We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still great for the 2nd time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artina Suites Hotel
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“still great for the 2nd time”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My second stay at artina was as great as the first one. Same procedure, same smiling faces upon check-in till check-out. But i noticed that waiting time during breakfast lessen. I love thier cornbeef and thats what i ordered for 2 mornings at breakfast. The premiere room is so spacious it could accomodate a family. Hope we could stay again on our future visit in Manila.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    140
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
54
94
52
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hoi an
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Artina Suites are close in proximity to new,evolving developments including Century Mall.The hotel has wonderful,happy,efficient staff who are responsive and attentive.The rooms are very clean and comfy.Breakfast was good....nothing flash but adequate.We had a really comfortable overnight experience and recommend this hotel for a short stay.I feel Artina Suites offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kawanakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked through Agoda and got the rate at $46USD/night including breakfast. At that rate, my wife and I thought it's quite a great value.

First and foremost, we thought the staff is courteous and provided excellent service. And it is true through out from front desk, to breakfast restaurant staff, housekeeping, and security. Everyone is pleasant, wears smiles on their faces, and helpful. I don't know what some reviewers expect, but we thought these staff are just as good as the ones in St Regis in Rome, Italy where we paid $400USD/night, if not better.

We had to travel to Palawan and didn't want to bring all the luggages but we aren't coming back to Artina. Yet they agreed to let us store our luggages for free without hesitation. This hotel is not exactly off the main street so taxis don't come in often. The security would have to go to the street and get a cab for us in the heat and they all did it with smiles. And if you know cab drivers in Manila, you know how hard it is to get cabs and sometimes it takes more than one try. But the securities still do it with smiles. We booked Tune Hotel for a night in Manila after coming back from Palawan, we regretted that decision and thought we should have just come back to Artina. They also provided drinking water (filtered, not bottled) upon request.

Free breakfast is great and they offer quite a few Filipino choices. Servers are great especially when they expect nothing. It is made to order, not buffet. And it starts at 6am or 6:30am so still early enough for early risers.

Rooms are decent. Spacious. Bedding is average. AC worked fine for us. Nothing less that what I expected. There are a couple of small things that were damaged or missing but nothing that bothered us. Like a fridge cabinet door didn't close when we checked in. We didn't point it out because it wasn't a big deal. But next day they fixed it "temporarily". Wasn't perfect but it kept the door closed and we were still able to use it. We also had to switch room because we had 2 separate bookings (we were gone for a night). We did notice the room on the side of the street (E. Zobel) is more noisy because of jeepnies that run through it all day.

The not so good.. Hotel is within walking distance to restaurants and business located on Makati Ave. (Hooters,Three Sixty Ave Mall, etc.) It is on a backstreet, though, and there are always locals in the neighborhood hanging out so one might be intimidated. And you have to pass them to get to Makati. Or you take the heavier traffic JP Rizal Ave to Makati Ave. Traffic in that section of Makati Ave also seems to be the worst before you can get to the better part of Makati Ave. Getting a cab is a pain. It may be worth it for some to stay closer to Makati Ave and Ayala Ave.

Another small complaint, we couldn't get an ironing board in good shape. What we had was usable, but could be better.

In summary, we believe we got great values for the rate. Staff and service is excellent. Free breakfast is great and convenient. The only downside is the location. Rooms on the street side can be noisy.

On a personal note, I like the welcome drink. Wife didn't, but not something one should put the hotel down for just because he/she didn't like the taste of the free welcome drink that was given promptly upon arrival...

Room Tip: If you mind street noise, stay away from the side that faces "E. Zobel street".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gt6707a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The room that they gave me did not match the pictures shown in here. It was very old and dirty.

It has 4 rooms, the living room, a weird stock room, bathroom and bedroom. They should not sell this crappy room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph Ricardo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Lobby is nice... but I won't sleep there though.

I don't know where to start my unwise overnight stay at this hotel.

Welcome drink. I simply don't like the flavor (and full of sugar at the bottom).

The room (2/F Room No.4) looks like an old condominium. As I enter the room, I saw this dirty switch board (as in dirty, please see photo). Though quite spacious, its not worth what I paid for. The cabinet is begging for a re-paint. Lots of stains. The floor tiles, clean enough but not for a hotel standard (even for a boutique hotel standard).

Bed. Quite comfy but the mattress is quite old, not as white as I expected. And worse, some parts smells odd.

Comfort Room. Looks clean at first. I inspected the fixtures one by one, until I open the toilet bowl.. and tadahhh.. it has dark water stains!!! Ewww! and it doesn't flush that strong. Toilet amenities looks cheap. And please change the busted knob. Its quality and appearance is not for hotel standards.

Breakfast. Its per plate, not buffet, but their food tastes good.

Lastly, I called up the frontdesk at 11:40AM to request if I could extend until 1PM. Someone picked up the phone, and I said Good Morning and here is the girl suddenly speak and started as if reading a script as if she doesn't want to be interrupted as she reads along. As I remember what she said: "This is to inform you that your check-out time is 12 noon........" and I told her are you done? and she replied "yes sir", I replied "Oh I thought I'm talking to an answering machine." (customer service 101 please)

Anyway, I told her my request of extension, and she asked another girl (maybe her supervisor)... and I clearly heard in Filipino "ay hindi pwede!" in english ("Oh its not possible") in a not nice way. And she grabbed the phone and explained to me. By the way, I took a picture of her for your reference.

Lastly, as I checked-out, no courtesy and a simple Thank you from this supervisor. (Say Hi Ms. Supervisor with your tiger look and not so friendly presence at the front desk)

OVERALL: Its a poor serviced boutique hotel. Too much regret for the 2,200 pesos stay at this hotel. An example of cheap price and cheap hotel.

P.S. And who hates cockroach? They have it in your room! You decide to stay or not.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terracotta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had a last minute online reservation, got the room rate of 2k pesos. Apparently there is no more deluxe room available but on the fourth floor room number 28. I've been in that room before and the air-conditioning unit sucks the last time. Well it still sucks when I arrived in the room. It only cools the one part of the bed, no swing motion. I hope they'll do something about it.

I think they usually give that room to the last minute online bookings. Hmmm.

Also, that night - the girl in the reception is sleeping - I know it's already in the wee hours in the morning but I kind of needed her help. :)

Overall the hotel is decent and clean.

Room Tip: Do not get the room in the 4th floor room number 28 adjacent to the elevator because the air-conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooopppsssydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is clean and the furnitures go together. AC and shower are working properly. Spacious room. Nice breakfast. Wifi can't reach the rooms. Mini bar is empty. All in all our stay was comfortable and we got more than what we paid for.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhayasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
1.8 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#33 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#19 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#22 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#35 of 82 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.1 mi away
AurumOne Makati
AurumOne Makati
#29 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artina Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artina Suites Hotel

Property: Artina Suites Hotel
Address: 2863 E. Zobel Street | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artina Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ive in the Heart of the City ​At Artina Suites Hotel in Makati City, Philippines, step out the door and you'll be at the middle of it all-business, fun, relaxation. Everything you want and need is right at your fingertips, from affordable accommodations and services that go beyond the standard to a prime location that makes any pursuit convenient. The 6-story, 40-room boutique hotel welcomes you to their contemporary refuge in cosmopolitan Makati. In the heart of the city, Artina Suites is close to financial and retail hubs, recreational and corporate centers, as well as the airport. For people on the go or for those looking to stay in the city longer, our hotel is the perfect option. Our guestrooms present a cozy retreat, with minimalist decor, calming color scheme, and sumptuous beds, perfect for those who value a good night's rest. Moreover, every stay affords you a delicious, free breakfast at Artina Gallery Cafe, where several creations from local artists are displayed. Choose to stay with us and you'll discover a wealth of ease, comfort, and fun everywhere you turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Artina Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artina Suites Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing