We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”
Review of The Clipper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clipper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spend 2 nights at this hotel and enjoyer our stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are good an the bahtrooms are nice. The staff is helpful and the location is good, close to everything in Makati. Shopping malls and restaurants are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
19
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is located very near to the clubbing and food district. Although tucked in a hidden corner, most f&b are within walking distance.

The rooms are very very clean and smells good. I stayed in room 205 and the room on actually quite spacious and comfortable.

No lift, but not too much walking neither cos its only 3 storeys high. Unfortunately not close to mrt.

For the price they are charging, it exceeded my expectation! Great one!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsonKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in The Clipper Hotel for two days in early July. I usually stay at Saint Giles Hotel or City Gardens Hotel when in Makati, but decided to try The Clipper Hotel. I was quite happy with my choice. The hotel is clean, well managed, and although an easy walking distance to the nighclubs and bars, I experienced no discomfort from any noise. The hotel provides good value for money, good wifi connection, comfortable bed, hot water, efficient airconditioner, in room safe, good menu choice for meals and snacks. I would recommend The Clipper Hotel to anyone considering staying in this section of Makati.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean, the location central, the price-quality-ration absolutely fabulous. The only thing one may find to critizise is the fact that it is not a suitable hotel for a person who's looking for quiet (it is noisy at night due to vivid night life next to the hotel) and the breakfast could be more generous.
Anyways, I spend a good time at this hotel, especially thanks to the amazing staff. I'd like to personally thank Mr Juan Ignacio L. Ramos and his entire team for making my stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

By the way I'm always stay here every month for one to two nights . But I had very bad experience I. Bed have some bugs but now is ok I like this hotel beacuse no smoking I don't like smoke from car especially cigarettes . Nice and clean cleanliness very important and good staff..!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry5brosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked the most standard room. It comes without the fridge or drinking water and others. Simple. However, the room is sizeable and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Security is good. Location is slightly away from the main bars but nested in a quite corner within walking distance to most bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShingTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I wish I would have stayed here initially. The hotel doesn't have any negative elements that I can think of but if I can think of one by the end of this review Ill be surprised.
The room was approximately $40 and the room was huge--enough room to put a couch and coffee table. It was very clean and I believe the color of the room was white which presents a cleaner appearance.

When I had a masseuse come over they made sure to call my room before allowing her to leave to ensure nothing was stolen or I was in any kind of trouble.
The location of the hotel is in the red light district but to me that just means plenty of bars and restaurants. If you want to get out of the red light district then Global City is a short drive away.

When I checked out the owner was there and showed an interest in my review of his hotel. The thing that left a good impression was the owner's regard for the cut I had on my leg that needed to be treated. I just wanted to get to the airport to catch my flight, which was none of his concern, but he insisted in helping me treat it as best I can and offering me water while holding my taxi. This exemplifies great service and a great hotel.

Sorry I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studentoflife82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#21 of 82 in Makati
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#30 of 82 in Makati
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
0.4 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 82 in Makati
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clipper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clipper Hotel

Property: The Clipper Hotel
Address: 5766 Kalayaan Ave | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clipper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a residential street between the nightlife of Burgos St. and Restaurants row of Polaris and Jupiter Streets. Rockwell center is a mere 7 minute walk and the CBD is only a few minutes away by cab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Clipper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clipper Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing