We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, disappointing facilities”
Review of Ascott Makati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ascott Makati
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 6 nights in Ascott Makati, before heading for a 6-day sojourn to Coron, Palawan.

Ascott's official online pictures show a crisp, modern hotel. As soon as you arrive, you realize these must have been taken many years ago. The hotel needs serious re-carpetting, updating and renovation. The 2-bedroom suite is spacious and acceptably clean. But the tile grouts are literally peeling off and stained. The 6th floor lobby feels ancient and dank. Our washing machine broke down on the first load. Maintenance staff had to bring us a replacement washer at 11:30pm!

Two big pluses: Location and the service of the staff. Ascott Makati's location is a one-stop shop for good restaurants and mall shopping. You can literally not leave the area, and have enough to do to fill 6 days. Despite being in the heart of Makati, we felt very safe and secure. The hotel staff was courteous and quick to respond to needs. If anything, they made up for the almost 5-star prices of Ascott, but 2-3 star facilities. I doubt I will stay in Ascott again, unless I choose to pay more and get less. Oh and btw, their wifi connection is exasperatingly slow.

Word of caution: If you decide to stay here anyway, do not book this stay via Expedia. Online Expedia booking clearly lists free breakfast buffet pre-online purchase, then disappears from your post-buy voucher. Good luck getting it resolved by calling Expedia.

Room Tip: All we saw from our 16th floor windows were other rooftops, mostly under construction.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALuis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Ascott Makati
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 991 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel back in April of 2012, my stay this time is worse. The hotel is in need of major cleaning, upgrades, maintenance. The lobby sure looks good in pictures, on the website when in fact, the carpet is nasty and needs a major clean up! Customer service is below par as I had to ask them to fix my tv 3 x, my co worker had to ask them to kill a cockroach 3x, we had to negotiate a refund for parking up the chain due to an incompetent night clerk. The room is musty with old carpets and drapes. I am not impressed with a kitchen having no plans to cook. Toilet had to be fixed as was my co worker's. Her washing machine overflowed causing a small flood! Her bed seems worse than mine, hers actually had a hump! I value sleep especially working nights! The bed is hard and offers no support, the pillows pricks you with the feathers! The raised bathtub is a hazard! The area is filled with people and exhaust fumes from vehicles all around! The free breakfast where I used to have mango slices with rice has gotten worse so we fasted and ate once a day at work! It was helpful to have an inside path to greenbelt from next door glorietta mall. I can't say enough about the abundant hookers, I followed 2 drunken ones who was escorted by a guard. I long for clean and comfort when choosing a hotel which is not possible at this hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank blake0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used Ascott as our base during our one month Philippine vacation. The location of this serviced residence can't be beat. The space is wonderful. Your guests do not see your stuff. We were also able to leave some our luggage while we were island hopping. However, the place needs sprucing up. The age of the property is showing. The quality of the breakfast has gone down a little bit. I can say this because I have been staying at this property since 2000.
Will I go back again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Bread Talk at Glorietta is excellent for snacking!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilangilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We used the Ascott as our Makati base for a two week trip to the Philippines, checking in and out for a couple days at a time. We were traveling with family-- two couples for the first two days in a two br suite, then a family of five in a three br suite for two stinits, and in a one br suite for one stint (the 3 br suite was not available unfortunately for that time). The 3 BR apartments are a great buy, VERY spacious with 4 full baths, including the "maid's bath" plus one half bath, 3 BR plus the maid's single room, and a very nice kitchen. The small price differential between the 2 BRs and 3 BRs is a bit puzzling, especially wihenthe extra bed charge that we got for the 2 BR made the price almost equivalent to the much larger 3 BR.
But these are minor details.
This is our third time at the Ascott, and we have come back for the good service, great breakfasts, and very convenient location. We made good use of the gym, but had no time for the pool, which is quite nice. The front desk staff made the transitions in and out of the hotel painless--we left our luggage at the hotel for our side trips, and the staff handled the storage and retrieval seamlessly. Parking for our borrowed van was good and convenient, and our guests could get their parking tickets validated with no charge..
Some minor suggestions -- in some suites, the carpet and furniture could be upgraded, as they were showing signs of wear, though not seriously problemmatic We also would appreciate dressers with shelving in the MBR, which had a huge amount of hanging closets, but no shelves.
But all in all, we are very happy with the Ascott and will be back.


We will be back!!

Room Tip: One tower has smoking rooms, so ask for a non smoking room specifically.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rn123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment at the Ascott in Makati in December'12.

The apartment was great, lots of room, very clean and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geetee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Both showers backed up, visible dust bunnies on the floors, the washing machine overflowed, the dryer didn't dry, and the front desk staff was inattentive! Not my idea of a 5 star hotel! The Dusit Thani is far better!

Room Tip: Best tip - look elsewhere!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Ms Linda,

Thank you for providng us feedback on your recent stay at the Ascott Makati. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you had in your apartment. Rest assured that we take all comments seriously and make no excuses for the substandard service that you received.

We have alerted our Engineering and Housekeeping Departments to your comment and to take immediate action on any reported concerns as well as to improve preventive maintenance. We have also discussed your comments with our Guest Service Department as well for the proper training and guidance of the staff.

Once again our deepest apologies.


The Management
Ascott Makati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room: Really spacious, clean, modern. Great bathroom and kitchen in the condo. Only complaint is the bed, it was really hard and springy. Everything else was great though. Wifi restricted to only 2 people, this should really depend on the size of your rental.

Service: Check in took forever but it was the day after Christmas and they were probably short staffed. Really good service at the breakfast buffet, there was a mix up on how many people could have breakfast (2 per room, but we had a 3 bedroom condo)

Gym: Has all the machines you need, fairly clean, machines have TV's

Restaurant: Delicious breakfast buffet, especially the omelet station and congee. Good selection of hot food.

Location: good if you like the mall, you are connected to 5 malls in Makati

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 86 in Makati
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $135 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of cosmopolitan Manila's most luxurious serviced apartments - Ascott Makati, which is designed exclusively for international business executives and their families. Ascott Makati recently unveiled its new Suites that are even grander and more opulent featuring a contemporary look that exudes warmth and sophistication. The property meets your every need from world-class services to lavish facilities that are well-appointed, extensive and personalised, complementing the elegance and refinement of the spacious residences in an exclusive city sanctuary, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation. Strategically located within Ascott Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relish the renowned Ascott lifestyle amidst the pulsating energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing