We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our one night stay at the Ascott Makati”
Review of Ascott Makati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ascott Makati
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were in need for a place that can have 4 adults residing at one time. Other hotels online would set their maximum number of adults per room at 2. The Ascott was on the top of my list. I was also looking for a place near a shopping area in Makati. The location is excellent since its next to several shopping centers and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and at the hotels ground floor. The room we stayed in had 2 seperate bedrooms and 1 small bedroom. All bedrooms had their own bathrooms with shower. The view on the two main bedrooms was great. The kitchen would have been nice to use if we would have stayed longer. The dining room was elegant as well. The living room had a nice tv set up which included surround sound. We didnt have time to watch a movie together but we did listen to music. The apartment itself was spacious so it felt like home. There were also plenty of closets to store luggage in. I like it that the hotel offered free wi-fi, some places still charge for this service. The reservation also included 2 free breakfast meals at the hotel restaurant "On the 6th" which served the usual hotel buffet setup but with a modern look. The hotels common areas were also welcoming. We did get a chance to take a swim in the pool the next morning. We would highly consider going back to the Ascott the next time we are in Makati.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 22nd floor and it was great. The view looked out to the park and shopping center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeminiTaurusKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel through Travelocity to attend a family reunion. This is the first time my family will travel to the Philippines and meet my relatives. I made reservations last September because I knew December is an extremely busy month during Christmastime. My mom, who lives in thec Philippines, called the hotel directly to make sure they had my reservation. Several calls later, they informed her that they couldn't find it. Travelocity got it straightened out. When I tried to call directly (to save my mom more frustration), it took me several tries to get through. Three times, I was able to speak to a person, but got put on hold, transferred, or hung up on. Several fruitless attempts and wasted $$$ in overseas calls later, I contacted Travelocity to book me into the Marriott. I've stayed there before and am a rewards member. I thought I would try something new. Unfortunately, the Ascot has sufficiently convinced me never to do that again, especially when planning a trip overseas.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Leah0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the issues you encountered during the reservation process. While you did make the booking with Travelocity, we did not receive the booking request from their end which is why your reservation was not inputted in our system. However, this does not excuse us from the inconveniences you and your mother encountered while trying to contact us to resolve this matter. We try our very best to give the best customer service and unfortunately, on this occassion, we have failed to do so. We do hope you give us another chance and if so, may we suggest that you book through our website, www.the-ascott.com.

Once again, our sincerest apologies,

The Management - Ascott Makati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed over at Ascott Makati on our way down to Bohol back in March 2012.
After a horrendous time at NAIA- PAL arrivals, coming to the Ascott was a welcome reprieve. couldn't complain... the service was next to none- (from airport pick-up all the way to drop off back to the airport!) so much so we decided to come back & stay one more night on our way home. Upon arrival at the reception desk (level 6)- we were welcomed with a refreshing ice cold "kalamansi" drink (citrus fruit- kumquat hybrid).
level 19 upwards provides the best views. if one craves for a relaxation or even deep tissue massage, it's available on site at reasonable price! ~PhP1000/hr (~$23.5 AUD). they have a gym & pool area as well if you don't want to break your exercise regime whilst on holidays.
Buffet breakfast at level 6 is all one needs to get the day started. There's so much food on offer! The cafe/restaurant is open pretty much all day & night. If you don't feel like going out for a meal, you can just ring room service w your order delivered directly to your room. The only thing I really hankered for was a nice cappuccino. However, just across the road is Starbucks if in need of a caffeine fix. With shops just within walking distance from the apartments, one couldn't ask for more.
Staff are just absolutely wonderful- especially Paula, she's an absolute star.
I highly recommend Ascott Makati to anyone who doesn't want to "rough it" in Manila :-)
Would definitely come back and stay longer the next time we're in PI x

Room Tip: Level 19 & up provide the best views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geanvianni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

With shops right next door and all facilities close by it was a great stay here, food was excellent, rooms were supurb and very spacious , it was as close to a home like experience as you could get in a hotel. We are staying here again in Jan 2012. I really cant fault it apart from the view out of the window (some building site next door) and the entrance, you really would not know it was a hotel when you walk past unless you read the door sign, but once you're inside its supurb.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Ascott for six months in 2012. This are of Makati is probably the best all round location in Manila. Restaurants, cinemas, shops, nightclubs and much more are all only a few mintues walk away. It is also convenient to the Makati business zone, the airport (only about 15 mintues during low traffic periods) or the Burgos Street strip, if you're into that. There aren't a lot of tourist attactions in Manila, but what little there is (Intramuros and Fort Santiago) is about 30 min by taxi (approx PHP150).

The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is excellent (although requests to housekeeping can be slow). Be warned that there are three rooms in the south tower where you can hear the elevator going up and down from the room. I was unlucky enough to get one - room 912 - but put up with the noise because the view of Glorietta 5 and the park outside Ascott was worth the annoyance - and I just got used to it. The north tower has some "non-smoking" floors, but I found I could still smell stale cigarette smoke - probably because it gets into the airconditioning system or perhaps because those floors haven't always been non-smoking. If you're a non-smoker definitely choose the south tower.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alby_Mangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Whenever I am in Makati, I choose to stay at the Ascott Makati. The hotel is centrally located, good security, reasonably priced with breakfast included, complete amenities and comfortable, just like home.
On our last visit in November 2012, we booked a 3 bedroom deluxe suite. We got the 25th floor suite, which was slightly smaller than the 3 bedroom suites on the 26th floor, but nonetheless comfortable and spacious. A plus to have a living room, dining room and full kitchen. An added plus is a washer and dryer so that I wouldn't have a suitcase full of dirty clothes upon turning to the US.
The only gripe I had was an increased presence of "professional women"" accompanying some of the business men travelers. I've always known the property to be very family oriented but it seemed different this time around.

Room Tip: View of Greenbelt is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbuff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Hotel is right smack in the middle of Makati City. Street entrance is not that impressive - especially since it is right next to the Glorietta Mall entrance. The main lobby of the hotel is on the 6th floor - lobby is quite spacious and tastefully decorated - typical hotel lobby. Check-in went smoothly - contrary to some reports I have read here, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room is as expected - well appointed and quite spacious. Kitchen has granite countertops, and has all the kitchen amenities needed (with the exception of a dishwasher). Important to note that you will need a dish detergent as this is not supplied. Unit has a dining area and spacious living room with a flat screen TV.

Both rooms (master suite and guest room) are spacious with individual bathrooms. Bathrooms are modern and well-appointed. Bathroom towels are plush as well. Beds are comfortable enough and linens are okay.

The breakfast buffet is also decent. Various selections from continental options to the omelet station and their hot food options. They have a quite a good spread and is comparable to other good breakfast buffets.

Hotel has a good sized gym, spa and a swimming pool. Towel service at the pool available too.

I do have one major complaint with this hotel and I don't even know if this is something within their control. Ventilation in the rooms are a bit lacking. I have a very strong sense of smell and I could smell a little bit of the outside air in the rooms. Not sure if this is a ventilation issue or not. This hotel is located in a major business and shopping city which brings a lot of vehicular traffic - it is also VERY CLOSE to Edsa, the main highway thoroughfare that connects all the major cities. I don't think that we were on a floor or a room at that, that used to be designated as a smoking floor as I would have been able recognize the smell of cigarette smoke.

Overall, hotel is great - its only the ventilation issue which would probably dissuade me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne112564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your detailed feedback and most especially your kind words for the staff - we will definitely pass on the message. We would appreciate it if you could send us a message on your specific room number so that we can ask our Engineering team to take a look at it and hopefully resolve the issue on the ventilation.

Sincerely,

The Management - Ascott Makati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#20 of 86 in Makati
2,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $115 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of cosmopolitan Manila's most luxurious serviced apartments - Ascott Makati, which is designed exclusively for international business executives and their families. Ascott Makati recently unveiled its new Suites that are even grander and more opulent featuring a contemporary look that exudes warmth and sophistication. The property meets your every need from world-class services to lavish facilities that are well-appointed, extensive and personalised, complementing the elegance and refinement of the spacious residences in an exclusive city sanctuary, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation. Strategically located within Ascott Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relish the renowned Ascott lifestyle amidst the pulsating energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing