We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Hossein ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilak by Hossein

Gilak by Hossein
Ranked #467 of 1,351 Restaurants in Makati
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
229 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality Hossein ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Hossein a few times before (I think there are 3 outlets in Makati and Serendra), and each time I get hummus (garbanzos purée) as appetizer. This time, we switched to moutabal (mainly eggplant) served with hot pita bread. We loved it. Too bad, there was no roti chanai (light bread with slight sweet taste) available to pair it with.

For the main, we took Mix Kebab II (beef kebab, chicken kebab and shish kebab) and plain biryani (yellow long grain rice with spices and raisins). Serving size is too much for 2 people. Taste though is rich and satisfying especially when dipped in garlic sauce (be careful with the chili sauce which can be super hot). Try this meal with San Mig Light or a soda.

Helpful?
Thank MaxManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    41
    24
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
572 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very Good Persian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

When I sat down and read the menu, I was surprised that the choices included Indian, Middle Eastern and Asian dishes.

I decided on a chelou (Persian rice and kabob) which I enjoyed very much.

I recommend this restaurant if you are in the Makati area. It is just across the street from the New World Hotel.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This was my 1st time visiting a Middle East restaurant, so without a point to compare I believe the food was very good. They were considerably slow to bring the dishes we ordered (We even had the time to step out and smoke) so I'm not sure if they brought some salads as a courtesy because of that.

Helpful?
Thank claudio_albarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mid-Eastern food haven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Twice I've been here... and twice I enjoyed the food and the ambience tremendously, once during lunch & another time during dinner. Service was very good with attentive, pleasing & veteran servers. I enjoyed their Hossein Signature Soup very much wherein I ordered it on both visits, THUMBS UP to the chef! We asked them to hold off the spice of their Lamb Raan curry & it was perfect... spicy herby enough but not too spicy. We did enjoy dipping our roti on that one! Their Vegetable Samosa was alright but I ravished their Tikka Masala & Lamb with Biryani and thought of it as heavenly to my mouth. Of course I'm thinking of going back again given the chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAndrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of my favourite spots in Greenbelt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Gilak Kebab is a restaurant I return to each time I am in Makati. Pleasant staff and very nice food. Good flavours, good portions and nice presentation. Overall a pleasant restaurant conveniently located on the 2nd floor. I generally go there with colleagues from Europe, US and Asia and all the group find something they like on the menu. Reasonable prices. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LimerickguyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilak by Hossein also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Gilak by Hossein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing