, 24/7 stores, pharmacy and restaurants. The second time I checked-in there a few months after, it was much more easy and comfy. The place is very suitable for backpackers and those budget conscious travelers. Just a note to those who are particular with comfort rooms, the place has a "common" comfort rooms but its clean and dry, maintained by the hardworking staff all the time :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank e_lai2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I just checked out OMP hostel after a 2- overnight stay.As a pinoy ,I am so proud that Makati or Ph has this kind of cheap and well-maintained place .I've only been to a few hostels around Asia and it was my first time to stay in a hostel in my own country. The location is great and the staffs are very nice.The toilets ,shower rooms and all other areas are impressively clean! The breakfast is the best I've ever had in an Asian hostel ,especially when it comes to quantity.(wink)
Also, there are a lot of good and safe places to dine around the area.Baga Manila ( food hawkers) at A.Venue (across the road)is a great place if you wanna try pinoy food.They are there on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays.

Keep it up, OMP and see you in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eden r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

best hostel i've seen so far, citytours with the staff are for free and really nice! very nice and friendly atmosphere all around:)
location is in the center of makati, good places to go out all in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrNice91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The place is great, clean and accommodating. What every traveller would need, in a quick stop apartment. You would appreciate the people working there for their helpful and trustworthy advice. I call it a place to stay and a place to meet new friends, because you can bond with other travellers and actually know a little bit about them and their adventures, and I think it's kinda cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper Aurelio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A perennial contender for best hostel in Asia, OMP is my favourite place to stay when in Manila for its value and service…

The rooms are ultra clean and comfortable… so too are the showers – I stayed at both the private and dormitory rooms. There is a rooftop terrace where you can stare out into Makati city. Wifi is fast and there are common computers to use. Breakfast is included (consisting of breat/toast, juice, cereal, or instant noodles). Security is excellent – 24-hour security guarding the entrance… and the staff are always there to assist. Lots of money exchange around the corner at very competitive rates.

The part that makes OMP a fun hostel is the different types of travellers who come to the Philippines for the same reason… to have a good time and explore the country and its myriad of islands. Share some of your stories and experiences and there will be some good travel suggestions and advice in exchange from the staff at OMP. The friendly and helpful staff makes the staying experience great value for money.

Location is good with plenty of restaurants, fast food, bars and clubs within walking distance on the busy Makati Avenue. Greenbelt mall is also a short taxi or jeepnyes ride from OMP… where there’s a cinema and great bars/cafes and restaurants about, albeit a bit more pricier than the local eateries. A trip to the world’s largest shopping malls – Malls of Asia (MOA) – would be remiss if in Manila. Alternatively head over to SM North or to Greenhills for bargain and souvenir shopping. An airport taxi ride to OMP is approximately 300-400PHP metered.
The only negative is that getting there can be difficult at first with a lack of signs and indications on the street. However, if you can contact the staff of your arrival they can greet you downstairs (even in the pouring rain)…

My next adventure into the Manila, Philippines will be at OMP!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevanlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our Melting Pot Hostel (OMP) is one of the best hostel in the Philippines and Asia. I stayed here 6 days and I felt comfortable. Nice place, nice staffs(specially Grace), clean room and bed, everything is nice. If I visit to Manila again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juchan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#21 of 82 in Makati
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 82 in Makati
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Z Hostel
Z Hostel
#1 of 59 in Makati
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
#11 of 59 in Makati
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Melting Pot

Property: Our Melting Pot
Address: 7844 Makati Avenue corner Guerrero Street | 4/F Mavenue Building, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traveling to the Philippines on a budget in an area where everything seems upscale and expensive as you stay in Our Melting Pot. Our place consists of several private rooms and dorm-type accommodation to suit your budget and need. It is new, modern, peaceful and well-managed and is a relatively manageable distance from the major city attractions and the important places to visit in the greater Manila area. We are at the heart of Makati, the entertainment and financial capital of the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Our Melting Pot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Melting Pot Hotel Makati
Our Melting Pot Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing