We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascott Makati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascott Makati
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a high floor two bedroom executive suite with family & friends for a high school reunion. Two of them have reviewed the Ascott and my sentiments are with them as they write more in detail than I do! This was my second stay since 2006 when it was called the Oakwood. Internet was patchy, no drawers to put your clothes in in the master bedroom, bathroom was dangerous when you had to retrieve a towel, cockroaches in the laundry room, everywhere --- and one popped up as I was getting a glass out of the cupboard ---and that, I must say, was the last straw! We were in a high floor but it was hard to see the lovely view because the windows outside were so dirty. Ascot, I'm afraid, has dropped its stars. As the saying goes " you snooze, you lose". We moved to the Shangrila next door. I'm hoping when I come back that the Ascot will have been renovated, fumigated, re-wired, modernized. But I think my friends may have already turned the corner.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

We are truly sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. While we constantly strive to maintain the highest standards of customer satisfaction, regrettably, on this occasion, we have fallen short of our key objective. We therefore wish to extend our sincerest apologies.

We wish to take the opportunity to share to you that our property is scheduled for renovation both rooms and public areas by last quarter of 2014. Of course this is in our thrust to improve our resident comfort and experience whenever they stay with us.

We definitely hope to have the opportunity to host your future visits so that we can impart a better resident experience.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    300
    86
    35
    27
See reviews for
358
80
36
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Generally happy with our total 6 nights. The 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments were very roomy and well-equipped including washer and dryer which were very handy specially travelling with a toddler.
Service was efficient, courteous and my 2 year old son felt at home and safe there. A big shout out to Ricky, a bespectacled and pleasant chap (6/f near reception). My son, Robby, loved the balloons and trolley ride (pretty safe as it was slow and we were walking next to the trolley). Thanks to the engineering staff who was so helpful in pulling out the toy car from inside the speaker.
Thanks to all, we'll surely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa_Sydne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are delighted to hear that your son Robby loved the balloons and that you are generally happy with your recent stay with us.

We are all happy to receive positive and constructive feedback but it is very rewarding for the team to be complimented on their efforts. We will definitely share your comments with our team members particularly Ricky.

We look forward to welcome you back here in Ascott Makati soon.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed at the Ascott Makati in a studio apartment on the 8th floor for 4 days during March. The apartment was very spacious with a king size bed, a view over the pool, full kitchen, washing machine, iron and ironing board, everything I needed. The bathroom was a bit dated but perfectly functional, including a hair dryer. The mattress on the bed was very firm, which may or may not be a plus, but I thought it was ok. The wifi was excellent - fast and included in the room rate. Breakfast in the cafe on the 6th floor was good, with lots of choices including delicious tropical fruit, omelettes and eggs to order, and a choice of hot and cold options. Coffee not so great but IMO hard to find good coffee in Manila. Service was great- friendly and efficient. As other reviewers have said, the Ascott is next to a big shopping mall and not far from some great restaurants and bars in Greenbelt, which is well worth a visit in the evening. There is a great supermarket across the road, including a decent bakery and liquor shop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay here in Ascott Makati. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the facilities and happy with the service provided by our associates. We also wish to extend our appreciation for your constructive observations as this only helps us to continually evaluate and improve our services.

We hope to welcome you back on your future visits.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in Room 2122, an executive 2-bedroom, 2 bath suite for 8 days. The suite was roomy with King beds in each room, washer, dryer, living room, dining room, kitchen and maid's quarters with bathroom. Although the location is extremely convenient and central, (it is right next to Glorietta Mall and Greenbelt), management really needs to do a walk-through and start ticking off all the renovations needed before the entire place sinks into disrepair.

Unfortunately, the bathroom was moldy and old. Windows were filthy, curtains needed replacing and they really have to fumigate the rooms because there are cockroaches! There were scuff marks on the wall and the couches were getting old. What a pity, as this was my third time at the Ascott and I was looking forward to a marvelous stay.

Although the breakfast buffet still has a good variety, the quality of the food has gone downhill from our last 2 stays. It is rather expensive, and with all the other eating establishments around, I would dine out instead. Even the car service is rather expensive at 1800 Php one way to or from the airport -- good only for 3 people and 4 pieces of luggage at the most. Take a TAI taxi instead for around 500 Php or a larger taxi vehicle at 600 Php. They're a little more expensive than the other cabs but trustworthy. Just be sure to note down the driver number and license plate and make sure they see you doing that.

The hotel staff is still wonderfully courteous and helpful. Although they missed additional business when they failed to respond to my email request in January asking for an additional few days stay in late February. In hindsight, I'm glad they didn't respond because of the cockroaches. We stayed at the nearby Shangri La instead, and after having stayed there, the Shangri La is far superior. Still, I love the comfort and spaciousness of a condo-tel and sincerely hope that the Ascott will take heed and clean and renovate before my next visit…otherwise I will sadly have to take my business (and friends) elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay at a higher floor so you don't have to contend with the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsntraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your most recent stay. Our deepest apologies on your less than seamless experience for this particular requirement. Please be assured that we have highlighted your points with the concerned division heads for the necessary evaluation and corrective action. We would also like to take this opportunity to share that the property is slated for refurbishment towards the end of the year as part of our efforts to provide spacious and tastefully fitted apartments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in your urban residence, Ascott Makati.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 weeks. No problem at all! Fast elevators. Lovely supply of toiletries provided. Comfy beds and pillows. Gym had everything I used back in my gym in australia! Lovely staff!! One room had an outdated fat tv, only downside esp because my brother and I use hdmi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are glad that your stay is problem free and that our room setup and amenities are to your satisfaction. It’s comforting to know as well that our fitness center meets your health and fitness requirements.

We also appreciate your constructive observations as this helps us to continually evaluate and improve our services.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back here in Ascott Makati.
Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatif
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel apartments for one week, the location is great i liked it its near to a lot of places. Staff are so nice & friendly. The only thing that they should take more care of is the cleaning of rooms, it wasn't clean enough specially the bathrooms. Also i think they should renovate the bathrooms cause it's very old and the shower has a leak.
My room was pool view on the 18th floor. Over all i liked and i might stay there again

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alsinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to know that our location and proximity to key locations were to your satisfaction. We are glad to know as well that you appreciate the service and hospitality accorded to you by our associates.
We have immediately identified your concern as well regarding room cleanliness and functionality of equipment’s with our Executive Housekeeper to avoid the same from recurring.
We are delighted to know that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcome you back on your future visits.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killara
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I agree completely with the review of missyvolt. We also experienced both the 3 and 2 bedroom apartments. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Amenties are excellent especially the gym and pool. great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelPPrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for taking the time review and giving Ascott Makati an “Excellent” rating.

We are glad to hear compliments of our staff member, it certainly inspires us to continually provide and improve the level of service our residents have come to expect. We are glad to know as well that you enjoyed our facilities overall.

We look forward to welcome you back on your future visits.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Property: Ascott Makati
Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of cosmopolitan Manila's most luxurious serviced apartments - Ascott Makati, which is designed exclusively for international business executives and their families. Ascott Makati recently unveiled its new Suites that are even grander and more opulent featuring a contemporary look that exudes warmth and sophistication. The property meets your every need from world-class services to lavish facilities that are well-appointed, extensive and personalised, complementing the elegance and refinement of the spacious residences in an exclusive city sanctuary, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation. Strategically located within Ascott Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relish the renowned Ascott lifestyle amidst the pulsating energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing