We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascott Makati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascott Makati
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Hagatna, Guam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“TOP HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel never disappoints! We took a two bedroom deluxe residence for four nights and enjoyed the best hospitality from all staff during our entire stay. We were whisked to our room from the lower lobby and through the rapid check-in at the fronrt desk. Our accommodations were fully equipped with every possible amenity including french soaps and cold bottled water. The rooms were immaculate and well appointed. The buffet breakfast offered a broad range of items that were fresh and delicious at a reasonable price. The windows and walls were soundproof against the din of the city. The gym was well equipped and the massage on offer was heavenly. We absolutely hated to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfrank489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    291
    85
    35
    27
See reviews for
339
77
33
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PARIS FR VANCOUVER CA MANILA PH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Not a hotel to stay at if you are up for true up class hotel, better spend that amount on a real 5 stars hotel like the Shangri-la!

Next to SM mall and above Glorietta and that it has an incredible awesome excellent breakfast all you can eat buffet for i think P1100 that even if you are not client at the hotel, you can go to.

First stay:
This hotel is an apartelle that means that in the rooms there is all the amenities you need like a little apartment a kitchen a bathroom and even a laundry machine and dryer inside your room! so you can do your own laundry. The reception lobby is big but the curtains of the lobby windows reflect the lack of care for hygiene, they haven't been washed for years. The reception is not far from the entrance they are polite, professional, efficient, nothing extra. We got a room on the 12 floor as soon as the door of the elevator opened a smell of moisture rotten fungused carpet on the floor and the room was big in size but right when we entered it was the same stench of rotten carpet! all over the air. This hotel is lacking maintenance and fixing and refreshing. The security staff is very good and they made sure that the taxi wanted to put his metro (taxi meter) on and willing to issue a receipt for the ride or they don't let them take clients from the hotel that is excellent security measures.

The very negative points:
1 was their airport transfer shuttle we had called & reserved an airport transfer shuttle to pick us up at naia it cost us P1125 one way in fact it was reserved from hertz as the hotel does not have any private shuttles so they are connected to hertz! when we arrived we had to go to the hotel lounge and there we waited 5 minutes and a car same model than taxis and as cheap as taxis was waiting for us it was a total reap off as for this price of P1125 we imagined being picked up by a classy van or so but no they treated us like scum so my advice do not use their shuttle service well over priced. for that price you can get a “limo”.
2 the hotel room rate per night is overrated we paid 182 euros per night but quality of room standard is only 100 euros maximum! even with breakfast deal included.
3 in the room a lot of dysfunction
the bathtub was clogged as i think the drain was not cleansed
the shower curtain was old and dirty with stains.
the toilet paper was hanging just above the garbage
the flush of the toilet was not stopping properly after pressing on it so it kept on refilling we had to play with it always to make it stop.
the fan of the bathroom was very loud
4 in the kitchen the fridge was clean inside but dirty outside a lot of greasy finger prints and food spots
5 we had to put a damage deposit of P1000 per night we were very badly surprised

Second stay:
the 1 bedroom was great since we had already complained on our first stay when we arrived there the staff welcomed us back with more care they had already alloted a room for us that was a one bedroom so they had upgraded us as i had rent only a studio. and they had shampooed the carpet to make sure that it was hygienically clean and in fact it smelled fresh clean no rotten moisture in the air coming from carpet. the laundry washing machine and the laundry dryer worked very well and were silent. the only noise that was redundant was the one of the elevator engine that was just behind the wall and so fact was a driving crazy continuous noise. the floor is 8th

sum up:
good points:
1 they are right in makati next to glorietta & sm makati mall!
2 go in the morning, pay for their P1100 breakfast buffet it's perfect! and one of the employees refilling the food very shy and smiling was good hearted but we did not take her name!
3 the security of the hotel is very efficient friendly and they control verify and take plates numbers and names of taxi drivers and if they think the taxi is not safe they eject him, good protection for the clients!
4 the business center on the 7th floor the staff are friendly and efficient
5 the front desk reception is a professional especially Karla
6 and not the least the manager mister Lopez was very responsive and truly caring for our well being and comments

bad points:
1 the hotel needs a big cleaning plan! international standards, includes hygiene shampoing carpets get rid of fungus and molds that gives this bad smell in floors and rooms! The hotel staff and pinoy might not smell it anymore but when you come from abroad it blow up into your noze!
2 one of the girls at the reception is always looking upset, never looking at the clients, on purpose she ignores the clients! even when they stand in front of her! she looked reluctant to welcome clients! we saw that with everyone going to her!
3 one of the server, a girl, welcoming the clients, was willingly Ir-respectful, i think her name was Margaret, my wife and i presented ourselves in the morning to take our breakfast and, first, she only talked to me, as if i was alone, but obviously my wife was there standing a s a voluptuous woman, she could not pretend not to see my wife! but she then continued her attitude of pretending that my wife wasn't there by asking the question i quote “for how many people, only one?” but it was obvious that i was not going to eat without my wife nor her without me! maybe she was hating large woman.....???? who knows! in any case my wife and I could feel that she didn't like my wife and willingly trying to get my wife out of the picture as we were brought to our table by her!
she asked again, i quote; “what would you like sir?” as really focusing and ignoring my wife! so my wife answered for us as we could feel, my wife and i, that the server was bluntly ignoring her! so my wife imposed herself and said “hot chocolate”, which upon that answer from my wife that Margaret server answer again as if talking to me alone! i quote; “ah ok, so only one sir?” on which my wife answered very dry to that Margaret server, “two”! this server was very rude! shame to her!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTELSNFOODRATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO BE .FELT LIKE THE APARTMENT IN WHICH RIichard Gere in the movie Pretty Woman.
The hotel is in the posh locality with multiple restaurants surrounded and wonderful excellent malls,loved it

Room Tip: ALL IS WELL .The spa is huge and the the east wing is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUMANTKAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel has become one of my favorite hotels. The moment you enter the door, you will be in awe. The lobby is located at the 6th floor and it was just so grandiose and elegant. We booked a studio type room through Agoda with breakfast included. We checked in late around 8:30pm and to our surprise we were upgraded to a 1-bedroom suite. How awesome is that! When we reached our room, our jaws dropped because of the beautiful interiors. There was also a complimentary fruit platter on the dining table. Our bedroom has an Ipod dock, dressing room. It was huge and spacious. The bed was also so comfy and we had a goodnight's sleep. We had a problem using their washing machine because the instructions on their manual is not applicable with the washing machine that's in the room and we called for assistance. After 5 minutes the maintenance guy came and assisted us. Their buffet breakfast had a long queue since it was a Sunday. However, the buffet spread was the usual food, breads, cereals, rice, cold cuts, sausages, soup and the choice is limited.

Ascott is strategically located in the heart of Makati (business district). There are a lot of restaurants around the area since shopping malls are literally just beside the hotel (Glorietta, SM Makati and Greenbelt). I would definitely go back here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time_traveller123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived at the Ascot with my party of 12 early evening. I had confirmed our rooms the day prior to arrival however the receptionist had problems finding all of the bookings (3 x 2 bedrooms) even though I had paperwork with booking number. Bedding had also been confirmed but this was also a problem. Offered to put extra bed in each apartment at an additional price. After some negotiation she agreed not to charge me. Breakfast was only included for 2 people per apartment. The assortment of food was nothing to brag about. I asked reception if they could confirm our airport transfers however this is not a service that the Ascott offer. Gym was good and well equipped. Apartment was a little tired however my room had a fantastic view of the city which made up for it. The Ascott is in a really good convenient and safe location. The door staff were quite nice but found reception staff to be unhelpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the centre of Glorietta (city view) rather than overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not the best arrival - After Friday afternoon Manila traffic from the airport (1.30hr) we were processed as usual by the efficient staff. However the apartment was not quite what we had booked so I returned to the desk - it took another 45 minutes of 'negociations' to sort out something convenient.

Once this was sorted the place is amazing, well serviced, within walking distance to many restaurants and a big SM shopping mall.

The highlights have to be the swimming pool and the rooms themselves, although it is a bit awkward to walk from the swimming pool to the changing rooms (through the lobby).

There are however a couple of points that could be improved. The package I booked included breakfast in a two double room residence, however only two breakfasts were included (not a problem since we prepared breakfast in our own kitchen). Be aware that when booking a two room residence the plan on their website is not accurate.

The other is Wifi charges. Only PHP550 but on this age internet for the international traveller a good wifi is like expecting hot water. For basic connection (browsing and e-mail) I believe should be complimentary on any reputable place. I did mention that I wasn't happy about this on arrival but as needed to sort out my flights and check out places to visit I ordered it anyway. I was nice to see that the charges were not on the final bill.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on at the back of the hotel (building another skyscrapper) - If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have been staying here for the past 2 years and I have enjoyed our stay so much that we keep coming back. The biggest asset this hotel has are their STAFF! The people that makes your stay wonderful, welcoming and just great! Special mention to their concierge staff Lester, always smiling and very kind. Paula, Sharon and all the staff at the front Office, the Duty Manager Jose, very considerate and upgraded us, the staff from Hertz, Richard and George and the security people all of them, who greets you with a genuine smile as soon as you enter and when u get back.

The rooms are good and huge and very clean, but needs refurbishing. The kitchen is fully equipped and the LOCATION... you cannot beat the location! It is attached to Glorietta Mall and in the center of Ayala, Makati!

They have a washing machine and dryer, so its really good and your clothes are dry like being at home. I was in a 3 bedroom, with 3 bathrooms, 1 king size bed and mater suite bathroom, one queen size bed on the second room with bathroom and one single bed in another room and a bathroom too for guests ( not just a toilet ).

The pool is nice and huge with jacuzzi and small pool for little babies ;)

Overall, wonderful! If u need any questions about this hotel/apartment, let me know ;)

Room Tip: The hotel is in the Central Business district so you can see the Makati Skyline and roads, not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEYWEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Property: Ascott Makati
Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of cosmopolitan Manila's most luxurious serviced apartments - Ascott Makati, which is designed exclusively for international business executives and their families. Ascott Makati recently unveiled its new Suites that are even grander and more opulent featuring a contemporary look that exudes warmth and sophistication. The property meets your every need from world-class services to lavish facilities that are well-appointed, extensive and personalised, complementing the elegance and refinement of the spacious residences in an exclusive city sanctuary, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation. Strategically located within Ascott Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relish the renowned Ascott lifestyle amidst the pulsating energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing