We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private apartment in Lively spot”
Review of The A.Venue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The A.Venue Hotel
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    338
    187
    62
    45
See reviews for
114
140
87
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I made a booking for 18 days at this hotel only after reading a review in the net about it which made me think that it was good.
This is what I found, the bedroom in the Single Suite is very tiny, it have a (double bed) which takes the whole space, the closet was very small that it can only fit clothes good for two days use, the bathroom is very small and the bathtub is really small which you have to take a shower sitting down only.
The laundry service for three times brought my laundry one day late.
The food was not that good and room service food menu have little choices.
There are two construction sites near the hotel, one of them have 24 hours work so good luck in sleeping (I changed my room three times because of the noise).
In front of the hotel there is a small outdoor market which have loud music and live band, they stop the music 12 midnight in week days and 2 A.M in week ends so good luck again in sleeping.
To come back walking late night to the hotel is not too safe because the way is dark (no lights).
It took me about 15 minutes to find the business center in the hotel because a lot of staff does not know where it is.
The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful and friendly.
The near by small shopping center and outdoor market are good.

  • Liked — The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful and friendly.
  • Disliked — The bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dj-AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Venus
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Cons
1. Tiny Bathtub
The bathtub is about 25 inches in total length and includes a tub seat which has a length of about 10 inches. There is just enough space to stand up but no space to move around. Although there are hand rails, it is still very difficult to manoeuvre around as it is very slippery and the bath tub floor has no anti-slip mats. Shower heads are positioned below the neck level, and there are rooms wherein shower heads are at a fixed position.

It is a juggling act to have a proper bath, and it is definitely not an ideal for children and elderly guests without supervision. Okay I was being nice, this is a dangerous situation for kids and elderly guests. Guests with a bigger body build will definitely be at a disadvantage.

The only way to have a proper bath is to have a bath sitting down as the hotel recommends. But a tiny bath area means bath time is a chore rather than a relaxing time to unwind in my books

2. Food
Food is nothing to write home about. Our package came with breakfast, and the first two days was a set American or Filipino menu delivered to your room. The rest of the stay was at their cafe and buffet style. The set menu was a big, big disappointment. For example, their menu says that the American set includes two eggs any style, bacon, ham or sausage, fruit platter, hash browns, toasted bread, coffee and choice of one juice. However, guests did not have a choice of anything - it was the meat of the day, no hash browns and fruit platter, one egg cooked the way you wanted it, and it came with coffee OR juice. To top it off – it was stone cold when it was delivered. Juice was the powdered variety. We suspected that the food was pre-prepared and was assembled as needed.

During the buffet days of our trip, we overhead a guest complain of the chicken stew being bloody and not fully cooked. Stews should be simmering for a period of time, and one could just wonder how the cook managed to undercook the chicken.

3. Ridiculous Check out Process
Unlike 5-star hotels, this world-class wannabe hotel has a long and tedious checkout, and front staff does not allow for a guest to checkout unless the guests has left the room with their baggage, and their staff account for every nut, bolt and screw in the room they stayed in.

One of the guests had the unfortunate incident of being hassled by front desk for a missing door sign, and wouldn’t let him complete his check out unless he produces the door sign!!! As if!!! The door sign was just a cheap cardboard laminated sign, and they spent more than 20 minutes looking for the sign to no avail.

If they insist on this process, they should have guests sign a room inventory sheet upon checking in, and sign out when they check out.

Check out was definitely a slow and painful process

4. Un- Soundproof Walls and Unconcerned Hotel Staff
For guests who value peace and quiet, this hotel is not for you. Their walls are not soundproof and you could hear guests walking and talking in the corridors. Some guests in the other rooms were holding karaoke sessions and parties.

One of the nights we stayed, we did not have any sleep at all because there was a rock concert being held in an adjacent building which housed their event function hall. Not only could you feel and hear the vibrations from the speakers but you could actually hear the whole concert. ... and the concert went on till early in the morning. We called front desk, and our complaints fell on deaf ears and staff dismissed our complaints. Apparently, many other guests complained too but there was no action taken by the hotel.

This was specially heard in the side of the building where rooms x15, x14, x13, x12 were located. Hotel staff was unapologetic and acted like there was nothing wrong.

Others
a. Pool
This is not a heated pool, and towels are not provided for guests. To top it off, guests are expected to use the service lift to go back to their rooms. We only knew about this when we were told off by the restaurant staff which was on the same floor as the pool area.

b. The hotel could not provide extra blankets for guest use because they didn’t have any
c. Their kitchenette only provides for two water glasses
d. Staff are hesitant to provide for extra anything
e. According to their website - The A.Venue Hotel Manila is located within minutes from these popular landmarks, attractions, and places of interest:

However, one should note that these areas are reachable by cab only. It is not advisable to reach places by walking.

f. On the side of x16, x15, x14, x13 etc. The view is that of a construction site so one could not open curtains to see the city view.


PROS
This is a condotel – the hotel part is only up to the 12th floor. The rooms have a studio configuration and have a good room layout. There is a mini kitchenette with a refrigerator, coffee maker, electric kettle and microwave. There is also a 4-seater dining seat.

Furniture is comfy and modern, and there is a small flat screen tv in the master bedroom.

There are restaurants around the area

Staff are generally friendly specially housekeeping, the doorman, the security guard, the pool guy and the odd one or two staff at front desk.

That’s about it really.

GOING FORWARD
This is a budget hotel, and guests should stay here for this reason.

As for me, I would rather stay somewhere else where I could get a good night’s sleep and not be hassled by staff for a door sign.

  • Disliked — most of everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makati hotels

Eastern Shore of Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This rather new facility is on the edges of the Makati nightlife area of Burgos Street and is well-run and priced right. It is a mish-mash of hotel rooms and condos and I booked thru asiatravel.com for around $60/night net with breakfast.

It has modern amenities and the room was impressive, but small. It was clean and all amenities worked well.

It is 30 minutes from the airport if there is no traffic. Taxis are easily found at the facility and you can walk to the nightlife in five minutes. Lots of shopping and restaurants are in the area as well.

There was street noise as there was a Friday night celebration of sorts going on outside the room. It is to be expected in this part of town. It did not, however, keep me awake.

It advertises an infinity pool and health club, but I did not make use of these facilities. The included breakfast was short on selection, but the items were noticveably fresh. The hotel personnel were all top-notch and attentive.

It is a fine alternative if you are looking for a modern facility in this part of town.

  • Liked — Priced right, modern, staff
  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom and tiny weird shaped tub/shower
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

My family and I stayed at A. Venue Hotel Suites for two days. But in such a short stay, I was impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. It has a contemporary minimalist design. We booked a 1-bedroom and a 2-bedroom suite. The 1-bedroom suite is large enough to accommodate my sister and her husband with their 8 year old son while I stayed in the 2-bedroom suite together with my mom and my other 2 siblings, all rooms located on the 8th floor. Also, both rooms have their own mini kitchen, and very comfortable beds and mattress. The food was good, breakfast was free. We had a blast during our stay, had a great time frolicking in the hotel's infinity pool. What I like best is the service. The staff are very accommodating and helpful (especially when we had to check-out at 3am). I will definitely stay in this hotel again and will surely recommend it to my friends. My sister and brother-in-law were impressed with the hotel that they ended up buying a unit in one of Antel's residential suites.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank jheenee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#30 of 83 in Makati
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y2 Residence Hotel
Y2 Residence Hotel
#22 of 83 in Makati
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#28 of 83 in Makati
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#19 of 83 in Makati
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The A.Venue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The A.Venue Hotel

Property: The A.Venue Hotel
Address: 7829 Makati Ave, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The A.Venue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The A.Venue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The A.Venue Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing