We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique alternative to the big hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celeste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Celeste
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Boutique alternative to the big hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I tried this hotel as an alternative to the big Makati hotels, all of which I have tried before. Since I never have much time in these hotels to enjoy the comprehensive facilities, I wanted to try a boutique hotel instead.

There are some big plus points to this place, as well as some minus ones. Firstly, on the plus side, the location is great, being just a few minutes stroll to Greenbelt and nicely positioned for the Makati business district. It is also cheaper than the large hotels for equivalent room sizes/types. Rooms are comfortable and a good size. Service is efficient and very friendly.

On the negative side, there are virtually no facilities. There is a restaurant downstairs, which I didn't try, but I think it is OK. Otherwise, not much. There is no swimming pool or gym and the lobby area is quite small, with no separate bar. The rooms themselves are comprehensively equipped, although the furniture and fittings are not up to international contract furniture standards (some cupboard doors don't fit well for instance). There is a roof terrace that would make a great bar, but it is not used.

The bathroom was large and featured a separate free-standing bathtub and shower cubicle. The tub was a bit of a shock. Someone posted a picture of the bathtub in the collection above, but their pic doesn't adequately capture its shade of bright lime green!

Overall, this is a good alternative for anyone who needs to be in Makati, but doesn't need the big hotel experience. I would stay again.

Room Tip: At the back if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    107
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
101
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a quick but pleasant one night stay between flights, excellently priced, spacious and clean rooms, above average breakfast, nothing more to say really. There are better hotels in the area, but this is by far the best value for money. I would certainly not hesitate to return here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlimVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived at 7 am and guess what? Our room was already prepared! After 4 hours night flight and finding a hotel that allowed the guests to check-in and enter the room was a thing needed!

Location is terrific, near to everywhere around Makati. Breakfast was good with wide selections and taste good also.

Room is big enough but yet the bathroom is a bit small.

Wifi is good in the 2nd floor. Staff are nice. We received complimentary drinks upon check-in and massage. But for the massage, I was not satisfied since it was less than 15 minutes for foot massage.

The complimentary drinks (soft drink, beer, water) and snacks (M&M, noodle) in the room were awesome.

L'occitane bath collection was another hit from this hotel.

The coffee here is one of the best in Manila. Don't forget to try one!

Price is reasonable when you book through the hotel website.

Room Tip: room 205 was good though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travel and stay in different hotels for my job several times a month throughout SE Asia so I have a good idea of prices and what to expect or not!

I stayed at the Celeste for the first time 3 weeks ago. I was attracted by its location and reasonable price. However I wasnt too sure what to expect and was anticipating to be disapointed. ....How wrong I was !

I was pleasently suprised by the quality of the room and the comfort. The staff are extremely friendly and helped out whenever asked.

The location was even better than expected ....only 3 mins walk to the large Mall Greenbelt.

I liked it so much I've just booked another stay in June !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turgutreis, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Every member of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to everything you would want to do in downtown. The front desk staff was very helpful for restaurant and attraction suggestions and for directions. I will definitely be staying here again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 138BenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location, near shopping malls.
Friendly Hotel staff.
Service was okay, Rooms were really great, clean and comfortable. Big bathroom, nice bed and beautiful couches designs. 

A must try euro modern boutique hotel in makati :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jah_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Not Makati's cheapest hotel, but there are a lot of luxury touches, from the kingsize beds and L'Occitane toiletries to the complimentary newspapers, minibar, hairdryer, welcome drinks and complimentary foot massages that make it competitive with the much more expensive Peninsula or Shangri-La, aside from the lack of fitness centre. Staff are eager to help with umbrellas, printing boarding passes, wake-up calls or advising on taxi times. Room lighting a bit dim. Wi-fi was very good both in the rooms and in the lobby. Breakfast was not included in our $130 Agoda rate so we didn't try it; there are plenty of coffee shops in Greenbelt just across the way. Thick windows and drapes as well as the white noise from the aircon helped a lot to control Pasay Road's undeniably constant traffic noise. Rooms on the San Lorenzo side are quieter. Location is excellent for shopping, restaurants and the airport -- a 15-minute ride at ungodly hours of the morning (see: wake-up call) and no more than 30 minutes in traffic.

Room Tip: Upper floor, San Lorenzo side will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#23 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 79 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Picasso Boutique Serviced Residences
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 79 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celeste

Property: Hotel Celeste
Address: 02 San Lorenzo Drive corner A. Arnaiz Avenue | San Lorenzo Village, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#11 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Celeste 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city of Makati, discover a new stylish architectural icon where eclectic European design and invigorating settings combine contemporary comforts into the city’s latest and most sophisticated hotel. Hotel Céleste is the epitome of luxury and sophistication. Be enthralled in its 30 deluxe rooms and suites all uniquely designed to pulsate your senses with our signature service Celestial Touch that redefines every guest’s experience. Stay…and have a remarkable experience at Hotel Céleste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celeste Hotel Makati
Hotel Celeste Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing