We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“IMHO there's only 1 way to eat curry.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howzat Inn

Howzat Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howzat Inn
Save
You added Howzat Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #74 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“IMHO there's only 1 way to eat curry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile


There's only 1 way to eat traditional western curry, that's with a group of friends! Reason: if there's 6 of you can order up to 6 different dishes and have a bit of everything that's on offer. Well I've found a curry heaven. The wife and I are sitting here right now. Jut the 2 of us and we have many varieties of curry on our plate because its a buffet. Probably the best value you could ever hope for at 425 peso for all you can eat and all you can drink local beers from 1200-1500 every Friday and Saturday. I won't bore with the details on the curry accept to say I you like the stuff served up in British, Australian, NZ etc, ie western curry then your going to like this too much.

Well back to the drinking and the All Blacks taking on Australia in an hours time. I'll be able to watch the game of 1 of the 10 tv's around the room!

Highly recommend this establishment to all in sundry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Antoine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
6
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Its reasonably priced, the rooms were old students quarters re-furbished I think smallish rooms, the room was clean tidy the shower water was hot thanks to the zip heater on the wall, aircon good, bed linen etc very good.
The downstairs bar and diner was a great place to stop after the day, good food and cold beer, its close to Makati night club strip etc.
Good restaurants can be found all around within a block or 2 and even a very good barber
I was very happy with the staff, services and amenities, its not a 5 star hotel but a very well run establishment and would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BribieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Recently stayed here for two weeks. The room is basic, cheap but comfortable. The only complaint I had was the noise of the traffic starting at 6am, but not a lot the hotel can do about that. My room was on the 1st floor and road side, possibly the inner rooms would have been quieter. The bathroom is small but an electric shower supplies enough hot water and sufficient pressure to have a good wash. The room is equipped with a microwave, kettle and fridge. With a decent mini bar also. Downstairs and around the corner (less than a minute walking) is the Howzatt bar. Mostly populated by expats, a must place for any sports enthusiast. The staff are all local girls, all with a smile and very helpful, also very apologetic when your choice from the menu is not available. The menu is varied including dishes from around the world and pricing to suit the pocket. Had one meal at Hard Rock Cafe (10 minutes away by taxi) while I was here, the food at Howzatt far surpassed the HRC.

Only suggestion to improve things would be to provide breakfast, although this is possible on Saturday and Sunday when the bar is open 24hrs.

Yes I will stay here again probably in the coming weeks.

Room Tip: Try and get one off the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank industrial-gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

a good and fairly reasonable place to stay clean and tidy
nicely stocked minibar
plenty of tv chanels
and a great bar attached with loads of local food like welsh lamb shanks
and a chip butty if your peckish
would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed at Howzat Inn twice. I booked two rooms online and brought my friend straight from the airport.Although I had reserved two standard rooms at P1350,only one was available and the other was a larger room on the ground floor at P1600. Linda graciously reduced the price to the original rate. I felt the aircon could have been a little cooler,there again it was the hottest day of the year in Manila at 36.7c but it wasn't really a major issue

Room Tip: The ground floor room is large with two double sized beds,ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trencherman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

room not cleaned properly,,if you like snow you will love the tv channels here,,you never get a receipt when you pay,supervisor in main bar is extremely rude,,girl who takes your booking in accomodation part is absolutely useless and a liar..she told me a guy from the upstairs boxing gym owns the place when i went to complain,,some foreign guy owns it and he should train the staff better...durban hotel 100 times better!!!

Room Tip: book durban hotel,,they have smiling staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makati hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a decent place at very good value. It;'s not pretentious, but clean, simple, comfortable and as stated, it won't burn a hole through your wallet. There is a well stocked mini bar fridge and the aircon works a treat, although it took me two nights of sweating before I realised I hadn't turned it on correctly!
I have to say that the manager, Jonathon, offers exceptional value for money, in this hotel, and in the Howzat bar where food is good, atmosphere is very welcoming and prices are again very reasonable, as well as in the girlie bar with two great pool tables at the start of P Burgos (can't remember its name).
Compared to other hotels and bars in the area (I've stayed in 5 others!), this one wins hands down.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.2 mi away
Citadel Inn Makati
Citadel Inn Makati
#72 of 80 in Makati
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franchise One Hotel
Franchise One Hotel
#58 of 80 in Makati
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.7 mi away
24h Apartment Hotel
24h Apartment Hotel
#51 of 80 in Makati
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Makati International Inn
Makati International Inn
#71 of 80 in Makati
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isabelle Royale Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#21 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howzat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howzat Inn

Property: Howzat Inn
Address: 8471 Kalayaan Av | Corner Fermina St, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Howzat Hotel Makati
Howzat Inn Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing